Search billions of records on



Membership | Meetings | Officers | Activities | Centennial | Our Patriots | Library | WSSDAR | NSDAR

It was on May 12, 1912, that twenty-one women of the Bellingham area, who were eligible for membership in the DAR, met in the Progressive, Literary Fraternal (P.L.F.) Club house at Garden and Holly Streets with Mrs. S. A. Gove, then State Regent, and formed the Chief Whatcom Chapter. The chapter was granted its National charter on October 20, 1912, not very many years after Bellingham itself was incorporated.

Galen Biery Collection, Whatcom Museum

Progressive, Literary Fraternal Clubhouse. Then known as Garden Hall, the P.L.F. was the first women's clubhouse in Washington State. This is where Chief Whatcom Chapter began. The Clubhouse was sold in 1914 and became known as Tabernacle Hall. On May 12th, 2012 a luncheon was held at the Bellingham Country Club to commemorate the first luncheon held 100 years before. Chief Whatcom Chapter's Centennial celebration year began on a perfect Spring day with good food, laughter and dedication to the spirit of the founding mothers and looking forward to the next century of the chapter.

--Northwestern Digital Archives

The Luncheon décor

The Memorabilia

The Event

The Charter Members who met to form the Chapter.

Mrs. Edna Roth Abbot

Mrs. Mae Birney

Mrs. Alice M. Biggs

Miss Statira Biggs

Mrs. Elizabeth Christie

Mrs. Dora Cryderman

Miss Catherine Baker

Mrs. J.M. Darling

Mrs. Annie L. Ebey

Mrs. Ella Goodhart

Mrs. Phoebe Judson

Miss Delia Keeler

Mrs. George Kellogg

Mrs. J.A. Love

Miss Florence Martin

Mrs. A.E. Mead

Miss Aryeness Roeder

Miss Henrietta Robinson

Mrs. Lottie T. Roth

Mrs Margarite Gage Roth

Mrs Effie B. Roeder

Mrs. Elizabeth Lea Wells.

Roth, Lottie Roeder. History of Whatcom County. II. Chicago: Pioneer Historical Publishing Co, 1926. 688-89. Print.

Membership | Meetings | Officers | Activities | Centennial | Our Patriots | Library | WSSDAR | NSDAR


Site last updated on 15 June 2012

Webmaster: Artemis O.
Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.