Rutherford HAYES came to Brattleboro, from New Haven, Conn., in
February, 1778, a young man, just of age, a blacksmith by trade. The few
settlers, wishing such a workman to locate among them, made a bee, shoveled,
away the deep snow, helped to build a shop, and in less than a month he
was at work with his tools. Rutherford was born in Bradford, Conn., July
29, 1756, and removed to New Haven with his father, Ezekiel HAYES, in 1773
In his new home, now the West village, he for many years worked at his
trade, which he called a "dirty, black business, but it brought white money."
For some time he kept a tavern, joining farming with it, and during his
passing old age he was a farmer in easy circumstances. The old HAYES homestead,
built nearly one hundred years ago, and which was opened as a hotel by
Rutherford in 1795, is now owned and occupied by his granddaughter, Mary
A. BEGELOW, daughter of Dea. Russell HAYES, and widow of W. H. BEGELOW.
As to his characteristics, he is described as a "round, corpulent old gentleman,
with an elastic, square step, medium height, with florid complexion, sandy
hair, a cheerful temper, and friendly, courteous manners." He died September
25, 7836. His wife, Chloe SMITH, born November 10, 1762, in Hadley, Mass.,
moved with her parents to Brattleboro when young, and was married, in 1789,
in her seventeenth year. She died February 17, 1847. They had three sons
and six daughters, whom they lived to see in positions of honor and usefulness.
Dea. Russell HAYES, the eldest of the sons, born May 31, 7784, passed
a life of valuable usefulness on the old homestead in West Brattleboro,
devoting his energies and his love to the academy and the church, and smoothing
tenderly the declining years of his aged parents. He was a Christian of
equable temper, a man of excellent judgment, and a neighbor highly esteemed.
He died July 28, 1856.
Rutherford HAYES, Jr., born January 4, 1787, entered the mercantile
business and accumulated, for those times, a competent fortune. He was
a man of honor and commanded universal respect. He was a Presbyterian.
In 1817 he removed with his family to Delaware, O., a journey of forty
days, but only lived about five years thereafter, dying in 1822. After
his death was born his son, ex-President Rutherford B. HAYES, whose well-earned
political honors are well-known to all.
William R. HAYES, third son of Rutherford HAYES, Sr., was born December
6, 1804., prepared for college under the instruction of Rev. Mr. HALLOCK,
and graduated at Yale in the year 1825. He took a high stand in his class.
Closing the three years of his legal preparatory studies at the law school
in New Haven, under the care of judge DAGGET, he was admitted to the bar
and opened an office in East Brattleboro, Vt., in 1828; was married to
Miss TROWBRIDGE, of New Haven, in October, 1830. He is said to have had
a fine voice, and to have been a successful pleader. In his will he left
$1,000 for the academy at West Brattleboro. He, with two other professional
men, his daily associates, Mr. ELLIOT, of his own profession, and Dr. DICKERMAN,
were among the subjects of the revival of 1832. He became thereafter an
earnest, active Christian, and was restrained from preparing himself for
the gospel ministry by failing health. Skillful physicians advised him
to seek a milder climate. In 1836 he relinquished the practice of law,
and moved to Barbados in the West Indies. His health was gradually restored,
and he then spent the rest of his life engaged in prosperous mercantile
pursuits, and in discharging the duties of United States consul for the
island of Barbados. He engaged himself heartily in the support of temperance
and in the abolition of slavery. He organized societies in his new home,
and wrote and labored successfully for the promotion of these reforms.
His life was suddenly terminated by malignant erysipelas, July 13, 1852.
Of the daughters of Rutherford HAYES, Sr., the oldest one, Polly, married
Mr. John NOYES, who became a man of note. He graduated at Yale college
in the class of 1779, taught in Chesterfield academy, New Hampshire, preached
the gospel, became a merchant, and represented the southern district of
Vermont in congress. They were the grandparents of Larkin G. MEAD, the
sculptor. Belinda married the Hon. Samuel ELLIOT, of Brattleboro. Clarissa
married Ayer MOODY, a graduate of Dartmouth college, a man of influence.
Sarah was married to Dyer BANCROFT, a graduate of Williams college.
Larkin G. MEAD was born at Lexington, Mass., October 2, 1795; educated
at Dartmouth college ; first practiced law at Chesterfield, N. H.; married
Mary Jane NOYES, daughter of Hon. John NOYES, of Putney, Vt., June 8, 1829,
and removed to Brattleboro in 1839, where he was employed in closing up
the affairs of the Brattleboro Typographic Company. He practiced law in
the courts of Cheshire county, N. H., and Windham county, Vt., during a
large portion of the thirty years in which he lived in Brattleboro; was
a prominent Whig in the Harrison campaign of 1840, and chosen senator from
this county in 1846. He procured the charter for the first savings bank
in Brattleboro, now known as the Vermont Savings Bank of Brattleboro, and
was the first treasurer of that institution about twenty-five years; was
chairman of the first prudential committee, chosen to carry into effect
the present system of graded schools, in 1841. Shortly after resigning
the office of treasurer of the bank he died July 6, 1869. His son, Larkin
G., Jr., became the celebrated sculptor.
Col. Arnold J. HINES was born in Guilford, Vt., January 28, 1805,
married Sarah, daughter of Ezekiel GORE, of Bernardston, Mass., in 1827.
Three children blessed this union, Mrs. Mary J. CUTLER and Mrs. Sarah A.
MORRILL -- a son having died in infancy. His wife died March 14, 1835.
In 1837, he married Maria L. BROWN, granddaughter of Gamaliel ARNOLD, of
Dummerston Hill. The result of this union was a daughter, Mrs. Julia M.
WILDER, and a son, George A. HINES. His father, Thomas HINES, was by trade
a millwright and the favorite right hand man of Dea. John HOLBROOK in establishing
his first mechanical operations in this village, and in 1829 ARNOLD and
his father removed to this place, where the remainder of their lives was
passed. Arnold J. HINES, as captain of the old artillery and colonel in
the old Vermont State militia, in the declining days of our military organization,
proved worthy to lead a "forlorn hope." He was prominent in the fire department,
in securing the first village charter, was one of the original members
of the Prospect Hill Cemetery Association, and for twenty-five years was
the senior partner of the widely known firm of HINES, NEWMAN & Company.
As a principal or important actor in establishing and sustaining the only
religious organization in this village south of Whetstone brook, he will
be long and gratefully remembered. In religion he was a firm believer in
the final restoration of all mankind in holiness. In politics he was a
strong anti-slavery Democrat until the christening of the Republican party,
of which, it may be said, he was one of its original members. His last
days, which were days of suffering, were characterized by the heroic resignation
and tender patience which might be expected from a man of his large and
generous nature, and his last effort, just as he was entering the valley
of shadows, was a pleasant word and smile to a ministering friend. He died
of an internal tumor, April 6, 1862.
Ex-Governor Frederick HOLBROOK, who is now a resident of Brattleboro,
was born February 15, 1814, the youngest of ten children, who constituted
the family of Dea. John HOLBROOK, and which formerly occupied a large sphere
of usefulness and effectually exercised a creative power in the forming
period of the East village. Gov. HOLBROOK was a practical farmer, and in
1847, while busy with his farm, he was chosen register of probate for the
district of Marlboro; in 1850 he was elected president of the State agricultural
society, and held that office eight years; was State senator from Windham
county in 1849-50, and in 1861 he was elected governor of the State, serving
faithfully and well during the trying scenes of those times. Since then
he has been interested, in the improvement of agricultural implements,
especially the plow. He has also been president of the Vermont Savings
Bank about fifteen years, and trustee of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane
thirty-four years. He is also actively interested in the public affairs
of the town.
Rev. Horace BURCHARD, whose death occurred in Brattleboro, October
25, 1879, was born in Remsen, Oneida county, N. Y., April 5, 1833. In his
boyhood his parents removed to Hamilton, N. Y., and he graduated from Madison
university, of that town, in 1853, bearing the highest honors of his class.
Immediately after graduation, he took charge of an academy at Warnersville,
N. Y., and afterwards went to Yonkers, N. Y., where he was principal being
connected with the Mary Sharpe college, in Winchester, Tenn., when the
war broke out, but loyalty to his country compelled him to leave. In 1862
he took charge of LELAND and GRAY Seminary, at Townshend, Vt., and during
the two years he remained there the school increased more than two hundred
percent in membership. He first entered the ministry, as a pastor, in 1866,
at North Bennington, Vt., where he was ordained, in October of that year.
While in Bennington he married, September 5, 1866, Kate M. FLETCHER, youngest
daughter of Rev. Horace FLETCHER, D. D., of Townshend. After a successful
pastorate of nearly four years there, he removed to Woodstock, Ill., and
from there to Chicago. In 1875, while on a visit to Vermont, he received
and accented a hearty and unanimous call to become pastor of the Baptist
church of Brattleboro. During the four years of his pastorate here he received
200 members into the church. He seemed in the midst of his usefulness and
popularity when he was called higher. Here he was buried, to await the
resurrection. He was a born leader and a trusted friend-a man of large
heart and large brain. Original in thought, unconventional in manner, and
always intensely earnest in speaking, he made an impress whenever and wherever
heard. He carried great influence whenever he spoke on public occasions,
and always seemed to forget himself in his efforts to reach and help others.
His widow still resides in Brattleboro.
William Morris HUNT, the eminent artist, was the eldest son of Hon,
Jonathan HUNT, of Vernon, Vt., and Jane Maria LEAVITT, of Suffield, Conn.,
from whose maternal side he inherited his genius for art. He was born in
Brattleboro, March 31, 1824. Upon the death of his father, in 1832, his
mother removed with the family to New Haven, Conn., where William was placed
at Mr. Skinner's school. He early showed skill in drawing, and several
finely drawn sketches and even small cameo heads are preserved in the family,
done by him previous to his tenth year. He graduated from Harvard in 1840.
Owing to a pulmonary difficulty during his senior year, a change of climate
was recommended by his physicians, and October 9, 1843, he accompanied
his mother and family to Europe. From this time forward his life was devoted
to art, with what success is well known to all art lovers. Returning to
America in 1855, he married a Miss PERKINS, of Boston, and passed a year
in Brattleboro, and thence went to reside in Newport, R. I. His death occurred
September 9, 1879, at the Isle of Shoals, off Portsmouth, N. H. In compliance
with an often expressed desire, he was buried in Brattleboro.
Hon. Daniel KELLOGG was born at Amherst, Mass., Feb. 10, 1791, graduated
at Williams college in 1810, studied law with Gen. Martin FIELD, and commenced
practice at Rockingham, Vt., in 1814, where he continued to reside until
1854, when he removed to Brattleboro, where he died May 10. 1875, aged
eighty-four years. He married, first, Jane McAFFEE, of Rockingham; second,
Merab Ann BRADLEY, daughter of Hon. Wm. C. BRADLEY, of Westminster; third,
Miranda M. ALDIS, daughter of Hon. Asa ALDIS, of St. Albans, who survives
him. He was for a few years State's attorney for Windham county, and judge
of probate for the district of Westminster; secretary to the old governor
and council of Vermont, during the administration of Gov. BUTLER and Gov.
VAN NESS; United States district attorney for the State of Vermont twelve
years, during the administration of Gen. Jackson and Mr. Van Buren; adjutant
and inspector-general of the State; represented the town of Rockingham
in the general assembly, and for two years was State senator for Windham
county. In 1843 he was chosen president of the State constitutional convention,
and was judge of the supreme court of the State from 1845 to 1852. His
children were as follows. Henry, born August 23, 1823, graduated at Williams
college in 1843, engaged in the study of law with Hon. Wm. C. BRADLEY,
of Westminster, Vt., and was drowned while bathing in the Connecticut river
at that place, June 18, 1844. George B., born in November, 1825, studied
law with Hon. Asa KEYES, of Brattleboro, married Mary L. SIKES, daughter
of Urial SIKES, of Brattleboro, March 15, 1847, commenced the practice
of his profession at Rockingham, in 1846, soon after his father was elected
judge of the supreme court, removed to Brattleboro in 1855, appointed Postmaster
at Brattleboro, in 1861, State's attorney for Windham county three years,
adjutant and inspector-general for the State from 1854 to '59, represented
the town of Brattleboro in the general assembly for two years, was active
in raising and enlisting the Vermont cavalry regiment, and was lieut.-colonel
thereof during the rebellion, at the conclusion of which he was discharged,
and resumed the practice of his profession at St. Louis, where he died,
in November, 1875. Sarah B., born in August, 1831, married Henry A. WILLARD,
of Washington, D. C., in November, 1855. Daniel, born April 9, 1834, married
Margaret W. MAY, of Brattleboro, May 2, 1861, was Postmaster at Brattleboro,
from 1862 to July, 1868.
