Yesterday's News In Tarrant County
Page 5-A

Deaths Reported in 1870s Fort Worth Newspapers
Abstracted by Rita Martin, Fort Worth, Texas.
Used with permission.

 

 
During these days only a brief notice of death appeared in the newspapers.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Tues. 2 Sept. 1872, pg. 4, col. 3

Aldrich Bartels, 20 mos., funeral from residence of Dr. Burns.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 25 Jan. 1873, pg. 3, col. 5

Mary Caroline Barnett, 3 yrs, 2 mo. died Nov. 19, 1872. dau. Moses and Angeline Barnett.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 25 Jan. 1873, pg. 3, col. 5

Geo. W. Barnett, 10 months, died Nov. 26, 1872; son of Moses and Angeline Barnett

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 26 April 1873, pg. 2, col. 2

Mr. Blackwell of Atchison's Point, Tarrant Co., was shot and killed by his son-in-law named Johnson.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 26 Apr. 1873, pg. 2, col. 2

Andrew Brown and man named Ferguson, both state policemen, shot and killed outside their house in Grapevine Prairie.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, 10 May 1873, pg. 3, col. 2

Child of Mr. Brown, living east of Trinity, was killed on last Monday while standing in doorway during thunderstorm.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 14 June 1873, pg 3, col 4

Estate sale of F. L. Hale, decd.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, 14 June 1873, pg 3 col 4

Pendleton Cheek, decd. Executors Desdemona Cheek and T. F. Cheek.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 6 Dec. 1873, pg 2 col 6

Dr. Albert B. Carico, 25, died of typhoid fever at residence of T. L. Carico; was native of Owensburg, Ky.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 24 Jan. 1874, pg 3, col 3

Mr. James B. Dunn died Sunday morning.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 31 Jan. and 7 Feb. 1874, pg. 2, col. 1 and pg. 3 Col. 3, respectively.

Maj. John T. Ault died Thursday at Dallas - Dist. Atty for 14th Judicial Dist.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 7 Feb. 1874, pg. 3, col. 2

Son of Mr. S. Eddy thrown from wagon Wednesday and broke his neck.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 28 Mar 1874, pg 3, col. 3

William T. Buchanan, 23, died from typhoid fever at Mansfield, Oct. 14, 1873

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 13 June 1874, pg. 2, Col. 1

A man named Alexander shot and killed in Jacksboro Wednesday by a man named McMillen.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 8 Aug. 1874, pg 3 col 1

M. T. Johnson died Aug. 4, 1874. H & L Co. No. 1, Tribute of Respect.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 8 May 1875 and Sat. 15, May 1875, pg. 3, col. 2

Mr. O. C. Billings, resides few miles northeast of city. Tribute of Respect. Oldest ruling Elder of the Fort Worth Presbyterian Church.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 24 July 1875, pg. 3, co. 2

Agnes W. Inge, 49, wife of Dr. John J. Inge, died on the 12th. She was the daughter of the late Gen. Nathaniel Terry.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 24 July 1875, pg. 3, col. 2

Mr. O. F. Billings died Thursday morning

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 14 Aug. 1875, pg. 3, col. 2

Samuel Archer accidently drowned last Sun. evening

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 23 Oct. 1875, pg 3 col 3

Benj. Jopling, 80 yr, 7 mo, 23 days, died near Mansfield Oct. 13, 1875.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, pg. 3, col. 4, Sat. 6 Nov. 1875

Mrs. Jane Ball, 34 yrs, 8 mos., consort of Lish Ball, died on 29th ult. near Mansfield

 
"Cross Timbers" Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 27 Nov. 1875, pg. 3, col. 4

Mr. Allen, 75, old and respected citizen, died on the 16th

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 11 Dec. 1875 pg 3 col 6

Administrator's sale of M. T. Johnson estate (W. T. Field Administrator).

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 18 Dec. 1875, pg. 2, col. 4

E. B. Bobo died 22 Nov. 1875. Tribute of Respect. Grand Prairie Lodge UD AF&AM.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 6 May 1876, pg. 3, col. 4

Sarah F. Hancock, wife of Joel Hancock, died April 28, 1876 near Mansfield.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 9 Aug. 1876, pg 4 col 1

Mr. C. S. Jackson died Saturday and was buried Sunday. He was the owner of the Battle House.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 7 Sept. 1876, pg 4, col 3

Frank DeSilvia, native of Portugal.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 26 Sept. 1876, pg. 4, col. 2

Mrs. J. R. (Agnes) Fraser, daughter of Dr. James Marrshall.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Tues. & Wed. 3 and 4 Oct. 1876, pg. 4, col 2

Judge Constant Dodson.

