Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

BEVERLEY MANOR CHAPTER

DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

STAUNTON, VIRGINIA
last update September  2016


Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.
Our History

Beverley Manor Chapter is the fourth oldest chapter in Virginia and one of the oldest in the country. In 2013, our Chapter Celebrated its 120th Birthday Anniversary.

The National Society Daughters of the American Revolution was founded October 11, 1890, and incorporated by an Act of Congress in 1896.   It was designed as a volunteer womenís service organization founded for the purpose of promoting patriotism, preserving American history and securing Americaís future through education and preservation of our national treasurers.

Just three years after its founding, on September 22, 1893, Beverley Manor Chapter NSDAR was organized at the Stuart House, home of Mrs. A. F. Roberson.  Thomas Jefferson had stayed in this home when he visited Staunton. (This grand home still stands as it looked at that time). On October 14th the Charter was issued and was presented at the November meeting.

The name Beverley Manor was chosen in honor of William Beverley. On September 6, 1736, a grant for over one hundred thousand acres of land was made by Colonial Governor Gooch in the name of his Majesty King George II of England to Mr. Beverley. This property comprised the upper Shenandoah Valley, including much of modern-day Augusta County and the city of Staunton.

On October 25, 1899, the third Virginia State Conference of the NSDAR was held in Staunton by invitation of Beverley Manor Chapter.

Since 1893, 47 ladies have served as regent, the first was Mrs. Margaret Brisco Stuart Robertson who was appointed by the Virginia State Regent.   Mrs. Robertson appointed the other officers for that first year.

One of our founding members was Miss Mary Julia Baldwin who in 1863 was elected principal of her alma mater, Augusta Female Seminary. In her honor, it was renamed Mary Baldwin Seminary in 1916.  The school became Mary Baldwin College in 1923 and remains an excellent four year liberal arts college.  In her memory and because of her love for DAR,  a beautiful stained glass window in which the DAR insignia was included was erected by the Alumnae Association.

From its inception,120 years ago, Beverley Manor Chapter has contributed to city, state and national undertakings, some of which include:

-Erecting three memorial tablets, two in the Augusta County Court House; one giving the history of the Beverley Corner Stone and points to the beginning of Augusta County history, another listing the first county officers, and a third in the Trinity Churchyard commemorating the Virginia Assembly's meeting in the old sanctuary in 1781 during the Revolutionary War. 

-Shared in the cost of the Virginia Room in Continental Hall;  the Virginia Column of the Memorial Portico to the thirteen original colonies and the Virginia section of the NSDAR Library, all in memory of Revolution heroes and heroines.

-Contributing to the Restoration Fund of the University of Virginia after fire destroyed the library.

-Aiding in the formation of the John Lewis Foundation in 1929 which replaced the granite slab with a marble marker at the grave site of Stauntonís first pioneer settler.

-Raising funds for a bronze memorial tablet which was placed over the front door of the Augusta County Court House honoring the men and women of Staunton and Augusta County who served their country in World War I.

-Continuing to contribute to education with donations of funds for library books and scholarships.

Present day chapter members are in awe of our wonderful Beverley Manor Chapter ancestors and their accomplishments.
This rich history has continued through our 120 years as a National Society Daughters of the American Revolution chapter.
We hope this history will continue far into the future.


Thank you for your interest in Beverley Manor Chapter.