George NEWMAN was born at Seekonk, Mass., and removed with his parents
to Marlboro, Vt., at an early age, whence he came to this place, a mere
lad. He was, in his younger days, one of the early mechanics of Brattleboro.
When a boy he learned the trade of carriage making of Captain Adolphus
STEBBINS, at the West village. In 1830 he was employed by Messrs. THOMAS
& WOODCOCK, near, or at the time, they commenced the manufacture of
pulp dressers and other machinery used for paper making. He was one of
their principal workmen, and in a few years thereafter succeeded them in
this business, connected with which was an iron foundry, blacksmithing,
clothier's shop, saw-mill and grist-mill. He was in co-partnership with
Col. A. J. MINES and Roswell HUNT, Esq. At one period, Lewis NEWMAN, Governeur
MORRIS, Esq., and BRINSMADE, of Troy, N. Y., were interested in the business.
Until a comparatively recent date Mr. NEWMAN continued at the head of the
business, which finally all came into the possession of himself and family,
under the name of George NEWMAN & Son. He died Sept. 11, 1872.
Hon. Royall TYLER was born in Boston, Mass., July 18, 1857, and
died at Brattleboro, August 16, 1826. He entered Harvard college July 15,
1772, and graduated in July 1776, he studied law and was admitted to the
bar in 1779. He located in Guilford in January 1790, where he resided until
1801, when he came to Brattleboro. Aside from his extensive law practice
Mr. TYLER presided as side judge of the supreme court of Vermont, from
1801 to 1806, when he was chosen chief judge. This position he retained
until 1812. From 1815 to 1821 he was register of probate of Windham county.
He married Miss Mary PALMER, of Framingham, Mass., by whom he reared twelve
children, as follows: Royall TYLER, born in Framingham, Mass., 1794, died
in college, young; Gen. John S., born in Guilford, Vt., September 29, 1796,
from the age of fourteen lived in Boston, Mass., and was in mercantile
life; Mary Whitwell, born in Guilford, Vt., June .23, 1798; Rev. Edward
R., born in Guilford, Vt., August 3, 1800, of the Congregational church
and editor of “New Englander,” also author of works on future punishment;
William Clark, born in Brattleboro, August 28, 1802, passed a mercantile
life in Boston; Rev. Joseph Dennie, born in Brattleboro, September 4, 1804,
of the Episcopal church, and principal of an asylum for deaf mutes, in
Va.; Amelia Sophia, born in Brattleboro, June 29, 1807, principal of female
seminary in 1826; Rev. George PALMER, D.D., born in Brattleboro, December
10, 1809, of the Congregational church; Judge Royall, 2nd, born in Brattleboro,
April 19, 1812; graduated from Harvard college in 1834, studied law with
Charles G. LORING, Esq., of Boston, was admitted to the bar in 1838, commenced
practice in Brattleboro, in 1839, was appointed register of probate, Marlboro
district, in December 1844, chosen judge of probate, same district, in
1846, and was also appointed county clerk, in April, 1851, the latter two
offices of which he still retains; Rev. Thomas Pickman, D. D., born in
Brattleboro, November 20, 1815, of the Episcopal church; Abiel Winship,
born in Brattleboro, November 9, 1818, died in 1832.
James M. TYLER was born at Wilmington, April 27, 1833; was educated
at Brattleboro Academy; graduated at the law university of Albany, New
York; was admitted to the bar of Vermont in September, 1860, and has been
in practice ever since; was a member of the State legislature in 1863,
and '64, and was State's attorney in 1866 and '67; since 1875 has been
one of the trustees of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane; was elected to
the forty-sixth congress, and was re-elected to the forty-seventh congress,
as a Republican, receiving 15,960 votes against 6,698 votes for CAMPBELL,
Democrat, and forty-one for MEAD, Republican.
The NEWTON family, which is so numerous in America, had their origin
in America, according to the family tradition, as follows: "Four brothers,
whose sur-name was NEWTON, from a family in England, emigrated to America,
probably about 1630 or 1635, from whom, about the commencement of the present
century, the NEWTONs of the United States claimed their family origin here.
Two brothers settled in the easterly part of Massachusetts, in Middlesex
county, one settled on the banks of the Connecticut river, and the other
went south. Some of the descendants of those who settled in the neighborhood
of Boston were among the early settlers of the eastern portion of Worcester
county, Mass. Some were farmers, and some were mechanics and depended on
their industry and economy for a means of living. Some .of the favorite
family names were John, Timothy, Jonah, Solomon, Israel, Obadiah, and Marshall.
Rev. Ephraim Holland NEWTON, D. D., who was for many years a pastor of
the Congregetional church in Marlboro, Vt., was a son of Marshall NEWTON,
and was born in Newfane, Vt. Roswell H. NEWTON, who now resides in West
Brattleboro, was born in Marlboro, September 13, 1819, and married Eleanor
H. SAMSON, December 18, 1843, William S. NEWTON, born in Marlboro, June
26, 1822, resides in Brattleboro. He married Mrs. Lucinda WELLS, in Brattleboro,
March 30, 1858. He commenced the grocery business here March 21, 1859,
has been town clerk since March 3, 1863, and a justice of the peace since
December 1, 1863.
Jonathan DUNKLEE came to this town at an early date and located
upon the farm now owned by Edward DUNKLEE, his great-grandson. He was known
as a man of ability and of a good Christian character He died, highly respected,
on the old farm. His son Jonathan, born here, married Anna BROWN, and settled
in Marlboro, reared a family of seven children, and -finally removed to
Chesterfield, N. H., where he died, in December, 1862.
Joseph STEEN was born in Brattleboro village, March 2, 1797, and
died here August 11, 1881, being at that time the oldest native resident
of Brattleboro. Mr. STEEN worked with his father, James STEEN, who came
to. Brattleboro in 1795, until 1814, when he commenced work at the printer's
trade, under William FESSENDEN. After nine years employment at this trade
as a journey man, he worked on contract for Messrs. HOLBROOK & FESSENDEN,
until 1828. This year he bought of Messrs. THOMAS & WOODCOCK the right
to their pulp dresser for the State of New York, and engaged two years
in the sale of them and in putting them in operation in paper-mills in
that State. From 1830 until about the time of his death, he carried on
the book and stationery business at the village, publishing many thousand
volumes. He was also the last agent appointed here for paying pensions
to the soldiers of the war of the Revolution, continuing that duty until
the last one died. He was appointed assignee in bankruptcy for Windham
county, in 1844; justice of the peace in 1848, and held the office until
the latter years of his life; was selectman in 1854-'55; school committee,
first chosen to put in operation the graded school system in 1841. He was
prominent in advocating the school reform by effective remarks to the assembled
voters of the district.
George C. HASKINS, son of George, born in Londonderry, August 28,
1828, married Louisa J. STODDARD, of Montpelier, in 1851, and died here
September 5, 1882. Mr. HASKINS was a molder by trade, and was foreman of
the iron foundry here for thirty years.
John J. RETTING, a native of Germany, came to Brattleboro, August
2, 1850. Having learned the cabinet-maker's trade in Germany, he began
work here for Anthony VAN DOORN, where C. L. BROWN's building is now located,
where he continued until 1856. In the autumn of 1858 he began business
under the firm name of RETTING & BROWN, continuing thus about eleven
months. In 1859 he established himself in business, where the BROOKS House
stands; but in 1869, the block having burned, he removed to the location
now occupied by his sons, L. J. and John, Jr.
J. H. CAPEN, a direct descendant of Bernard CAPEN, of Dorchester,
Mass., who died November 8, 1638, came to Brattleboro in 1808, locating
with his family in a one-story wooden house on Main street. His son, J.
H. CAPEN, now occupies "Brookside farm," in school district No. 6, and
is employed in the bellows department of the ESTEY organ works. This son
was also a printer here for many years, manager of the telegraph office
twenty-five years, and sent the first message from Brattleboro to Boston,
Colonel Samuel WELLS, the first representative from this town, then
in Cumberland county, was born at Deerfield, Mass., September 9, 1730.
He married Hannah SHELDON, and in July, 1762, settled in Brattleboro, on
lands now owned by the Vermont Asylum for the Insane. Here were born his
thirteen children, two of whom died in infancy. His daughters were married
to Samuel GALE, Ephraim NASH, Micah TOWNSEND, Jonathan GORTON, Nathaniel
CHURCH and Ephraim STIMPSON. Like many of the prominent men of that time,
in this part of the State, Col. WELLS sustained the claims of New York.
Between the years 1798 and 1802, all the family of Col. WELLS removed to
Canada, where each of his children received from the crown 1,200 acres
of land as a compensation for the losses Col. WELLS had suffered during
the Revolution on account of his adherence to the King. He died in this
town and a .marble head-stone in the old burying-ground gives the following
OF CUMBERLAND COUNTY COURT,
AND A MEMBER
ASSEMBLY OF THE PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
1786, IN HIS 55TH YEAR.
the stranger and the poor
Dr. William Haydon ROCKWELL, was born in East Windsor, Connecticut,
February 15, 1800, graduated from Yale college in 1824, and from the Yale
medical school in 1831. On June 25, 1835, he married Mrs. Maria F. CHAPIN,
a native of Salisbury, Connecticut, and during the following year, June
28, 1836, was appointed superintendent of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane,
which position he retained until August, 1872, when he resigned in favor
of his son. He died November 30, 1873. death resulting from injuries sustained
by being thrown from his carriage, May 10, 1872.
A kind companion and a generous host
fell, the Statesman fell
the world his worth to tell."
Dr. Henry WELLS was the first town clerk of Brattleboro, elected
to office in 1768. He was born in Essex county, N. J., June 14, 1742, but
from 1746, for about twenty years, his home was in New York, when the population
of that city was less than ten thousand. When eleven years old he began
his college course at "Nassau Hall" in Princeton. Here he took his first
degree at the age of fifteen. Immediately after his graduation he began
the study of medicine at New Haven, with the celebrated Dr. Hull, under
whose instruction he remained four years. In 1760 Yale college conferred
on him the degree of A. M., and in the following year he returned to New
York, where he continued his studies until 1764. He studied divinity for
a short time after this and added the business of an apothecary to his
early medical practice in New York. He was married in the old Dutch church
on Nassau street, to Hannah STOUT, May 28, 1764. They lived together within
a few months of half a century. Dr. WELLS was hardly more than twenty-five
and his wife twenty and the mother of two young children, when they started
for their new home in the wilds of what is now Vermont. The town of Brattleboro,
of which he and his wife were two of the patentees, had been partly settled
from New Hampshire as early as 1752. They came by a small sloop to Hartford
Ct., and from thence followed the Connecticut river to Brattleboro. Their
new home was a farm of not far from 1,000 acres, some two miles west of
the present East village. Here, on the brow of a lofty hill, Dr. WELLS
erected a substantial frame house of considerable size, which stood almost
unaltered for a century, and was finally taken down by Gilbert SMITH, in
1875. In 1801 it was purchased from Micah TOWNSEND, its second owner, by
Chief Justice TYLER, who occupied it about fourteen or fifteen years. From
1768 to the time of his removal, in 1781, he constantly held some public
office. His name, for the last time, appears upon the records as moderator
of the meeting of March, 1781. His name is attached to two memorials to
the King in behalf of the legal government, the only civil government,
in fact, under the Province of New York. Seven more children were born
to Dr. WELLS during his thirteen years residence in Brattleboro. In 1781
he relinquished the magnificent estate, (in acres,) which cost him so much
toil and suffering, and removed to Montague, Mass. He settled in the house
which for eighty years continued to be the home of his children. In the'
associations of his new home and the better opportunities for the practice
of his profession, Dr. WELLS no doubt found compensation for the visionary
fortune, as landed proprietor, for which he and his father had left New
York. He soon acquired a reputation as a physician, especially in consultations,
which made long journeys from home often necessary. Such occasional calls
for him extended from Boston to Albany, New Hampshire and Connecticut,
as well as to and beyond his old home in Vermont. He died August 24, 1814,
aged seventy-two years.
Col. Daniel STEWART was born at Paxton, Mass., in 1756, and died
at Brattleboro, in 1834, In early life he went to live in Westboro, Mass.,
and there learned the tanner's trade. At twenty years of age he enlisted
as a private in the American army of the Revolution and was afterwards
an officer. He was in the battle of White Plains, and was with the army
during the campaigns in New Jersey. When his term of enlistment had expired
he returned to Westboro, and there worked at his trade until 1783, when
he removed to Brattleboro and purchased a farm in the southwest part of
the town on road 38. He served several years as one of the board of selectmen
of the town, and held other town offices. Col. STEWART was married in 1779,
to Miss Dorothy MAYNARD, of Westboro, Mass., by whom he had six daughters.