 
Fort Worth Standard, Fri. 13 Oct. 1876, pg 4, col. 2

Tommie Daggett, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Daggett, Jr.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 21 Oct. 1876, pg 4 col 3

Mrs. Rosa Jones, wife of Jesse Jones, died Oct. 20.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Fri. 27, Oct. 1876, pg. 4, col. 2

Mrs. Mary E. Asbury, wife of Jeremiah Asbury.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Mon. 13 Nov. 1876, pg. 4 col 2

Mr. James Duane, about 45, formerly attached to Charley Noyes Circus

St. Louis papers please copy.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tus. 21 Nov. 1876, pg. 4, col 2

Mrs. Addie Daggett, wife of Charles B. Daggett, Jr.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 13 Feb. 1877, pg. 4, col. 1

Judson V. Beall, 3 mo., 1 day, son of Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Beall

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Mon. 26 Feb. 1877, pg 4 col 2

Mrs. G. J. Hester, widow of the late Sam Meyers, shot by unknown person at her home near Alverado Fri. night.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 2 Mar 1877, pg. 4, col. 2

Caleb Blake, 70, died of pneumonia Wed. night at the Peers House

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Mon. & Tues. 12 and 13 March 1877, pg. 4

James W. Bradner, funeral on Sunday last.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 14 March 1877, pg. 4, col. 2

J. B. Biffle of Cook County was murdered by Scott Waters at Gainesville

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 23 March 1877, pg. 4, col. 3

Mrs. Sarah Elizabeth Baldwin, wife of W. H. Baldwin, died 14 March 1877 in Mansfield.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 2 May 1877, pg. 4. col. 4

Jerry Brown, age 24, son of Joseph M. Brown.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 16 May 1877, pg 4 col. 3

Miss Julia Greene, sister of Capt. S. P. Greene.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, 20 June 1877, pg 4, col 3

M. T. Coleman stabbed and killed by Osborn M. Miller near Johnson Station.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 8 July 1877, pg. 4, col. 4

Frank P. Black, 24, died Friday at the home of J. B. Askew.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 2 Aug. 1877, pg 4 col 2

J. M. Gann, from near Dido, murdered in his bed by neighbor, Ben Simmons.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Wed. 8 aug. 1877, pg 4 col. 3

Miss Minerva Cates, 20 of Grapevine, died Aug. 5.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 14 Aug. 1877, pg. 4, col. 3

Infant son of J. E. and Alice Barlow

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 17 Aug, 1877, pg. 4 col 3; also articles 18th and 19th Aug 1877

John Hirschfield, 50, German by birth, lived in Texas 30 years.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 20 Aug 1877, pg 2 col 2

Mrs. Goldberg, wife of senior member of firm T. & I. Goldberg, died Friday and buried yesterday.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 21 Aug. 1877, pg. 4 col 4

Dr. W. Burney, Johnson Station.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Fri. 24 Aug. 1877, pg 4 col 1

W. E. Johnson, highly respected in the city died at the Clark House. Remains sent to Chicago, his former home.

 
Daily Fort Worth Standard, Mon. 27 Aug. 1877, pg. 4, col 2

Columbus Fitzgerald, son of Rev. Fitzgerald, died Sunday night.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 16 Oct. 1877, pg. 4, col. 2

W. P. Barton of Stephens County was murdered and robbed in Fort Worth late Sat. or early Sun.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Wed. 26 Dec. 1877

Mr. Fields shot and killed last sunday by Dave Andre.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 27 Dec. 1877, pg 4 col. 3

Mr. W. G. Henderson died last night.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Fri. 4 Jan. 1878, pg 4 col 3

W. A. Hunter died at Grapevine 21 Dec. 1877

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Wed. 20 Feb. 1878, pg. 4, col. 4

John Curry, alias English Jack, stabbed to death by John Dougherty. Dougherty captured, taken to a convenient place and hung.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 12 May 1878, pg 4, col 3

Carl Murray Burchill, 15 months old.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 23 May 1878, pg. 4 col. 4

Mr. Lafayette Booth died 28 April 1878. Member of Excelsior Literary society, Oak Grove, Texas.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Fri. 31 May 1878

Mrs. Jacob Conner, half sister of Judge Marklee.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 15 June and Tues. 18 June 1878, pg. 4

Willie W. Bradner died Wed. night in Pueblo, Col.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 28 June 1878, pg. 4 col. 2

Mrs. Mollie W. Gray and children drowned. Alice, 7, Johnnie, 4 or 5 and baby Jessie 1-1-2.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 11 July 1878, pg. 4 col. 1

Johnnie Hirshfield, 6 mo. 3 days, infant son Mrs. Hirshfield.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 12 July 1878, pg 4, col 4

David R. Crawford, brother-in-law of John Turner, died 10th inst.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 15 Aug. 1878, pg 4 col 1

Mrs. E. M. Halstead died yesterday morning.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 18 Aug. 1878, pg. 4 col. 3

