Calendar of Upcoming Events

Van Zandt County Genealogical Society

January Program

The Van Zandt County Genealogical Society will hold its first meeting of the new year on Saturday, January 24, 2 p.m., at the Buchanan Room in the county library, located on First Monday Lane in Canton.
Installation of new officers will take the place of the program with Susie Pulley, head county librarian, in charge of the ceremony.
Officers elected in November for 2015 include Jan Crow of Mabank, president; Laurie McDonald of Edgewood, first vice president and program chairman; Nancy Robertson of Canton, second vice president and membership chairman; Scott Fitzgerald of Tyler, treasurer; Sandra Jones of Canton, recording secretary; Shirley Fuller of Grand Saline, corresponding secretary; Sibyl Creasey of Ben Wheeler, publicity chairman; Laurie McDonald, quarterly editor; Sherrie Archer of Canton and Donna Carter of Edgewood, at large board members.

For further information on society membership, activities or the annual seminar, contact the Library of Genealogy and Local History at (903) 567-5012, or visit the library located in the courthouse annex in Canton.
Library hours are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays, with extended hours on Thursday until 6 p.m., and from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturdays.

Library of Genealogy and Local History

Society members man and support the Library of Genealogy and Local History, an off-site department of the main county library, where members of the public can use to do genealogical and local history research at no charge. Volunteer librarians are always on duty to provide expert assistance.

Society meetings are held the fourth Saturday of each month at the main county library, 2 p.m., with a variety of speakers presenting educational programs throughout the year. Visitors are always welcomed, and refreshments are served.

Jan Crow is the society's President and Laurie McDonald is the Program Chairman. If anyone has an idea for a program, please let us know. Suggestions may be mailed to the Van Zandt County Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 1388, Canton, TX 75103, or by emailing the Society.

Van Zandt County Genealogical Society Officers and Board Members for 2015

President: Jan Crow

1st Vice President and Program Chairman: Laurie McDonald

2nd Vice President and Membership Chairman: Nancy Robertson

Recording Secretary: Sandra Jones

Corresponding Secretary: Shirley Fuller

Treasurer: Scott Fitzgerald

Public Relations: Sibyl Creasey


Quarterly Editor: Laurie McDonald

Members at large: Donna Carter and Sherrie Archer

Back to the Van Zandt County Genealogical Society Home Page

You're the 8222person to visit this page.
This page last updated 21 January 2015

Van Zandt County Genealogical Society Website maintained by
Sibyl Creasey