Gen. John STEWART came to Brattleboro, from Royalton, Mass., about
1772, locating on land east of where John S. CUTTING now resides, then
an unbroken forest. A few years after, he removed to a farm one mile west
of the West village, now known as the GOULD farm, where he lived until
his death, in 1812. He married Ruth NEWTON, of Royalston, Mass., who survived
him eight months. They had ten children, five sons and five daughters.
Gen. John STEWART was a man of more than ordinary qualities-in manners,
genial and courteous to all, honest and honorable in his dealings, he was
strictly an honest man and a firm friend to the poor and unfortunate. Physically
he was one of the grandest types of humanity, being very tall and of due
proportions. That he was beloved by all was proved by the hundreds of friends
who followed his remains, as they were borne to the tomb. Truly a good
man was removed from their midst.
John CUTTING, son of Jonah CUTTING, was born in Guilford, Vt., April
16, 1800, and died in Brattleboro, January 15, 1844. He received an academic
education at Leicester Academy, Mass., taught school several terms, then
he purchased a farm in the southwest part of Guilford, where he lived about
two years, then sold this farm, and bought another in Brattleboro, of Col.
Daniel STEWART, on which he settled in 1824. Mr. CUTTING was twice married,
first to Miss Emily STEWART, who died February 5, 1825; second to Miss
Charlotte STEWART, both daughters of Col. Daniel STEWART, of Brattleboro.
By these marriages he had six children, two by the first and four by the
second wife, and of whom five lived to marry.
John S. CUTTING, son of John CUTTING, was born in Guilford, Vt.,
September 12, 1823. He removed to Brattleboro with his parents, in 1824,
and received a common school and academic education. He is now a farmer
and school-teacher. He lives on the farm where his grandfather, Col. STEWART,
resided a hundred years ago. He has taught school forty or more terms,
twenty-five in the school district where he resides; was superintendent
of schools from 1866 to 1871; was representative to the State legislature
in 1874; was census enumerator for 1880; has been lister nine years; was
a member of the State board of equalization in 1882, and is a justice of
the peace. He married Miss Susan S. BURNETTE, daughter of John BURNETTE,
of Guilford April 29, 1849, by whom he has had two daughters, the eldest
of whom, Emily S., was married to ABBOTT S. Edwards, of Brattleboro, and
Minnie S., the youngest, was married to John L. BARNEY, of Brattleboro.
David BEMIS married Mary DUNSTER, a great granddaughter of Henry
DUNSTER, who was the first president of Harvard college. They settled in
Westminster, Mass., and reared nine children. John, Joseph, Benjamin, Elias,
Abner, Levi, Asa, Samuel and Sarah. The family moved from Westminster to
Brattleboro and lived on the "BLISS farm." Four of the children, John,
Joseph, Abner and Elias, settled in Windham county. Abner was a Baptist
minister and lived in Halifax where he died. Elias lived in Brattleboro,
on the farm now owned and occupied by M. M. MILLER. Lemuel BEMIS, son of
Elias, was for many years a, blacksmith in Brattleboro. Willis BEMIS, the
present express agent at Brattleboro, is a son of Lemuel. John and Joseph,
who served in the Revolution, settled in Dummerston. John married for his
second wife, Jemima, daughter of Elder Daniel WHIPPLE, who was the first
Baptist minister in the State. Elder WHIPPLE died in 1789 aged ninety-seven
years. His grave is in the West river cemetery, at Brattleboro. John had
twelve children and lived where Mr. Murphy now lives. David, son of John
BEMIS and Jemima WHIPPLE, lived on the farm his father had occupied before
him, His eldest son, Erastus, settled in Washington county, Pa., and became
one .of the leading physicians of that county. He died in 1866, leaving
two sons, David H. and James N., both physicians. Another son, Samuel N.,
is also a physician, living in Brattleboro. The youngest son, Horace, is
a lawyer of Hornellsville, N. Y. Joseph BEMIS died in Dummerston, and the
family went to Cattaraugus county, N. Y., where Joseph, Jr., died in January,
1884, aged 98 years.
The ESTERBROOKS were one of Windham county's notable pioneer families,
and many of its descendants are at the present time upright and substantial
citizens of Brattleboro. Warren ESTERBROOK was one of the town's early
settlers. Born at Warren, R. I., June 29, 1748, he came to Brattleboro
in 1779, when 31 years of age, with his wife, whose maiden name was Rosannah
HALE, and four-year-old son. For a short time he worked at the carpenter's
trade in the then sparsely settled "East village," but soon moved to a
farm in the southwest part of the town. He had a family of nine children-six
boys and three girls-and followed farming until afflicted with total blindness,
which great misfortune he patiently bore during the remaining twenty years
of his life. He died June 29, 1838, aged ninety years; his wife died April
26, 1813, aged sixty-two years. Maj. James ESTERBROOK, eldest son of Warren
ESTERBROOK, came to Brattleboro with his father and mother in 1779, at
the age of four years, and lived with his parents until of age. He married
Polly STEWART, daughter of Colonel Daniel STEWART, in 1799, and settled
on the “HADLEY farm," so-called, near the family homestead. He engaged
quite largely in the dairy business for a number of years and became a
conspicuous and popular figure in the local militia with the rank of major.
He was the father of twelve children-four sons and eight daughters,-all
of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, and four of whom, -- two sons and
two daughters, -- still survive at advanced ages. The children of Major
James and Polly STEWART ESTERBROOK were as follows: Maria, born Sept. 7,
1800, married Rufus PRATT, and died October 19, 1858; Charlotte, born June
13, 1802, married William BULLOCK, and is still living; Daniel S., born
April 17, 1804, married Betsey GLADDEN, and died September 19, 1869; Dorothy,
born January 27, 1806, married Salmon FESSENDEN, and died May 27, 1878;
Nancy, born October 8, 1808, married Wesley JACOBS, and died April 28,
1849; Mary A., born November 6, 1810, married Harvey HOUGHTON, and died
March 18, 1861; James H., born August 10, 1812, married Nancy A. FRENCH,
and died April 9,1862; William H., born July 31. 1814, married Adaline
A. THAYER, is still living, and has two children, Ada, wife of George S.
DOWLEY, and Mary, wife of L. H. RICHARDSON, and now resides in Brattleboro;
Emily, born September 16, married Henry A. GANE, and is still living; Cyrinthia
I., born April 25, 1819, married Benjamin F. TILDEN, and died January 10,
1849; George W., born December 2, 1821, married Nancy A. GODDARD, and is
still living; Harriet C., born August 16, 1824, married Albert A. CORTIS,
and died November 6, 1875.
Anthony VAN DOORN was born in Bristol; R. I., October 14, 1792,
where he passed most of the early part of his life. In the spring of 1815
he removed to West Brattleboro and established himself as a cabinet maker.
November 7th, of the same year, he married Betsey HUBBARD, of Groton, Mass.
About this time his father, Moses VAN DOORN, tailor by trade, who had previously
for a time resided in Fitzwilliam, N. H., removed to Brattleboro where
he spent the remainder of his days, dying in 1825. Here Mr. VAN DOORN carried
on successfully the cabinet business till his removal to East Brattleboro
in 1829. Here with increased facilities, together with larger experience
and rising ambition that forced him to stand abreast with the growing demand
of the times, he continued the manufacture of furniture and conducted the
business with such extraordinary energy and thrift, that he soon ranked
among the first manufacturers of the kind in the State. At different times
he had associate partners for a brief period, viz.: William CONANT one
year, at another time his brother Frederick, and later his sons M. T. and
C. A., who continued till the business was disposed of, in 1851. Being
blessed with a strong constitution and possessing more than ordinary mental
endowments, he was able, during all his business career, to contribute
his share of assistance in carrying forward the enterprises of his time.
His strong self-reliance and progressive spirit, with independence of action,
not unfrequently created a ripple in the arena of reform; but being actuated
by genuine philanthropy and Christian principle his efforts resulted largely
in the elevation of society. His religious faith was of the Puritan type
as held by the Congregational schools of the century. If he had faults,
he also had uplifting, redeeming aspirations. He cherished an unwavering
trust in an overruling Providence, was not slack in his devotions, upright,
generous, persistant and unflinching in resolution in all his undertakings.
He was among the first to engage in Sabbath-school work in the town, in
which he took a deep interest. He performed so prominent a part, with such
energy and zeal, that he has been aptly styled "the father of the Sabbath-schools."
He was accustomed, during his last years, to visit Sunday schools in various
places in the State, before which he spoke with consider able acceptance.
He regularly contributed substantial aid to all the various branches of
missionary work; was a firm supporter of the Colonization society, to which
he was a regular contributor as long as he lived; and at the same time,
believing in the "inalienable right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of
happiness;" he was true to his convictions, by practically aiding the unfortunate
"chattel" in his onward flight to the "Beulah land." He made a tour of
nine months in Europe, which afforded him a great deal of satisfaction.
While on a visit to friends in Providence, R. I., he died suddenly, August
22, 1871. He had five children -- three sons and two daughters. One died
in infancy, three are living in Brattleboro, and Charles A. is living in
Dea. John GROUT was born at Westminster, Vt., August 17, 1788, went
to reside in Newfane about 1810, and moved to West Brattleboro in 1836,
where he died, October 16, 1851. Dea. GROUT married Azubiah, daughter of
Jonathan DUNKLEE, of Brattleboro, May 28, 1811, and had nine children,
eight of whom were sons. Mrs. GROUT died at West Brattleboro, July 24,
1866, aged seventy-three years, Mr. GROUT's age at the time of his death
being sixty-three years. Lewis the eldest of the children, born in Newfane,
January 28, 1815, attended the Brattleboro academy in 1834, '35, '36, and
'37, taught a district school in Marlboro in the winter of 1835-36, in
Putney 1836-37, and in East Guilford 1837-38; attended Burr Seminary in
1838, entered Yale college the same year, and graduated thence in 1842.
During a portion of the latter part of his collegiate course he was engaged
in teaching in a military, classical and mathematical school at West Point,
N. Y., where he also taught a year after graduating. He studied theology
for two years at Yale Divinity College, 1844 and 1845, and one year at
Andover Theological Seminary, where he graduated in 1846. In 1844 he paid
his way by teaching a few hours a day in Miss Comstock's Ladies' Seminary,
and in 1845 by serving as chaplain in the family of Gerard HALLECK, Esq.,
editor of the “New York Journal of Commerce.” October 8, 1846, he was ordained
as a missionary, and was married the same day to Miss Lydia BATES, in Springfield,
Vt. He set sail from Boston, October 10, for South Africa, stopped a few
weeks in Cape Town, and reached Natal, Africa, February 15, 1847. Here,
among the Zulus, in the District of Natal, he labored as a missionary in
the service of the American Board, for fifteen years, and at the end of
that time, March 12, 1862, with impaired health, he set sail for his native
land, and landed in Boston on the 7th of June. His health having in a measure
been restored, Mr. GROUT preached a year for the Congregational church
in Saxton's River, and then accepted a call to the church in Feeding Hills,
Mass., where he was installed as pastor, and continued to labor till the
first of October, 1865. He then received an appointment from the American
Missionary Association as secretary and agent of that society for New Hampshire
and Vermont, and in this employ has continued till the present time, some
nineteen years, having his home in West Brattleboro.
Elisha SIMONDS, born at Lunenburg, Mass., July 8, 1780, died at
Brattleboro, April 6, 1864, aged eighty-two years and nine months. Mr.
SIMONDS was the father of seventeen children, the third, of whom, Penni,
was born at Alstead, N. H., March 21, 1807, and removed with his father's
family to Swanzey, N. H., about the year 1819, at the age of twelve years.
From about the year 1823 until 1833, he worked at shoe-making, as it was
carried on in those early days. In the spring of 1833, he came to Brattleboro
and opened a custom boot and shoe store, in what was then known as Hall's
Long building, and from that date until his death occupied the same room.
Henry W. SIMONDS commenced business in the same room, August 10, 1881,
but November 16, 1883, the building was destroyed by fire, when he removed
to Elliot street.
Alfred SIMONDS was born in Alstead, N. H., in 1810, and came to
Brattleboro in 1832. He married Maria STOCKWELL, daughter of Arad STOCKWELL,
and located on High street. He carried on the tanning business at Centerville,
was selectman several years, and reared a family of three children, two
of whom are now living in Lexington, Ky.