Mrs. Lula F. Ball, wife of Frank Ball, Esq.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 23 Aug. 1878, pg. 4, col. 2

Mary Brown, wife of Joseph H. Brown, died 22 Aug. 1878.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 1 Sept. 1878, pg. 4 col 3

Hi Jolly, 35 or 36, native of Kansas; suicide.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. and Wed. 10 and 11 Sept. 1878, pg. 4, col. 4

Mrs. Judge C. C. Cummings died last night.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 12 Sept. 1878, pg. 4, col. 3

Mr. R. A. Brown, 31, died this morning at the charity hospital.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 13 Sept. 1878, pg. 4, col. 3

James Robert Fox, 24, died at home of brother-in-law, F. C. Collier in Dallas on 8th inst. He is a nephew of Mrs. S. P. Smith.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 4 Oct. 1878, pg. 4, col. 1

C. C. Cummings, Jr.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 20 Oct. 1878, pg 2, col 2

James Harlow Bush, member of Capt. J. A. Wharton's command of Texas Rangers, died at the home of Henry T. Yeatman.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 20 Oct 1878, pg. 3, col. 1

Frankie Adams, only child of Capt. and Mrs. J. W. Adams

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 22 Oct. 1878, pg. 4, col 1

Wife of Mr. Hensley died after childbirth; baby born dead.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 19 Nov. 1878, pg 3, col 1

Wm. Burford, one of Tarrant County's most esteemed and oldest citizens, died last Friday at his residence 2 miles south of Johnson Station.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, pg. 4, col. 1, Sun. 1 Dec. 1878

Dr. H. D. Earl, 28' funeral from residence of Mr. Nagle.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 5 Dec. 1878, pg. 4, col 3

Clabe Dodson, 25, Granbury, crushed beneath wagon load of lumber.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 14, Dec. 1878, pg. 3, col. 1

James T. Bell, widower, shot near Cold Springs last summer, died last night.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 21 Jan. 1879, pg 4, col 2

Paul Isbell died Jan 18th.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 21 Jan. 1879, pg. 2 col. 3

Mrs. Sarah Dye, 81, widow of Benj. Dye.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 23 Jan. 1879, pg 3, col 3

Mrs. Lula Hudson, dau. of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Middleton.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 9 Apr 1879, pg 4 col 3

Mrs. Fannie Harrison, wife of Gen. I. F. Harrison.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 2 May 1879, pg 4 col. 2

Mrs. Fammie Hemp, 21.

 
"Mansfield Picnic" Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Mon. 12 May 1879, pg. 4, col. 2

Mrs. Back, wife of Jacob Back died of typhoid fever last Friday.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 28 May 1879, pg. 3, col. 4

Mrs. Barber of Granbury died of burns.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 28 May 1879, pg 3 col 2

Edith Freeman murdered by her father

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 3 June 1879, pg. 4, col. 4

Little Ida, 20 months, child of Gen. and Mrs. Byrne, died yesterday.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 3 June 1879, pg. 4, col. 3

Albert Boon, sent to the lunatic asylum in Austin a year ago, died May 21.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 3 July 1879, pg 4 col. 2

Six year old son of Gen. J. J. Brynes

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 23 July 1879, pg. 4 col. 1

Mrs. David Boaz

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 1 Aug 1879, pg. 4, col. 1

Infant daughter of H. L. and M. M. Abston 6 mi. so. of Fort Worth.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 5 Aug 1879, pg. 4, col 3

John Bradley, White Settlement.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 17 Aug 1879, pg 4, col 2

Mrs. C. K. Fairfax, wife of Major Fairfax.

 
Fort Worth Democrat "North Texas Notes" Sun. 7 Sept. 1879, pg. 3

W. F. Both found dead Wed. in East Fork of Trinity River 2 miles from Rockwall.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Thurs. 11 Sept. 1879, pg 4 col 2

Mrs. Mary Fitzgerald, wife of Rev. A. Fitzgerald, died Sept. 7 in Red Sulphur Springs

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Fri. 12 Sept. 1879

Mrs. D. R. Brannon, mother of James M. Brannon, died in Coffeyville, Miss.

 
Fort Worth Democrat,'16 Sept. 1879, pg. 3

Willie Dorlisea Kelk, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Kelk died Sat. Sept. 13.

 
Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 18 Oct. 1879, pg 4, col. 2

George Cullen shot and killed by Mr. A. R. Bradley.

 
Fort Worth Democrat, Tues. 28 Oct. 1879, pg 4 col 1

Mrs. Annie L. Kelk, wife of Charles Kelk.

 

Fort Worth Democrat, "North Texas Notes" Sat. 6 Dec. 1879, pg. 3, col. 3

Mrs. Fannie Bowman died Tuesday last.

 

  

 

 

This page was last modified 4 May 2001.

Tarrant County TXGenWeb
Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2001. All rights reserved.