Meetings & Trips

Home ] Awards ] Calendar ] Cousin's Chart ] Directions to Court House ] Forms ] GEDCOMS ] How-To Info ] Library Holdings ] Links to Other Sites ] [ Meetings & Trips ] BECOME A MEMBER ] Lookup Volunteers ] Military Information ] Officers ] Original Stockholders Dismal Swamp Canal ] Ornament ] People Search ] Publications for Sale ] Research Resources ] Society History ] Tidewater Counties & Cities ] TGS Home photos ] Tombstones ] 1st Virginia Charter ] Virginia Slaves ] Vital Statistics ] VMI Tidewater Graduates ] Yorktown Map ]

 

 

Tidewater Genealogical Society

General Meeting Agenda             Bus Trips - Schedule
Events  
                       Classes             Previous Meetings    


Please bring your donations for our library.  
Do you have any office supplies that you are not using?  We can use them.
  

The library is open Tuesday & Thursday 10-3 and Saturday 10-4.
We depend on volunteers, unexpected closings can occur but are very rare.  
If you are coming through town and can't stop by during our normal hours, 
e-mail, and we'll make arrangements to meet you at the library.



GENERAL MEETING  

 

****

 General Meeting
 


 Visit the TGS Library on Tues, Thurs from 10-3, and Sat 10-4. 
 

  The Tidewater Genealogical Society Library (TGS)
is located in the restored 

1884 Warwick Courthouse 

 14415 Old Courthouse Way
 Newport News, VA
  23608

For more information about TGS, see the web site at   www.rootsweb.com/~vatgs.
Phone:  (757) 988-1055          E-Mail:  Vatgs@verizon.net  


Events 

2015 TGS Event Calendar (as of 16 Jan 2015)


 

Jan 17, Sat, 10AM-12PM TGS General Meeting,  
Our speaker will be Alice Erickson, the author of
Chronicles of Civil War –  
      Hampton, VA

Jan 19, Mon, MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. DAY

Feb 12, Thurs, LINCOLN’S  BIRTHDAY

            Thurs, 7PM Board Meeting

Feb 16, Mon, PRESIDENTS’ DAY

Feb 18, Weds, ASH WEDNESDAY

Feb 22, Sun, WASHINGTON’S BIRTHDAY

         Mar 3, Tues, Community Forum on Aging at Ferguson Center for the Arts at CNU

Mar 9, Mon, deadline to mail  Tea letters

Mar 17, Tues, ST. PATRICK’S DAY

Mar 21, Sat, 2015 Instead of our Gen Meeting,
 we will attend The VaB Gen. Soc. Annual
Spring Conference at the VA B Central   Library.

Mar 26, Thurs, BUS TRIP TO DC

Mar 28, Hunt for Hampton History

Mar 29, Sun PALM SUNDAY

 Apr 3, Fri, GOOD FRIDAY

Apr 5, Sun, EASTER

April 9, Thurs, 7PM Board Meeting

Apr. 15, Weds, Virtual Tea Party Deadline. 

Apr.  20, Mon, Virtual Tea Party!!!

May 10,Sun,  MOTHER’S DAY

May 16, Sat, 10AM Gen. Meeting.  Silent  Auction/Bake Sale.  
Juleigh Clark,  the Public Services Librarian at the
 Rockefeller Library of Colonial Williamsburg. 
 She will speak about the Library’s resources for genealogists. 

May 25, Mon, MEMORIAL DAY

Jun 11, Thurs, 7 PM Board Meeting

Jun 18, Thurs, BUS TRIP TO DC

Jun 21, Sun,  FATHER’S DAY 

Jul 4, Sat, INDEPENDENCE DAY

Aug 13, Thurs, 7 PM Board Meeting

Aug 26, Weds, BUS TRIP TO DC

Sep 7, Mon, LABOR DAY

Sep 12, Sat, 10 AM, Gen. Mtg.

Sep 19, Sat, 9 AM Denbigh Day

Oct 8, Thurs, 7 PM Board Meeting

Oct 10, Sat, Family History Month,
Family History Center Williamsburg

Oct 12, Mon, COLUMBUS DAY

Oct 28, Weds, BUS TRIP TO DC

 Nov 2, Mon, Mailing for Memory Tree    Lighting Ceremony

Nov 3, Tues, ELECTION DAY

Nov 11, Weds, VETERANS DAY

Nov 14, Sat, 10 AM ANNUAL Meeting,

            Show & Tell, Elections & Business

Nov 26 Thurs, Thanksgiving, Closed on  24th, 26th & 28th  

Dec 3, Thurs, deadline for Memory Tree

Dec 10, 2015, 5:30 PM Thurs,
Memory Tree Ceremony, Volunteer Appreciation,
            Pot luck dinner and Board Meeting,
            And introduction of new officers,
All  combined. 

Dec 25, Fri, CHRISTMAS    

 

ALL MEETINGS, ETC., WILL BE HELD AT THE 1884 OLD WARWICK COURTHOUSE,

Upstairs at the

14415 OLD COURTHOUSE WAY, NN 23608

757-988-1055

UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.

 

*Depending on response to classes;

May have to change in future.

Contact Kay Smith at gorksmith1@aol.com 

757-874-5897/508-2411

SNOW DAY CLOSURES

SAME AS NNEWS SCHOOL SYSTEM

 

 

 


Bus Trips - Schedule for 2015

RESEARCH TRIP 
 

Thursday, March 26 to Washington, DC
Thursday, June 18 to Washington, DC
Wednesday, August 26 to Washington, DC
Wednesday, October 28 to Washington, DC
 


Click here for more bus trip information


Classes


 

 
 

© 2015 Tidewater Genealogical Society
Webmaster: 
Katherine Nice
Last updated:  01/21/2015