William HARRIS was one of the early settlers of Brattleboro. Just
at what time he came here, however, is not known; but Capt. Banajah DUDLEY,
residing here at the age of ninety-three years, married a daughter of William's
son Ezra, and says that William came here with his family of nine children,
from Holden, Mass. He died August 15, 1797, aged seventy-one years. Patience
GLEASON, his wife, died November 21, 1808, aged seventy-six years. 'Their
children were Valentine, William, Salthiel, Calvin, Ezra, Mrs. HOWE, who
was killed by lightning in a house standing where Dr. STEADMAN now resides,
in West Brattleboro, and Mrs. CHANDLER. William HARRIS, Jr., was born October
2, 1757, and died in Brattleboro March 12, 1845; Abiah BROOKS, his wife,
born Apri1 16, 1765, died in Brattleboro, March 6, 1847; Polly, born October
5, 1784, married Dr. Samuel BULLOCK, of Brookline, December 25, 1803, settled
and died in Canada; William was born May 24, 1787; Flavia, born July 10,
1789, married Elkanah CROSBY, January 10, 1808, and settled and died in
Catskill, N. Y.; William, born September 8, 1791, married Jemima WOOD,
December 19, 1816, and settled and died on the home farm, dying September
25, 1849; Ira, born March 6, 1796, settled and married in Canada, and died
in Minnesota; Roswell was born March 6, 1798. He taught his first school
in Wardsboro, in the winter of 1814-15. He fitted for college with Rev.
Caleb BURGE, pastor of the Congregational Society at West Brattleboro,
entered Middlebury college in 1817 and graduated in 1821. He had charge
of the Brattleboro Academy two years, as principal, after which he entered
Andover Theological Seminary, in 1723, and graduated in 1826. He was licensed
to preach by the Windham County Association of Congregational ministers,
at Halifax, June 21, 1826, and preached at Salisbury and Amesbury, Mass.,
and Antrim, and Derring, N. H., for two years, when, on account of serious
bronchial difficulty, he was obliged to relinquish active duties as a minister.
He then gave himself up almost entirely to the duties of teaching, preaching
occasionally. He took charge of the Hampton academy, Hampton, N. H., in
the autumn of 1828, and remained there until the summer of 1833, when he
was married to Miss Matilda LEAVITT, of Hampton, on the 29th of August,
coming immediately to Brattleboro, and for the second time took charge
of the Brattleboro academy; but in the autumn of 1837 was forced to resign
on account of ill health. In 1845 he once more resumed his labors as principal
of the academy and remained in charge a little more than eight years. After
a vacation of five years,-he was again induced, in 1858, to take charge
of the academy, but was again compelled to relinquish it in less than a
year. He was the first superintendent of schools in this town, and held
the office and also that of Postmaster at West Brattleboro a number of
years. His last sickness was very brief, he being taken suddenly ill on
Saturday, March 4, 1871, at about 11 o'clock, P. M., and passed to his
rest at 1 P. M., on Monday, March 6, 1871, his 73d birthday. His
wife died December 13, 1841. He left three sons, Rev. W. J. HARRIS, D.
D., Roswell HARRIS, Jr., and Rev. Charles Clarke HARRIS.
Broughton D. HARRIS, son of WILDER HARRIS, was born at Chesterfield,
N. H., August 16, 1822, and married Sarah B. HOLLISTER, of New York city.
He was fitted for college at Chesterfield academy and at the Kimball Union
academy, in Meriden, and entered Dartmouth in 1841, graduating in 1845.
He studied law for a while, with Hon. Asa KEYES, of Brattleboro, then engaged
in the newspaper business, being editor of the “Vermont Phoenix” for a
while, and for several years was editor of the “Semi- Weekly Eagle.” 1n
the spring of 1851, he went to Utah, as the first secretary of that Territory,
Brigham YOUNG being at that time governor of the same. He soon, however,
came in collision with Brigham and his saints respecting the discharge
of his official duties, the result of which being that Mr. HARRIS finally
refused to disburse the money placed in his hands by the government for
the benefit of the Territory, as he regarded the proceedings of the Mormon
authorities as being contrary to the laws of the United States. He then
left Utah and. returned the money to the United States treasury, his action
being approved by the government, and he was soon after appointed secretary
and acting-governor of New Mexico, but his appointment was declined. In
1847, '48 and '49 he was register of probate here, and a member of the
Vermont senate in 1860 and '61, being also chairman of the committee on
military affairs. By appointment of the governor he was a member of the
Peace Congress which assembled at Washington during the memorable winter
of 1860-61. For several years he has been engaged in the construction of
railroads, and was mainly instrumental in pushing through the enterprise
of building the Brattleboro and Whitehall railroad. He is president of
the Brattleboro Savings Bank, and has been one of its trustees since its
Nathan Birdseye WILLISTON, son of Rev. Payson WILLISTON, of East
Hampton, Mass., was born August 1, 1797. He left his father's home at the
age of twelve years, and from that time onward was dependent on his own
resources. He came to Brattleboro in 1810, as clerk in the store of Ezra
CLARK, a dealer in hardware and drugs. Winning the confidence of Mr. CLARK,
he became a partner, and ultimately succeeded to the business. Later on
he took into, partnership his brother-in-law, Ferdinand TYLER, and still
later Mr. Charles F. THOMPSON. At the establishment of the Windham County
Bank, in 1856, he became its president; and when that institution was merged
into the First National Bank, in 1864, he continued in the same relationship
to that organization, till his retirement in 1879. During the war he was
engaged in the manufacture of carriages. Mr. WILLISTON was twice married,
to Margaret, who died comparatively young, after bearing him five children,
and to Caroline BREWSTER, whom he also survived. None of his children are
living. Mr. WILLISTON died December 5, 1883, aged eighty-six years.
Henry Dwight HOLTON, M. D., A. M., a resident of Brattleboro for
the past fifteen years, was born at Saxton's River, Vt., July 24, 1838,
married there Ellen Jane HOIT, November 19, 1862, who was born November
28, 1839, at Saxton's River, daughter of Theophilus and Mary Damon (CHANDLER)
HOIT. The early training of Dr. HOLTON was of the strictest New England
kind, and much of his success in life is undoubtedly due to the principles
thus early instilled into his mind by his parents. His boyhood was like
that of the majority of boys brought up on a farm. The following account
of his life is from a book entitled, "Physicians and Surgeons of America,"
and a sketch of him, in a work published by the Rocky Mountain Medical
Association. He was fitted for college at the Saxton's River Seminary,
and studied two years with Dr. J. H. WARREN, of Boston, and two years with
Professors VALENTINE and A. B. MOTT, of New York, attending lectures at
the same time in the medical department of the University of New York,
from which he graduated in March, 1860, settling successfully in Brooklyn,
N. Y., Putney, Vt., and Brattleboro, Vt., his present residence. He has
traveled extensively in Europe and this country. He is a member of the
Connecticut River Valley Medical Society, of which he was secretary from
1862 to 1867, and president in 1868; the Vermont Medical Society, of which
he was censor for several years, and the president in 1868; the American
Medical Association and the British Medical Association, a corresponding
member of the Boston Gynecological Society, and member of the American
Public Health Association, and a delegate to the International Medical
Congress at Brussels in 1875. He is also a member of the Rocky Mountain
Medical Association. The Doctor has contributed some valuable papers to
medical journals and to transactions of medical societies, and reported
at one time "Mott's Cliniques" for the press. An article describing his
apparatus for keeping in place sternal dislocations of the clavicle, and
an article on diphtheria, are contributions which show research and ability.
He was appointed by the court, in 1873, medical examiner to the Vermont
Asylum for the Insane, and in the same year was elected by the legislature
one of the trustees of the University of Vermont. He has been surgeon of
the 12th regiment of Vermont militia. He is now professor of Materia Medica
and General Pathology in the medical department of the University of Vermont.
The honorary degree of A. M. was conferred upon him in 1879, by the University
of Vermont. In June 1880, he was elected one of the vice-presidents of
the American Medical Association. The Doctor is a vigorous orator and a
clear thinker, and well up in a knowledge of the most approved and latest
methods of relieving human suffering.
Charles Newton DAVENPORT, the eldest son of Calvin N. and Lucy W.
DAVENPORT, was born at Leyden, Mass., Oct. 20, 1830, and died at Brattleboro.
April 12, 1882. He was educated in the common schools of his native town,
at the Shelburne Falls (Mass.) academy, and at the Melrose seminary, in
West Brattleboro. He entered the office of the Hon. Oscar L. SHAFTER, of
Wilmington, Vt., as a student of law, March 10, 1851, and was admitted
as an attorney at the April term, 1854, of the Windham county court. Immediately
upon his admission to the bar, he formed a co-partnership with Mr. SHAFTER,
which continued until November 10, 1855, when it was dissolved, in consequence
of the decision of Mr. SHAFTER to permanently remain in California, where
he had been since October, 1854, in the employment of the law firm of HALLECK,
PARK, PEACHEY & BILLINGS. Mr. DAVENPORT remained at Wilmington in the
active practice of his profession until his removal to Brattleboro, in
March, 1868, where he resided until his death. Here he found a wider field,
and more important causes were entrusted to his care, entailing upon him
a correspondingly larger amount of labor. In June, 1875, desiring to be
relieved of a portion of his largely increased and increasing business
and responsibilities, which even then were over-tasking his POWERS, both
mental and physical, he took into partnership with him Jonathan G. EDDY,
which co-partnership existed until January 1, 1882 when he disposed of
his business to James L. MARTIN, and with a view of regaining his health,
which had become seriously impaired by his constant application and unremitting
toil in the cause of his clients, he retired from the practice of the profession
he loved so well.
Mr. DAVENPORT married, December 12, 1854, Miss Louisa C. HAYNES,
of Lowell, Mass., who bore him six children, four of whom died young. The
other two, Charles H. DAVENPORT, the editor and publisher of the Windham
county “Reformer,” and Herbert J. DAVENPORT, a graduate of Harvard law
school, are living. Mrs. DAVENPORT died September 30, 1870, and Mr. DAVENPORT
was married a second time, November 6, 1871, to Mrs. Roxana J. DUNKLEE,
of Brattleboro. She died May 22, 1881.
Paul CHASE was born in Guilford, Vt., where he resided until after
his marriage with Miss Gracie HYDE, daughter of Dr. Dana HYDE, when he
came to Brattleboro. He was high sheriff of the county about twenty years,
colonel of militia, proprietor of the old Brattleboro Stage House, which
was located where the Brooks House now stands, for twenty years. He died
in 1854, aged seventy-six years. His children were Lucy, Harriet and Edwin
H. The latter was born in Brattleboro in 1819, married Eveline DICKSINSON,
by whom he had two children, and for his second wife he married Sue A.
COWAN, of Kentucky. For the past twenty years he has carried on an extensive
distillery in Bryantsville, Ky., spending his summers in Brattleboro.
Bela N. CHAMBERLAIN, son of John, was born at Newport, N. H., June
14, 1823, and in 1840 commenced to learn the hatter's trade in his native
town, where he remained until 1853. In 1847 he married H. Jane CRAN, the
union being blessed with four children, only one of whom, Herbert B., is
living. In 1854 the latter came to Brattleboro with his father, and formed
a partnership with Henry POND, of Keene, N. H., under the firm name of
POND & CHAMBERLAIN, dealers in hats, caps and furs. From 1862 to 1868
the firm was CHAMBERLAIN & FRANK, since which time Mr. CHAMBERLAIN
has carried on the business alone, being now one of the oldest business
men in Brattleboro, there being but two other merchants in business who
were here when he came.
Timothy VINTON was born in Reading, Mass., January 5, 1803. When
he was only a year old he was left fatherless, and his mother soon after
removed to Leonminster, Mass., where he received a common school education.
At the age of twenty-one he went to work in a paper-mill, and in 1830 commenced
business on his own account, remaining in Leonminster until 1836. During
that year he went to Fitchburg, Mass., where, in company with Alvah BROOKS,
he was in the paper business until 1843, after which, until 1847, he was
engaged in the same business at Pepperell, Mass. Since 1847 he has been
engaged in paper manufacture in Brattleboro. Mr. VINTON married Caroline
WOODCOCK, in November, 1828, who bore him five children, and died in 1878.
Two of the children, John F. and William H., are living.
Dr. Dan P. WEBSTER, born at Northfield, Vt., in 1845, graduated
from the Burlington medical college in 1867, and immediately commenced
practice in Putney, remaining there until 1882, when he came to Brattleboro.
