Search billions of records on

Van Zandt County

Old Newspapers Page

Van Zandt County Genealogical Society

Sibyl Creasey and Shirley Fuller have extracted news articles from two old county newspapers, the Canton Herald and the Wills Point Chronicle that have been microfilmed. Complete articles and more are available to researchers in the Van Zandt County Library of Genealogy and Local History, located in the courthouse annex in Canton. Copies of these articles are also available by writing to the Van Zandt County Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 1388, Canton, TX 75103. When requesting a copy, please send a check or money order for $2 to cover cost of copying and postage.


"J. J. Shaw of Mt Pleasant has been selected to take charge of the vocational training course which will be added to the Wills Point public school for the ensuing term. One half of his salary will be paid by the Wills Point chamber of commerce, the balance being contributed as state and federal aid through the school, meeting the requirements for teaching the prescribed vocational course under the supervision of the government agencies.
Mr Shaw will also serve as secretary of the chamber of commerce and will assume his duties here on July 1. He comes highly recommended for the positions he has accepted and those who have met him are very favorably impressed with his ability and personality feeling that he can accomplish much both for the school and the community. Mr. Shaw and family will occupy what is known as the Jim Harris residence near Mayor H. Gilchrist, about the first of next month.

"The high school auditorium was filled to overflowing Friday evening at 8 o'clock for the graduation program of the senior class, the final event of the commencement exercises of the Wills Point high school. After the invocation by Dr. L. F. Brothers, pastor of the Methodist church, Ralph McLeod extended a cordial welcome to the vast audience for the momentous occasion. "Golden Sunset" was rendered as a saxophone solo by Paul Mayberry and another musical feature was a piano solo, "II Trovatore," by Miss Katheryn Gilchrist, both of which were highly enjoyed. The presentation of the class emblem, the spade, was made by Miss Rebecca Wingo, the recipient being Addison Sewell, the honor student of the Junior class. Dr. C. C. Selecman, president of Southern Methodist University in Dallas, made the address to the graduates. The diplomas were presented by J. S. Presnall, president of the school board and Supt. G. D. Staton presented scholarships to Miss Rebecca Wingo and Ralph McLeod, the award being for the girl and boy making the highest grades of the Senior class. After the benediction by Rev. O. T. Wheeler, pastor of the Baptist church, they marched out to the strains of the recessional played by the orchestra, with Mrs. E. B. Collier at the piano. Following is a list of the members of the graduating class: Lionel Andrews, Hugh Curtis, Gaylord Davidson, Linton Davidson, Bernard Dodson, Oliver Edwards, Joe Fields, Wayne Harris, Henry James, Olen Lindsey, Paul Mayberry, Ralph McLeod, Tome Provence, Harvie Rankin, Billy Scott, Glenn Scott, Oran Weeks, Clifton Wilhite, Loyace Young, Bonnie Taylor, Mozelle Fletcher, Jewell Blasingame, Agnes Brantley, Helen Brothers, Farrell Burnett, Maurine Cadenhead, Johnnie Causbie, Aphatique Cole, Zella Cooper, Mable Crawford, Pearl Davis, Jewell Dawson, Oleta Ezell, Kathryn Gilchrist, Myrtis Hooks, Mary Dale Humphreys, Charlotte Johnson, Votile Jones, Ozell Leach, Mary Delilah Manning, Evelyn McKnight, Dorothy Jane McPhail, Winnie Belle Pulley, Josephine Rhodes, Idell Ritchie, Aleen Shepherd, Velma Sides, Rubye Sprague, May Deese Taylor, Vanzora Teague, Ioma Waites, Alma Rhea Wilemon, Rebecca Wingo, Faytus Young, Lois Young, Preston Stroupe, Thomas Tull, Jewell Langley, Dewitt Dean, Baker Ezell. Leon Gray, Lenna Ellis, Cleo Liner and Lloyd Tittle. (See newspaper for complete article).

"Albert McNorton of Wills Point and Miss Jewel Lanely of the Hayden community were united in marriage Saturday afternoon in Edgewood, Rev. A. G. Hallonquist officiating. The Chronicle joins the many friends of the couple in extending congratulations and best wishes.

"On Tuesday evening, May 26, the pupils from thirty-three schools of the county, who had passed the standardized tests for the Seventh grade, assembled at the Baptist church in Canton for their county-wide graduation exercises: The following pupils from the schools as designated, received their diplomas at this time: Cream Level- Leland Thompson, Orene Thompson, Joy Belle Mayberry, and La Friece Brannon. Lone Star- F. E. Umphress and Irby D. Bates. China Grove- Dorsie Pool. Pine Bluff- Walter Hays and Hirram Davidson. Jackson- Joe Marie Durell. Antioch- Lester Smith, Clifford Campbell and Lee Campbell. Alsa- Mildred Massey, Ethel Stafford, John D. Lumpkin, Bertha Davidson, Marvin Rinks, Fred Rinks, Izora Beddingfield and Thomas Rinks. McBee- Coy Coates.

Wilson Chapel- Gordon Cook, Lillian Ebarb, Fred Hollister, Oliver Teel, and Alice Hollister. Lawrence Springs- Exa Daniels, Alton Burrow and W. A. Rea. Creagleville- Eunice Sloan. Enterprise- Melva Lamb, Pearl Stroud, Robia Mae Stroud, David Norwood, Johnnie Adkins, and Creathel Adkins. Pruitt- Hazel Ray, Addie Mae Stribling, Lee Stroud, and Earbie Carter. Crooked Creek- Winfield Duke, Sim Duke, Gorman Reid, Josephine Reid and Mary Adams. East Center- Randolph Lewis, Mae Nell Kirby, Thomas Bratton, Wilma Bratton, Ruby Buck, Voda Buck, Venetta Lewis, Fred Buck, Lota Palmer, Ava Nell Wheeler, J. W. Buck, Alton Buck and Norene Wheeler. Friendship- Opal Smith. Clark- Ruth Melton, Burrell Cates, Velma Dillard and Harold Crume. Browning- Dellis Oliver, Anne Wilson. Watkins- Emma Mae Paschall, Newton Pulley, Dosie Nichols, Alvie Mason and Ilean Phillips.

Small- Geneva Fears, Milton Quindlen, Eva Fears, and Hazel Russell. Odom- Nadeen Richardson. Center- Nona Clay, Claudia Boydston, Dorothy Boydston, and Ola Mae Jenkins. Central- Robert Rodgers. Edom- Robert Maynard, Andrew Ben White, J. D. Herrington, Elizabeth Foster, Gerald Gulledge and Frances Cade. Corinth- James K. Post. Pleasant Glade- Bonta Ceil Bell, Janet Woolverton and Roy Norrell. Fruitvale- Luther Gortman, Dorothy Pearson, and Della Mae Gilland. High- L. C. Hargrove, and Rudolph Taylor. Oakland- Ora Alice Buyher. Orio- Lois Whitton, and Herbert Beason. Round Flat- Avis Wilhite. Myrtle Springs- Reba Burns, Merle Denny, Daphnell Tuttle, Wilburn Smith. Board- Ellie Miles. (See newspaper for complete article)".

Back to Old Wills Point Chronicle 1930-31 Index Page

Back to Old County Newspapers Home Page

Back to the Genealogical Society Home Page

You're the [an error occurred while processing this directive]person to visit this page.
This page last updated 28 July 2007

Van Zandt County Genealogical Society Website maintained by
Sibyl Creasey