Yoakum Centennial

2007 Yoakum County Centennial


The Denver City Press and Mara Fortner have been putting a historical fact in the header of the newspaper since the first of 2007. Cowboy Country News has printed on-going information related to history of the county.

Plains Tsa Mo Ga Federated Women’s Club Centennial Cookbook went on sale for $25. Officers are: Sarah Jane Field, President; Billie Blundell, Vice-President; Dolores Davis, Secretary; Betty Rushing, Treasurer; Martha Palmer, Parliamentarian; Mary Jo St. Romain, Corresponding Secretary; Debbie Spears, Federated Counselor; Connie McWhirter, Critic; Rennetta O’Quinn, Reporter. A Gazebo was built on Pioneer Park with the proceeds and dedicated August 3.

January 2007 Plains Chamber of Commerce Banquet had Plains Centennial Coins given to participants and decorated tables depicting history and other themes. Methodist Church pastor Cam Givan is president. Other officers include Dolores Davis as the Treasurer, and Dean Richardson, Assisting Secretary. Other directors include: Rowe Stephens and Neal Newsom. Meetings are the first Wednesday of every month at 7:00 a.m. in a local restaurant in Plains. The Plains Chamber is sponsoring an August 9-11, 2007 non-sanctioned tennis tournament in Plains, TX. For more information call City Hall at 806 456 2288 or go to www.texas.usta.com under resources.

February 2007 Denver City Chamber of Commerce Banquet had a historical theme, historical slide presentation by Judy London, and Historical Game Show directed by Mara Fortner with Bob Vandenburg as host. Participants in the game show who represented the theme of our centennial year were Chip Bennett, cattle; Ross Hilburn, crops; and Tracy Moore, crude oil. Current officers:

Executive Director Laura Turnbough
President Gary Davis
VP Bob Vandenburgh
Secretary Boyce Blakeney
Treasurer Janie McPherson


DC Chamber of Commerce had a Red Carpet Reception at the premiere of “Making Ice Cream When it Hails”. Families of the historical characters received a Hollywood-style invitation to this Premiere Gala. They were welcomed at a reception and then chauffeured to the curb of JW Jones Auditorium, where they walked up the red carpet amid fanfare and a crowd of local "paparazzi".

June 7, the Denver City Chamber of Commerce hosted a Summer Blast and Street Dance at the Bennett Plaza at 7:00 PM. Three bands performed including Astound Sound from Lubbock, Gene Boyer, Broken Through Blood; Under the Double Eagle will perform for the Street Dance. A chamber booth was set up selling Centennial t-shirts. Another street dance was held in July.

Denver City Art Association had a Historical Category and displayed old historic photographs in the April 11 to 14 show. Officers are

President, Connie Webb
VP, Sue Holder
Secretary/Treasurer, Vivian Rice


Yoakum County Art Association decided to have a Historical Category at the August 2, 3, 4 Art Show with Chairman Elizabeth Chandler in charge. Officers are Betty Estep, President, Janelle Brantley, Vice-President, Sheila Stephens, Secretary, Treasurer, Faye Nelms. Members volunteered to help paint the backdrop for the set of the Centennial Play by Connie S. Webb.

Yoakum County Libraries have had several programs in 2006 and 2007 relating to the Centennial. Pat McNabb is head librarian and the libraries are selling tote bags for $7.00 with a centennial theme.

Brenda Canada is working with her committee, Janelle Brantley, Faye Nelms, Betty Estep, Connie Webb, Grace New, Linda Powell, and Velvet Canada on the Yoakum County Centennial Book that was finished in July. Evertt Mc Adams designed the cover for the full-color booklet.

Directors Jo Lena Wall, Christy Canada, and Joyce Pierce had Centennial play practice every Sunday, Monday since February. The play was presented at the July 4 celebration in Denver City on July 7. 450 people registered for this presentation. It will again be performed at the Old Settler’s Reunion and Rodeo in Plains on August 4. Yoakum County Watermelon Round-Up on September 1 will be the last performance date. There are nearly 70 actors and actresses involved in the performance.

Yoakum County Connection officers are Judy London, Chair; Elsa Moya, V-Chair; Alecia McCullough, Secretary and Samantha Williams, Treasurer. Yoakum County Connection provided a grant to produce the 2007 Centennial Play. Yoakum County Watermelon Round-Up chair Jeannette Head is allowing the Student Centennial Stories to be published in the tabloid and providing support with inclusion of Centennial Activities during the Watermelon Round-Up activities on September 1.

Yoakum County Historical Commission provided funds for County Art Show Historical Categories, produced the Centennial play, supervised the School Contest with Jena Jones, did a county history, and provided advice and support for educational and informational activities. Linda Grau Powell is Chair, Edith Kidd is V-Chair, Grace New is Secretary, and Brenda Canada is Treasurer.

The Plains Museum was organized in the OLD Courthouse, thanks to Jeannette Head, Ty Earl Powell, Danny Steffens and others. Officers besides Head as President are: Vice-President David Sanders, Secretaries L.J. and Virginia Sanders, Treasurer Dolores Davis, and Reporter Sarah Jane Field. Dedication Day of the Yoakum County Heritage and Art Museum in Plains will be August 4, 2007 after the morning Old Settlers’ Parade.

Denver City Museum is HAVING AN OPEN HOUSE, SHOWCASING THE 100th ANNIVERSARY on Sept 15,2007….

L.J. and Virginia Sanders have done the paper work for and acquired a Texas Historical designation for the Plains Cemetery.

A Vintage Style Show on aprons will be held at the dedication of the Gazebo in Pioneer Park on August 3 and the Watermelon Round-Up and is sponsored by Yoakum County 4-Hers and Adult Leaders.

Jan Lester, Plains U.S. Post Office postmaster and Postmaster Gary Turnbough of Denver City Post Office are getting us a centennial commemoration stamp for September 1, 2007.

Businesses in Plains and Denver City had window painted for the Centennial and large banners were hung in both towns.




  • Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.
  • Nulla facilisi. Phasellus posuere justo id nunc bibendum convallis.
  • Aliquam sed nisi nulla, sit amet commodo arcu.
  • Sed sagittis, mauris vel fringilla varius, lacus diam faucibus nisl, eu rutrum neque elit.
This page was last updated on 05/27/2016