Dr. WEBSTER represented Putney in the legislature from 1872 to '74, was
State senator in 1878, was State railroad commissioner from 1878 to '80,
and from 1874 to '76 sergeant-general of the State militia, being on the
staff of Gov. Asahel PECK.
Dr. David P. DEARBORN came to Brattleboro immediately after the
late war, and has been in practice here since. At the age of twenty-five
years he enlisted as a private in Co. F, 4th N. H. Vols., at Keene, N.
H., July 3, 1861. Here he was rapidly promoted, as follows: 2d Lieut.,
Co. G, August 18, 1862; 2d asst. surgeon, December 16, 1862; 1st asst.
surgeon, May 2, 1864; surgeon, November 9, 1864, being mustered out of
service August 23, 1865.
Leavitt R. SARGENT was born in Dummerston, Vt., October 7, 1822,
received a common school education, and remained on the farm with his father
until twenty-one years of age, when, in 1843, he commenced the manufacture
of sleighs, remaining in that business two years, in company with Oscar
DIX, a brother-in-law. In 1845 he came to Brattleboro and worked at the
carpenter trade two years, then formed a partnership with H. P. GREEN,
which lasted six years, during which time he lost one of his hands in a
planing machine. In 1861 he formed a partnership with Frank HARRIS for
the manufacture of hand sewing machines, which business he continued six
years, employing about forty men. In 1852 Mr. SARGENT married Maria LAWTON
and has one child, Jennie, the wife of Prescott WHITE.
George PERSONS was born in Jamaica, Vt., March 3, 1804, where he
learned the mason's trade. He married Polly CHASE, and came to Brattleboro
in 1848, where he has since resided, having reared a family of one son
and four daughters. He had charge of the mason work at Vermont Asylum for
the Insane twenty-five years. Mr. PERSONS celebrated his golden wedding
October 24, 1883.
Asa PUTNAM came to Brattleboro from Warren, Mass., about 1780, locating
upon the farm now owned by George CLARK, where he reared a family of nine
children, the last of whom, Sylvia, wife of Z. HAMILTON, died October 2,
1883. Josiah, his fourth son, was born here in 1781, married Susan W.,
daughter of Dr. DICKERMAN, and died here March 24, 1864, on the old DICKERMAN
homestead. His children are Beda G., wife of Elisha W. PROUTY; Henry, of
Watertown, N. Y.; John L., residing in Cheshire county, N. H.; and A. D.
PUTNAM, who has been in the dental business here since 1846.
Abel JOY, from Rehoboth, Mass., settled in Guilford with his father,
David 2d, about 1760. He resided there a few years, then came to Brattleboro
and built the house now owned by W. F. RICHARDSON, just south of the East
village, where he died in 1813. He married Elizabeth M. CHASE, October
28, 1779, by whom he reared a family of nine children. Mrs. JOY died June
28, 1843. John M., son of Abel, still resides in Brattleboro.
Thomas, son of Sylvanus SHERWIN, was born in Newfane, subsequently
settled in Whitingham, built a tannery there and carried on the business
several years, and died about 1827. He married Marion PARKS and reared
six children, four of whom are living, as follows: Nathan, in Athens, Vt.;
Orrin, in Plainfield, N. J.; and Eleanor, the wife of Horace HINKSON. Asa,
second son of Thomas, was born in Whitingham, March 7, 1820, and when thirteen
years of age came to Brattleboro, learned the pattern maker's trade and
still resides here. He married Sophia E. LARABEE, and for his second wife,
Lemira EDDY. He has two children living.
Francis A. WELLS was born in Leyden, Mass., in 1829, and came to
Brattleboro in 1857, where he still resides. Mr. WELLS resided in California
about five years, and on his return, in 1857, the vessel, the "Central
America," was wrecked off the coast of South Carolina, and Mr. WELLS, in
company with two others, after floating on the wheel-house of the wrecked
vessel for sixteen hours, were picked up by a Norwegian barque.
Alexander G. ALLEN, a native of Boston, Mass., came to Brattleboro
in 1830, and carried on the cabinet making business here. In 1837 he went
to Pensacola, Fla., where he died of yellow fever, in November, 1839. He
married Cordelia BROOKS, daughter of Samuel M. BROOKS, and reared two children,
Henry J. and Alexander G., both of whom reside here. Mrs. ALLEN died in
Samuel M. BROOKS, from West Springfield, Mass., came to Brattleboro
in 1815, locating upon the Fort Dummer farm. He reared seven children and
died in March, 1854, aged sixty-four years. Simon, son of Samuel M., was
born on the old farm, November 22, 1815, married Mary SPRING and has reared
William GOULD was born here in 1814, learned the gas fitters and
plumber's trade, and when seventeen years of age began the manufacture
of copper pumps, which business he has followed since, at one time also
manufacturing lead pipe. He has done the plumbing work of the Vermont Asylum
for the Insane ever since that institution was established.
William A. CONANT, born at Concord, Mass., in 1804, came to Brattleboro
in 1829, and has resided here since, being, for the past forty years, engaged
in the manufacture of violins. He married Harriet E. SALISBURY and has
reared eight children.
Benjamin F. BINGHAM, who has been principal of the Brattleboro High
school since 1863, was born in Cornwall, Vt., April 7, 1824. He began his
career as a teacher by instructing a common school in his native town.
He then taught a select school two or three years, at West Cornwall, when,
having received an invitation to teach in West Rutland, he was at the head
of a flourishing school there for eight years.
Adolphus STEBBINS, son of Levi, was born at West Brattleboro, November
11, 1779. Mr. STEBBINS was a wagon maker, and, it is said, made the first
wagon ever built in this town. He carried on that business at West Brattleboro
until 1832, when he carne to the East village and built the shop now occupied
by son, J. H. STEBBINS.
Hon. Parley STARR was born at Colchester, Vt., August 20, 1813,
lived several years at Milton, and finally, at the age of twenty-one years,
started out into the world to make his own way. Coming to Jacksonville,
in Windham county, he began work at the tanner's trade, and in the course
of a few years was at the head of a large leather manufactory. He represented
the town of Whitingham in the legislature of 1852 '56 and '72, was a member
of the State senate in 1859-'60, was a justice of the peace eleven years,
trustee of the Provident Institution for Savings five years, and a director
of the Brattleboro Bank seventeen years. In 1862 he opened a recruiting
office for enlisting volunteers and was appointed a State agent to look
after and provide for the families of absent soldiers. In 1873 he began
a permanent residence in Brattleboro and has been president of the People's
National Bank since its organization. Mr. STARR married Clarissa BLANCHARD,
of Whitingham, and has four children living.
Elihu H. THOMAS was born in Worcester, Mass., October 30, 1802,
and when quite young came to Brattleboro to reside with his uncle, Elihu
HOTCHKISS. He married Abigail BANGS, in 1824, and reared nine children,
five of whom are now living. Elihu H. Jr., in Brattleboro. Mr. THOMAS was
a very enterprising man. He learned paper manufacturing and at one time
had a mill in Brattleboro, one at Hinsdale, N. H., and one in Ohio, where
he also manufactured pins and combs, and also a fanning-mill factory in
Brattleboro. At one time he had a tannery here, near the present site of
the depot, and was also the first to take daguerreotypes in this locality.
In 1832 he was sent to England and France, in the interest of paper manufacturers,
to study their process of manufacture, where he remained two years. In
1848 he went to Boston, where he was engaged in perfecting a sewing machine.
In 186o he went to California, where he engaged in hotel keeping, the manufacture
of mining machinery and in other enterprises. About 1874 he returned to
Vermont, locating at North Bennington, where he died February 8, 1876.
Mrs. THOMAS died August 4, 1867, in California.
Jesse HADLEY was one of the early settlers of Brattleboro, locating
in the northeastern part of the town. Jesse, Jr., was born here in 1782,
married Abigail FLETCHER, reared a family of eight children, and died in
1840. Only one of his three surviving sons, Hannibal, is residing in Brattleboro.
He was born here in 1812, and carried on a butchering business from 1832
Edward A. STEARNS was born at Warwick, Mass., in 1806, and came
to Brattleboro in 1831. In 1841 he purchased a rule factory of S. M. CLARK,
and was engaged in the manufacture of rules until his death, July 29, 1856.
Mr. STEARNS married Elizabeth C. SALISBURY, in 1834, who still resides
here, with her only son, Edward A., born in 1839.
Jonathan HERRICK was born at Beverly, Mass., September 26, 1743,
came to Brattleboro among its early settlers, married Mehitable FRENCH,
and reared a family of twelve children -- six sons and six daughters. The
sixth son, Seth, was born in Brattleboro, April 16, 1786; he married Melinda
COUGHLAN, in 1815, by whom he reared two sons and two daughters. She died
in 1842, and in 1844 he married Sarah A. POTTER, by whom he reared five
children. Mr. HERRICK died June 16, 1848. Mrs. HERRICK is still living.
Of the children residing in Brattleboro are John N., a farmer, Ellen C.,
wife of A. W. STOWE, and Seth N. The latter was born September 20, 1819,
was educated at the West Brattleboro academy, and has been engaged most
of his life in mercantile pursuits, a portion of the time in New York city.
He has held the office of collector of taxes from 1862 to 1875, deputy
sheriff and collector from 1862 to 1868 and from 1870 to the present time,
high sheriff in 1869 and '70, selectman continuously from 1868 to the present
time, and represented the town in the legislature of 1866-67.
George E. CROWELL was born at Manchester, N. H., September 29, 1834.
When two years of age his parents moved to Concord, N. H., and soon after
to Hopkinton, N. H., where George received the educational advantages of
only the common schools. In 1854 his father died, after which he assisted
his mother in carrying on their little farm, until 1866, when he came to
Brattleboro to edit the agricultural department of the “Record and Farmer.”
Two years later he established the “Household Magazine,” which he has since
conducted with such unusual ability and success, and has also engaged in
various manufacturing and village improvement enterprises. He married Miss
Mary L. SPENCER, daughter of Elijah SPENCER, of Brattleboro; March 14,
1872, and has four children, -- Christie, born January 24, 1873; Herbert
S., born February 24, 1874; Esther L., born October 8, 1876; and Percy
V., born January 21, 1884.
Benajah DUDLEY, Sen., came to Brattleboro, from Killingworth, Conn.,
about 1787, locating upon the farm now owned by John P. LISCOM, on road
42. After two or three changes of location he finally settled in West Brattleboro,
where he remained until his death, in 1850. His wife, Elizabeth REDFIELD,
died in 1846. Their family consisted of seven children, as follows Linus,
born in 1786; Benajah, born in 1791; Roswell, born in 1794. 1794; born
in 1799; Freedom, born in 1801; Thankful, born in 1805; and Sybil, born
in 1809. The only one now living is Capt. Benajah, who received his title
from being captain of a militia company. He married Patience HARRIS, of
this town, February 1o, 1819, who bore him six children, all girls. Capt.
DUDLEY has been quite noted as a school teacher in this part of the State,
seeming to have possessed just the amount of government and executive ability
for the old-time school. He is now, at the age of ninetythree years, bright
in intellect and unusually robust for one of that great age.
Timothy ADKINS was born in Connecticut, July 5, 1793. In 1808 he
came to Guilford, Vt., and learned the hatter's trade of James FOSDICK,
and subsequently carried on the business in Chester, Vt., several years.
In 1818 he married Lucinda GRAVES, of Guilford, and located in West Brattleboro,
where he carried on the hatter's trade and kept a general store for a number
of years. Two of his family of four children, John F., and Diantha L. ARMS,
John THOMAS came from London, Eng., in 1792, and after a year's
residence in Boston, located in Brattleboro, upon the farm now owned by
his grandson, George H., on road 13. Here he carried on a brewery for a
time but died in 1805. His son George now resides on the old homestead.
Another son, Joshua, resides in Ohio.
Calvin SARGENT, son of Thomas, was born in this town, on road 11,
Nov. 9, 1763. He married Abigail MILLER, of Dummerston, and settled upon
the farm now owned by J. N. BALISTIER, on road 10, where he died in 1834.
Mrs. SARGENT died in 1849. Three of their nine children, Alfred, Olive
and Electa, now reside in the town, one, Nelson, resides in Denver, Col.,
and one, Mrs. Fanny MILLER, in Bangor, N. Y.
Ransom COVEY, was born at Acton, Vt., and came to Brattleboro about
1819, locating upon the farm now owned by his daughter, Almira L., wife
of M. R. ROBBINS, where he died, in 1867. Of his children now living, are
Almira L., above mentioned, Edson A., and Calista L., wife of Josiah PUTNAM,
of Annawan, Ill.
Jonathan DUNKLEE, with two brothers, Robert and Joseph, from Brimfield,
Conn., came to-Brattleboro among its earliest settlers. Jonathan settled
on road 4, upon the farm now owned by his great-grandson, Edward C., the
old homestead never having been owned out of the family. Jonathan started
for the battle of Bennington, but it was over before he got there. He married
Sarah Scott, and reared ten children. At one time, it is related, Mrs.
DUNKLEE, while on a horse-back journey to the western part of the town,
was chased by wolves, and only escaped by climbing into the branches of
a tree, when the horse made his way home and the family came to her rescue.
Solomon, son of Jonathan, was born on the old farm, in 1783. He married
Anna GOULD, reared four children, Clarissa, Edward C., Ruth and Martha,
and died January 7, 1865. Edward L. was born January 27, 1814, married
Abigail NEWTON, widow of Calvin GOULD, and reared two children.
Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN, from Winchester, Mass., made the first settlement
on the farm now owned by Charles WHITAKER, on road 1. He reared a family
of fourteen children. His son Cyrus was born here, reared nine children
and died in 1867, aged seventy-one years. Luke, another son, died here
in 1883, aged ninety years.
Abel CARPENTER was one of the earliest settlers in the western part
of the town. He came from Rhode Island in 1785 and located upon a farm
on road 19. He was twice married, reared twelve children, and died August
8, 1862. His son Humphrey carried on the old farm until his death, May
17, 1883, the house now standing thereon having been built by Abel in 1800.
Humphrey married Almira JOY and reared four children, two of whom, Andrew
D. and Ida, are now living on the old homestead with their mother. James
CARPENTER, a cousin of Abel, located on road 33 at an early date, upon
the farm now owned by Clark STARK. He reared a large family of children,
but the family removed to Ohio many years ago.
Joseph HAYWOOD, from Winchester, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1793,
and located on road 44, upon the farm now owned by G. W. WARD. He reared
eight children, and died in 1857, aged ninety years. Two of the children
are living, Sally, widow of B. F. HARRIS, born August 15, 1792, and Nancy,
wife of T. J. HOLLAND, of Townshend.
Samuel WARRINER, for many years a justice of the peace here, came
from Wilbraham, Mass., in 1774, and located on the old WARRINER homestead,
on road 46. He reared a family of ten children. Daniel, son of Samuel,
born on the old homestead in 1785, married Mary RICHARDSON, reared eight
children, and died in 1866. Since the latter's death his son Henry has
occupied the old farm. The house thereon was built by Samuel in 1800, it
having took seventy men to raise the frame, which is all made of hard wood.
Jabez WOOD, from Rehoboth, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1776, locating
on road 45, though he was offered the land where the East village now is
for twenty cents an acre. Only one of his ten children are living, Israel,
born August 24, 1801. He has reported the weather record for the Brattleboro
papers since 1838. Aaron, son of Jabez, was born on the old farm, now owned
by his son, John S., May 18, 1791, married Relief STODDARD, and died May
22, 1875. His wife died September 24, 1851.
Thomas AKLEY, a Revolutionary soldier, came to this town from Boston,
Mass., just after the close of the war, and made the first settlement on
the farm now owned by his grandson, Henry, on road 39, where he reared
fourteen children. Almon, son of Thomas, born on the old farm in 1790,
married Harriet FESSENDEN, for his first wife, by whom he had eight children,
and for his second wife, Mrs. Florinda CHURCH, who survives him, he having
died in 1879. His son Henry, born in 1830, and who now occupies the old
homestead, married Florinda E. CHURCH and has two children, Eugene H. and
Ida F. He is the present third selectman of the town.
John FIELD, a descendant of Zachariah FIELD who came to Dorchester,
Mass., in 1629 or '30, from England, was born in Amherst, Mass., May 18,
1740, and came to Brattleboro about 1785, locating upon the farm now owned
by O. L. MINER, the house he occupied being still in existence, on road
47. He married Rachel WELLS, reared six children, and died in 1819. His
son David, born in 1789, was a shoemaker and settled at West Brattleboro.
He married Pattie WOOD. Only one of his three children, Mary L., wife of
Hannibal HADLEY, of Brattleboro, is living. David died June 19, 1819.
Col. George W. HOOKER was born at Salem, N. Y., February 6, 1838,
and when three years of age came with his widowed mother to Londonderry,
Vt., where he remained until fifteen years of age, when he went to Bellows
Falls and entered the employ of Mr. FLINT as a traveling salesman, remaining
there until the opening of the war, in 1861. In August of that year he
entered the 4th Vt. Vols., as a private, and soon after was made a sargeant-major;
was 2d and 1st lieutenant in 1862, and then placed by order of Gen. FRANKLIN
on the staff of Gen. STOUGHTON, as A. D. S.; thence on the staff of Gen.
George J. STANNARD; was dangerously wounded at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864;
promoted by order of the secretary of war for gallant conduct, to assistant
adjutant of volunteers, and was commissioned captain by the president,
served thence as chief of staff of Gen. Charles DEVENS, and was breveted
major and lieutenant-colonel, for meritorious conduct in front of Richmond;
and was engaged in nearly all the battles in which the army of the Potomac
took part, being mustered out of service in January, 1866. Since the war
he has been actively engaged in manufacturing and banking interests at
Brattleboro, and also served on the staff of Governor PROCTOR in 1878-80;
was delegate at large in the Republican national convention at Chicago;
member of Republican national committee, also member of executive committee
and assistant secretary; member of Vermont legislature. 1880-82; department
commander of G. A. R., 1880-81, and of Boys in Blue, department of Vermont;
and was also unanimously elected judge advocate general of the State, by
the legislature in joint session. In 1882 he was elected sergeant-at-arms,
of the house of representatives, at Washington, for the 47th congress.
James FISK, son of Samuel, was born at Smithfield, R. I., and when
three years of age removed with his parents to Adams, Mass. Subsequently
he was engaged in a manufacturing business there until 1837, when he removed
to Bennington, remained one year, then came to Brattleboro and resided
here until his death, June 4, 1883. Mr. FISK also sold goods on the road
with his son James, twenty-four years, and was somewhat noted as an inventor.
He built the old Revere House in 1849, opened it as a temperence hotel
in 1850, but was obliged to give up the enterprise for want of patronage.
He married Leone, daughter of Stephen GREENLIEF, of Brattleboro, their
only living child being the wife of George W. HOOKER. Their son James was
noted as an extensive railroad and steamboat operator.
Stephen GREENLIEF was one of the early settlers of the town, coming
here from Boston, Mass., in 1868, or '69. He purchased a tract of about
800 acres of land, built a log house where the American House now stands,
which he used as a hotel and store, and resided here until his death, rearing
a large family of children. Stephen Jr., was born in Boston, in 1758, came
to Brattleboro with his father, and at the age of eighteen or nineteen
years he enlisted in the Revolutionary army and was at the Battle of Bennington.
He settled in West Brattleboro, and resided there until his death. Mrs.
Love FISK, who resides with her daughter, Mrs. George W. HOOKER, was his
second wife. Stephen, Jr., built the first saw and grist-mill in the place.
Nathan MILLER, son of William, was born in Dummerston in 1795, married
Philinda BUCK, and resided on the old homestead, carrying on the business
of farming, and harness making until 1832, when he came to Brattleboro
and carried on the harness business here until his death, December 19,
1871. By his first wife he had nine children, two of whom, Nathan W. and
Emma, are living, in this town. He married for his second wife Anna WORKS,
of Putney, by whom he had one child, Fred W., who now carries on the harness
William McCUNE (now spelled CUNE) came from Massachusetts at an
early date and located near the center of the town. He raised a company
and served in the Revolutionary war, and resided here until his death,
rearing a large family of children. His sons, Isaac, William and John,
settled in the town. John married Sally HARRIS and resided on the homestead
until his death. His son, William P., born July 16, 1807, married Mary
Ann GOODHUE and reared three children, William, Mary and Julia, none of
whom are now living. He has been a merchant here about forty years, and
is now president of the Vermont National Bank.
William Howard BEGELOW was born in Easton, Washington county, N.
Y., December 21, 1829. His father was a native of Hudson, N. Y., of which
town he was supervisor for many years, and was also a member of the New
York Legislature. William H. remained with his father until seventeen years
of age, attended school in the meantime, and graduated from WILLIAMS college,
Mass., in 1852. After his graduation he taught during the fall term in
the Brattleboro academy, and commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Willard
ARMS. The following winter, 1852-'53, he assisted the Rev. James TUFFTS
in Munroe academy, Mass., and after commencing the spring term was interrupted
in his work by an attack of hemorrhage of the lungs. Following the advice
of his medical attendants, he abandoned all literary and professional hopes
and sought an active out-door life in the West. For a time he was with
a corps of engineers, but finally located in Sioux City, Iowa, where he
organized the firm of BEGELOW & WHITE, commencing the real estate and
banking business, in 1856. In 1864 he went to Chicago, Ill., and became
a member of the firm of BEGELOW Bros., manufacturers and dealers in lumber.
In 1874 he came to West Brattleboro and located on the HAYES place, the
ancestral home of his wife, and where he died, August 12, 1882. Mr. BEGELOW
married Mary Ann HAYES, daughter of Dea. Russell HAYES, November 18, 1856,
a fruit of the union being two sons, Russell Anson, born June 2, 1859,
and William H., Jr., born July 22, 1861. Mrs. BEGELOW still occupied the
Levi GOODENOUGH came to Brattleboro from South Hadley, Mass., in
1774, and located upon the farm now owned by his grandson, a son of Dwight,
on road 41. He married Margaret FRAZIER, reared eleven children, only one
of whom, Alonzo, is living, and died in September, 1848, aged eighty-three
years. Winsor GOODENOUGH, son of Levi, born on the old homestead in December,
1800, married Elizabeth, daughter of Orrin PRATT, and reared three sons,
Dwight, J. P., and Simon, Winsor died in 1862. His widow, born December
4, 1803, resides on the old homestead. Alonzo, son of Levi, born July 31,
1808, married Relief PLUMMER and reared three children, all living, one,
Alonzo, having manufactured brick here for many years, making the first
brick used in the construction of the Vermont Insane Asylum buildings.
Samuel EARL, one of the early settlers in the western part of the
town, was born in Lancaster, Mass., July 30, 1765. His parents moved to
Guilford, Vt., soon after, while he came to Brattleboro in 1787, and bought
the farm now owned by Mellen C. GOODENOUGH. He married Sarah WILDER, in
1789, who was born in Guilford, Vt., March 23, 1768. They lived in a log
house until 1793, when he built a frame house, which is now standing, occupied
by the present owner. He lived and died on the old place where he first
settled, dying May 20, 1854. His wife died November 10, 1843. Of their
children Rachel died in infancy; Alpheus married and left town; Newhall
died in youth; Samuel, born April 19, 1796, remained on the home farm,
was an energetic man and knew how to make a success of farming. For several
years he owned the largest dairy in town. He was a man of sound judgment,
and often held offices of public trust. He married Lydia MARSH, who was
born in Plymouth, Vt., June 8, 1803, and died March 17, 1871. Samuel died
March 20, 1870. Rufus married and left town. Sarah was born December 27,
1800, and was married September 24, 1822, to Asa MARSH, who was born in
Plymouth, Vt. December 27, 1798. She lived, with the exception of a few
years, in town, and died here. Phoebe was born December 31, 1803, married
Otis LYNDE, and lived and died in town. Angelina married and left town.
Arad STOCKWELL, son of Perez, was born in Marlboro, Vt., May 18,
1773. He married Sally HARRIS, of Brattleboro, June 1, 1797, and a few
years after came to Brattleboro, locating upon what is now the town poor
farm, resided there until 1836, then moved to road 32, upon the farm now
owned by his daughter, Mrs. S. P. MILLER, where he died, February 1, 1856.
His widow, or "Aunt Sally," as she was familiarly called, died September
21, 1883, aged over 104 years, retaining her mental faculties until the
last. They reared seven children, five of whom are living, as follows:
Maria, widow of Alfred SIMONDS, Cynthia A., widow of W. H. GOULD, Sabrina,
widow of John B. MILLER, and Arad H., in Brattleboro; and Calista R., wife
of Lucius FOX, in Wilmington. Asaph, son of Perez STOCKWELL, was born in
Marlboro, married Lucy HARRIS, a sister of Sally, and settled in the western
part of this town. He reared a family of nine children, and died about
thirty years ago.
Royal GLADDEN, burn in England in 1769, came to Brattleboro in 1799,
and settled in the western part of the town. He married Martha ROBERTS
(his second wife), reared seven children, and died in 1847. His wife died
in 1832. Two of the children, Martha G., widow of Jacob DUNKLEE, Jr., and
Elizabeth, wife of Daniel ESTERBROOK, now reside here.
John, son of John WEATHERHEAD, was born in Guilford, July 16, 1808,
married Olive ROCKWELL, and a few years after his marriage came to Brattleboro,
where he has resided since, being an extensive dealer in live stock. He
has two children, Luke H., and Hiram F.
Asa WHEELER came to Brattleboro, from Warwick, Mass., in the spring
of 1849, and the following year commenced the manufacture of edged tools,
and the subsequently, in company with his son, G. B., added the manufacture
of skates. In 1860 his factory was carried away by a freshet, after which
he commenced the manufacture of counter sinks, which continued several
years. He died November 12, 1880, aged seventy-seven years. His son, G.
B., is now a Baptist clergyman of East Hardwick, Vt.
Ebenezer FISHER came to Brattleboro, from Massachusetts, when there
were but fourteen families in the town. He first located on road 28, then
removed to the farm just south of the same, the deed of which, now in the
possession of his grandson, Wilder E., bears the date April 9, 1770. Upon
this farm he resided until' his death, in 1831, aged ninety years. He reared
a family of fourteen children. Ebenezer, Jr., born here in 1777, resided
on the old farm and manufactured brick many years. He married Lucy FISHER
and reared ten children, and died September 1, 1836. Three of his children
are living -- Russell F., in Chester, Vt.; Sybil, widow of Ezra SHEPARD,
in Jamaica; and Elias W., residing at Centerville. He married Lectana WEATHERHEAD,
of Guilford, and reared two children, Adaline and Chester L.
Willard, son of Isaiah RICHARDSON, came here with his father, in
1797, when an infant. He subsequently settled upon the farm now owned by
Joseph H. PLUMMER, reared five children, and died in 1883.
Leonard BEMIS came to Brattleboro, from Weston, Mass., about 1825.
He reared a family of five children. Joseph, his brother, came two years
later and still resides here. He was born in 1803, married Debora GLEASON,
and has three children.
Isaiah RICHARDSON, a native of Petersham, Mass., came to this town
in 1800, locating on what is now the town farm. He had a family of two
sons, Isaiah and Willard, and five girls, Matilda, Margaret, Esther, Mary,
and Alvira. He died March 15, 1830. Isaiah, Jr., was eight years old when
he came to Brattleboro with his father, and has been a resident of the
town most of the time since, though he now resides in Massachusetts. He
married Betsey STEARNS, of Brattleboro, and reared seven sons and three
daughters. Only one of the children, William F., now resides in town.
Dea. Joshua WILDER came to Brattleboro, from Westminster, at an
early day, when there was but one house where the village now is. He located
upon the farm now occupied by his grandchildren, George A., James R., and
MARSHALL. He reared twelve children, and died March 21, 1828, aged ninety-four
years. Solomon, son of Joshua, married Lovina MILLER, of Dummerston, settled
on the old farm, and reared nine children. He died March 16, 1832. Four
of the children are now living, George A., MARSHALL and James R., on the
old homestead, and Deacon Joseph in Brattleboro.
Of the soldiers of 1776 who have lived in Brattleboro, were the
following: Oliver CHAPIN, Reuben CHURCH, Obadiah GILL, William HARRIS,
James DENNIS, Daniel HARRIS, Isaac PRATT, Oliver JONES, Ichabod KING, Daniel
STEARNS, David WELLS, Thomas AKELY, Samuel BENNET, Joel BOLSTER, William
BUTTERFIELD, John BEMIS, Jabez CLARK, Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN, Benajah DUDLEY,
Warren ESTERBROOKS, Salathiel HARRIS, Elihue HOTCHKISS, Income JONES, Bromer
JENKS, Joseph JOY, Elias JONES, Israel JONES, Thaddeus MILLER, John KELSEY,
Hezekiah SALISBURY, Levi SHUMWAY, Sylvanus SARTWELL, Reuben STEARNS, Thomas
SIMPSON, Nathaniel SAMPSON, Samuel WILLINGTON, Lemuel THOMPSON, William
KING, Cushing KING, Royal TYLER, and John ALEXANDER.
During the late civil war the town furnished men as follows: Of
officers, forty; of privates, second Vermont regiment, fifty-five; third,
twenty; fourth, thirty-seven; fifth, two; sixth, three; seventh, three;
eighth, twenty-three; ninth, eighteen; tenth, one; eleventh, eleven; twelfth,
two; sixteenth, forty-three; seventeenth, two; sharp-shooters, eight; first
cavalry, twenty-five; U. S. Colored Vols., three; twelfth LT. S. infantry,
two; navy, ten; other State organizations, seven; and of substitutes, fifty-five,
making a total of 370 men.
The First Congregational church. located at West Brattleboro.-The
first religious worship ever held in the town was probably at Fort Dummer;
where Rev. Ebenezer HINSDALE was chaplain from 1728 to 1742; and again
in 1748, Andrew GARDNER is mentioned as chaplain of a company at the same
place. The first religious service ever held in the county, however, was
probably the service held by Rev. John WILLIAMS, one of the Indian captives
from Deerfield, at the mouth of William's river, in Rockingham, in 1704.
In 1770, Rev. Abner REEVE, from HADLEY, was appointed the first settled
minister of the town, and during that year the Congregational church of
West Brattleboro was organized. Mr. REEVE was of the order called the N.
E. Calvinistic Congregational, a graduate of Yale college, and father of
judge Tapping REEVE, who founded the celebrated law school at Litchfield,
Conn., and who was principal of that institution as late as 1816, Mr. REEVE
continued his labors with the society until 1794, and died in 1798, as
the headstone at his grave, near where stood the old meeting-house in which
he officiated, testifies, in the following inscription:
THE 16TH, 1798,
91 YEAR OF HIS AGE.
About the time Mr. REEVE was sinking under the infirmities of age,
Rev. William WELLS settled in town. He was a native of Biggleswade, in
England, and had been for twenty-three years a dissenting minister at Brownsgrove,
in Worcestershire, Eng. He was at once invited to take the spiritual charge
of the church and society, and entered upon his work in March, 1794. In
March, 1814, Mr. WELLS gave up his charge, the care of the whole town being
too much for his advanced years and infirm health. He was succeeded by
Rev. Caleb BURGE, who officiated from 1814 to 1819. Rev. Jedediah L. STARK
officiated from 1821 to 1839; Rev. Corbin KIDDER from 1839 to 1845; Rev.
Joseph CHANDLER from 1845 to 1870, the present pastor being Rev. C. H.
MERRILL. Of the early church, the Rev. Lewis GROUT, of West Brattleboro,
in an historical discourse delivered December 31, 1876, speaks as follows:
In 1785 a large, convenient church building was erected, which was
destroyed by fire February 2, 1845. The present building was soon after
commenced. It is a wood structure, capable of seating 350 persons, and
is said to have cost $2,750.00, though it is now valued, including grounds,
at $7,500.00. The society now has 190 members.
these points of interest maybe reckoned a few facts and traditions respecting
the first meeting-house. The house stood about eight rods west of the old
cemetery, half a mile northward of the Harris hill, three or four rods
northward from the present Smith MILLER line, or about ten rods westward
from the Rev. Abner REEVE's grave. The spot is marked by a small hollow
or basin, as if there were a cellar under the building; and on the westerly
border of the basin is a good sized boulder, as if this stone might have
been, at one time, a part of the foundation. The house was gambrel-roofed,
and it is said to have been built by the town; but as to the exact time
we have no certain record. "Thompson's Gazetteer" says it was small, and
built in 1772. In the historical address given by Charles K. FIELD, Esq.,
at the Brattleboro centennial celebration, on the 4th of July last, the
orator spoke of it as reputed to have been built of logs, like a block-house,
in 1770. In the record of the annual meeting of the town in March, 1771,
it is said that John HOUGHTON was chosen surveyor of the road from the
Wind-falls to the meeting-house, which is proof that there was such a house
at that time; and the records of the town speak of a meeting of the town
as held there in April, 1772. Quite likely there may have been a block-house
of logs, used for a time at least, for public worship, until another, which
seems to have been a regular framed house, could be built. But whether
the really first place of worship, built and used in this town, was made
of logs, or not, I think there can hardly be a doubt that what is generally
called the first meeting-house was a framed building, and that it was erected
as early as the year 1771 or 1772. It will be remembered that when steps
were taken for the building of a new house, near the site of the one we
now occupy, the town authorized the selling of the old one to Mr. Israel
SMITH; and some of the older inhabitants of our day tell us it was taken
down and moved about a mile to the northward, to the HAPGOOD or KITTREDGE
place, this side of the DUNKLEE homestead, there set up and occupied for
some years as a dwelling house, and finally consumed by fire. It is also
said that the porch of it was brought down and used for some years by Samuel
ELLIOT, Esq., as a lawyer's office, and that this part of it is still extant
in the first or ground story of the house at the east end of this village,
just the other side of the covered bridge, and now owned by Mrs. STREETER."
The Center Congregational church, located on Main street, East village.
-- Sometime previous to the resignation of Rev. Mr. WELLS, the East village
had commenced a rapid, thriving growth. Mr. WELLS, whose residence was
nearby, had been in the habit of officiating two or three times a month
at the East village, in the old school-house, then standing on the village
common. The room proving too small for the meetings, however, a proposition
was made that a house of worship should be erected, in which services should
be held a part of the time, without dividing the parish; but this plan
did not meet with general favor in the town, so it was determined to form
a new society, erect a church building, and invite Mr. WELLS to be their
Accordingly fourteen members withdrew from the church at West Brattleboro,
and July 15, 18 16, the new church was organized, with Rev, William WELLS
as pastor, and John HOLBROOK as deacon.
Grindall R. ELLIS, Esq., deeded to the society the land now known
as the village common, on condition that the new edifice be located there.
The society acted in conformity with these conditions, and the new edifice
was dedicated August 22, 1816. Rev. Samuel WILLARD, of Deerfield, offering
the dedicatory prayer, and Rev. Mr. Samuel PRATT, of Westmoreland, the
concluding prayer. In 1842, the society finding their church building very
much out of repair, and situated too far north for the convenience of a
large portion of the congregation, concluded to remove it to Main street,
and enlarge the building. This was accordingly done, the building being
removed to the site it now occupies, upon laud deeded by the heirs of Francis
GOODHUE, Esq., for the purpose. By this act they forfeited the right to
the lands they had previously occupied. The new building was dedicated
January 11, 1843, the dedicatory sermon being preached by Rev. Z. S. BARSTOW,
D. D., of Keene, N. H., and the dedicatory prayer offered by Rev. Amos
FOSTER, of Putney. The building will comfortably seat 600 persons, and
is valued, including grounds, at $25,000.00. During the short ministry
of Mr. WELLS, the society was increased by the addition of seventy-eight
members, and it now has 281 members. Mr. WELLS officiated as pastor only
three years, thus closing his long ministry of sixty years. He died at
his home, in December, 1827, aged eighty-three years. His successors have
been Rev. Jonathan McGEE, from January 13, 1819, to September 10, 1834;
Rev. Charles WALKER, from January 1, 1835, to February 11, 1846; Rev. A.
H. CLAPP, from October 14, 1846, to November 15, 1853; Rev. George P. TYLER,
from November 16, 1853, to 1866; Rev. N. MIGHILL, from October, 1867, to
1875; Rev. George L. WALKER, to January 1, 1878; Rev. George E. MARTIN,
July 1, 1878; Rev. S. A. MARTIN, July 9, 1879, and was dismissed September
6, 1883. The present pastor is Rev. Samuel H. LEE.
The Brattleboro Unitarian Congregational Society, located on Main
street. -- After the death of Rev. Mr. WILLIAMS, a large number of the
members of the Congregational society, then under the charge of Rev. Jonathan
McGEE, became dissatisfied with him as their pastor on account of certain
doctrines which he preached, and because he refused to exchange pulpit
services with several clergymen with whom Rev. Mr. WELLS had been accustomed
to hold ministerial exchange. They finally withdrew from that society and
formed a new society, known by the name of the "Brattleboro Unitarian Congregational
Society." The organization of this society was effected in 1831, and a
house of worship was erected on Main street during that year and finished
early the next year. It was dedicated February 22, 1832. Rev. George W.
HOSMER, of Northfield, Mass., preaching the sermon. On the same day Rev.
Nathaniel THAYER, D. D., of Lancaster, Mass., and other clergymen being
present, the following persons, Eben WELLS, Mary WELLS, Samuel A. ALLEN,
Maria ALLEN, Lemuel WHITNEY, Sophia WHITNEY, S. D. CHAPIN, Eliza HYDE,
and Eunice METCALF, united themselves into a Christian church, adopting
and subscribing the same covenant which had been used under the ministry
of Dr. WELLS, and which was at that time still in use in the Congregational
church, under the charge of Mr. McGEE. The church was enlarged from time
to time by the addition of other members. On the Sunday succeeding the
dedication of the church, Mr. Addison BROWN, who had been preaching several
months at Troy, N. Y., where he had organized a society, on invitation
of the prudential committee of the society, commenced supplying the pulpit
as a candidate, and after preaching about three months he received an invitation
to settle as pastor of the church and accepted the same, his engagement
at first being for three years. At the expiration of that time he renewed
his engagement to supply the pulpit for five years, and after the expiration
of that time his engagement was made annually during the remainder of his
pastorate, which terminated near the close of 1845, he having preached
for the society for nearly fourteen years in succession, with the exception
of a few months' interruption on account of sickness. Since the close of
his ministry to the society they have been supplied by a great number and
variety of preachers, some for a brief period, others for a longer time.
Those who have supplied the pulpit for the longest periods are Rev. G.
G. INGERSOLL, D. D., now deceased, who preached for the society at several
times; Rev. Farrington McINTIRE, who was ordained as pastor of the society,
April 7, 1847, and closed his ministry at the end of that year; Rev. John
L. RUSSELL, who continued with the society several months; Rev. Mellish
I. MOTTE, Rev. Solon W. BUSH, and Rev. Francis C. WILLIAMS, each of whose
ministry was three years or more; Rev. F. FROTHINGHAM, who was the society's
pastor for over two years, and Rev. H. N. RICHARDSON, who supplied the
desk for a little more than half a year. The present pastor is Rev. S.
M. CROTHERS. The stone church erected by this society in 1874-'75, surpasses
in durability and as a fine specimen of church architecture, anything of
the kind in this place. It will comfortably seat 350 persons, and is valued,
including grounds, at $50,000.00, its original cost being $40,000.00.
St. Michael's Episcopal church, located on Main street.-Regular
Episcopal services began to be held in Brattleboro, at "Dicksinson's Hall,"
in 1836, when a society was formed, under the name of St. Peter's, with
some hopes of permanency, Rev. Charles DEVENS, a talented, promising young
man acting as rector. Hon. John PHELPS and family, prominent actors in
commencing this enterprise, moved to Maryland soon after its organization,
thus withdrawing an influence that the infant society could ill afford
to lose. After about two years services were held only occasionally, and
then usually conducted at some place hired for the purpose, by the rector,
three miles distant, at East Guilford. In 1852 accessions to the population
of believers in this faith began to increase. In 1853 the society was re-organized,
under its present name, services being at first conducted by Rev. G. C.
EASTMAN, in a lower room of the town hall. Rev. Mr. EASTMAN resigned his
charge April 15, 1854. Rev. William SOUTHGATE officiated from 1857 to April,
1860. Rev. A. P. MORRIS was invited to accept the rectorship October 10,
1860. Rev. Edmund ROWLAND occupied the desk in the summer previous to the
advent of Mr. MORRIS. Rev. A. P. MORRIS was from Hamilton, C. W., and was
rector of this church during most of the time of the late war of the rebellion.
October 14, 1864, Rev. G. W. PORTER was invited to become rector of the
parish. He accepted, and resigned after about two years' service. Rev.
Francis W. SMITH accepted an invitation to fill the vacancy, April 3, 1867,
and resigned December 30, 1868. March 19, 1869, Rev. Mr. HARRIS accepted
an invitation of the parish to become its rector, and since November, 1874,
Rev. William H. COLLINS has held the position. The church building, a frame
and brick structure, was built in 1854, since which time, however, it has
received many repairs and much improvement, so that it is now valued, including
grounds, etc., at $8,000.00, and will seat 250 persons. In 1867 the society
purchased a rectory, situated on Greene street, at an expense of $2,500.00.
In 1871 they sold this rectory and purchased a lot on Tyler street, upon
which, during the same year, a new rectory was built, costing about $6,000.00.
The society now has 122 communicants.
The Methodist Episcopal church, located at Brattleboro. -- Regular
Methodist services date from the advent of Cyrus DAVIS, who came to this
village about 1833, to superintend the printing department of the publishing
house of Messrs. Holbrook & Co. When we were first made aware of Methodist
preaching in the East village was in 1834, and Mr. DAVIS, a firm advocate
and class leader of the order, was quite prominent in commencing and sustaining
these services, which were first held in a small district school-house
on Canal street. Between 1835 and '37 the society erected their first house
of worship. This building was placed near the school-house they at first
occupied on Canal street. Rev. William BREWSTER was the pastor of this
church in 1837, and by his excellent character, eloquence and energy, considerable
advance was made in building up the society. His worthy successor, Elder
HARDING, was also a talented and effective preacher; but the organization
was not fortunate in members who were able or willing to clear off the
mortgage upon their church, and the advent of the Baptist church, born
under its roof in 1840, seemed to exhaust the little vitality remaining
in the society. The meeting-house passed out of their possession into the
hands of "Millerites," so-called, in 1842. The Universalist society next
obtained possession of this house and occupied it for their denominational
purposes until their present house of worship was built, in 1850 and '51.
The old house was then sold to Mr. W. ALEXANDER, who made such alterations
as fitted it for a private residence.
The Methodist society was, for a time, a thing of the past; but
within seven years after their trials with the Millerites, etc., it was
made evident that some of the "old leaven, hid in three measures of meal,"
yet remained. The society began to improve in both numbers and interest,
so that it now has 250 members, with Rev. A. B. TRUAX, pastor. Their neat
brick church, erected in 1880, will comfortably seat 400 persons, and is
valued, including grounds, at $18,000.00.
The First Baptist church, located on Main street. -- Some of the
earliest settlers were Baptists, and there was Baptist preaching in the
town at a very early date. In 1770 an aged Baptist minister by the name
of WHIPPLE removed here from Groton, Conn., where he had been connected
with the ancient Baptist church of that town, which was formed in 1705.
He resided "over West river," and occasionally held meetings in his own
house, though he more frequently preached in Guilford and Halifax. The
meetings in his house were probably the first Baptist meetings held in
town, and were among the earliest religious meetings held in this vicinity.
Rev. Mr. REEVE, of the Congregational church, preached only a part of the
time here, during the first three years of his ministry, alternating between
Brattleboro and Guilford. So Rev. Mr. WHIPPLE divided his ministerial labors
between Brattleboro, Guilford and Halifax. It is supposed that he died
here, and that his grave is in the burying-ground near the school-house,
in the West river district.
In April, 1772, Dea. Jonathan PIERCE removed to Brattleboro from
Norwich, Conn., he and his wife having been members of the church in connection
with Rev. Mr. WHIPPLE. His daughter, Esther, was probably the first person
ever baptized in the town. The- ordinance was administered by Rev. Ebenezer
BAILEY, of Westmoreland, N. H., who was pastor of a large and respectable
Baptist church there from 1773 to 1803. This first baptism was in the Connecticut
river, near the village, which then consisted of only two or three houses.
Subsequently, Rev. Mr. BAILEY baptized several others in the West river
neighborhood, while he and Rev. Beriah WILLIS, and Rev. Richard WILLIAMS,
of Guilford, occasionally preached. There was also Baptist preaching from
time to time at the house of Dea. PIERCE, a few rods south of the cemetery,
where he lived and died. His grave is a little further south, where some
solitary gravestones may still be seen in the open field. Some of his descendants
were among the first to unite in forming this church, holding fast to the
faith of their venerable ancestor.
Previous to 1833 nothing was done towards the organization of the
scattered Baptists in town, a considerable number of whom resided in this
village and vicinity. In that year Rev. Joseph M. GRAVES, then agent of
the Vermont Baptist convention, spent some time in visiting them, and gathered
them into a company for maintaining religious meetings. Twelve persons
gave their names and entered into engagements for this purpose, and a few
others were subsequently added to the number thus pledged. They were supplied
by Mr. GRAVES and neighboring ministers, who preached in the school-house
on the common.
In March, 1840, Rev. Emerson ANDREWS, an evangelist, engaged the
Methodist chapel and commenced a series of meetings, which resulted, April
2, 1840, in the organization of the present church. The opening prayer
was offered by Rev. D. M. CRANE, of North Springfield, the records being
made by Jacob ESTEY, as clerk. Twenty-one names were subscribed to the
agreement, and on the two following days, April 3d and 4th, at regular
meetings, twelve persons were received for baptism, after due examination,
and on the day following ten were baptized. On April 24th Rev. Joseph FREEMAN
was chosen pastor. The first church building was erected on ELLIOT street,
and completed in the autumn and winter of 1840-'41, and was dedicated the
following spring. The present handsome brick structure, located on Main
street, was built in 1867. It will seat 600 persons, and is valued, including
grounds, at $50,000.00. The society now has 525 members, with Rev. F. E.
The First Universalist church, located on Canal street.-Universalist
meetings were held in Wheeler's Hall as early as 1835, by Rev. Charles
Woodhouse; but it was not till May 24, 1843, that the present society was
organized. Among the original members were Dr. Reuben SPAULDING, A. J.
HINES, J. H. ESTERBROOK, W. H. ESTERBROOK, Alford SIMONDS, O. J. MARTIN,
Orin STARKEY, Luther WELD, Harvey HOUGHTON, John B. MILLER, and Sewall
MORSE. The first meeting house owned by the society was located on the
corner of Canal and CLARK streets, and was purchased by the Millerites
in May, 1843. It was built and occupied for many years by the Methodists.
The first settled pastor of the society was Rev. L. J. FLETCHER, who began
his ministry in the early part of 1844. He was succeeded in July, 1846,
by Rev. John. H. WILLIS, who remained here only one year. Rev. C. R. MOOR
assumed the pastorate of the society early in 1848, and closed his connection
with it in February, 1852.
The present Universalist church was built during his settlement
here and will now seat 450 persons, and is valued, including grounds, etc.,
at $5,000.00. It was erected in 1850, and dedicated in February, 1851.
Rev. H. P. CUTTING was settled over the society in May, 1852, and remained
one year. He was followed, June, 1853, by Rev. Geo. H. DEERE, whose pastorate
extended through seven years. During his ministry the church was repainted,
in 1857, and through his exertions $500.00 was raised in 1858, for Tufts
college. Rev. E. SMILEY began his labors with the society the first of
January, 1861, and closed them with the same year. He was succeeded early
in 1862 by Rev. W. T. STOWE, whose pastorate extended to July, 1864. Rev.
M. R. LEONARD supplied the desk through the winter of 1864-'65. Rev. James
EASTWOOD was called to the pastorate September 15, 1865, and resigned Jan.
3, 1870. Rev. M. H. HARRIS was settled July 1, 1870. During the years of
Mr. HARRIS's pastorate, the parish grew to be among the largest and strongest
in the village, and the largest Universalist parish in the State, having
at the present time 200 members. In 1871 the church edifice was enlarged
and remodeled. The society is now under the pastoral charge of Rev. Elbert
W. WHITNEY, who was settled January 1, 1880.
St. Michael's Roman Catholic church, located on Walnut street. --
The number of Catholic families in this town must have been about fifty
when the diocese of Burlington was separated from that of Boston. Rev.
Z. DRUON, (now of St. Albans), in 1844, bought an old paint or carpenter
shop on Elliot street, and fitted it up for a church. Rev. Charles O'REILLY
was given charge of the mission in 1855, and after a few years came to
live in the village. He succeeded in building the present neat and substantial
church edifice of St. Michael, in 1863-'64. In 1869, he was succeeded by
Rev. Charles HALPIN. Rev. N. St. ONGE had charge of Brattleboro after Rev.
Father HALPIN. To Rev. Henry LANE was due the erection of a Catholic school-house,
in 1874, the establishment of-the house of the Sisters of St. Joseph, for
teaching the children, the purchase of a parsonage, and ornamenting the
church edifice. The church now has about 600 communicants, under the pastoral
charge of Rev. P. CUNNINGHAM.
The West Brattleboro Baptist church was organized in 1874, as a
mission of the Baptist church of Brattleboro, Rev. E. A. VOTEY being the
first pastor. The old Universalist brick church, built in 1834, was purchased
and repaired, which is now capable of seating 200 persons, and is valued
at $7,200.00. The society has seventy-four members, with Rev. Charles R.
and Business Directory of
County, Vt., 1724-1884.
and Published By Hamilton Child,
At The Journal Office, Syracuse, N. Y., July, 1884.