Search billions of records on

Oconto County WIGenWeb Project
Collected and posted by Oconto County WIGenWeb Project
Collected and posted by RITA
This site is exclusively for the free access of individual researchers.
* No profit may be made by any person, business or organization through publication, reproduction, presentation or links
to this site.

  South Morgan School
2803 County Road C
Town of Morgan

Towns of Morgan and Abram
Oconto County, Wisconsin

Photo contributed by:
Jill Gondek  

This is the 28th in a series of articles sponsored by the Oconto County Teacher's Association to promote better public relations in the schools of our county.

Article contributed by:

Larry Grady

(transcribed from the 1953 news article below)
Lightning, Fire Sped Changes In Morgan and Brookside Schools


The South Morgan School Dt. Dist. No. 7, located about one mile north of Sampson on County Trunk C, is a joint district made up of the towns of Morgan and Abrams.

This district was organized about 1903. Up until this time they had been attending school at Morgan, but due to the crowded conditions changes had to be made. According to information from some earlier settlers, Hiram Gilcrece donated one acre of land for the schoolground. The first school board composed of Levi Cleveland. Frank Havlik, Sr.. and Charles Benning together with the residents of the district erected the first wooden structure.

The interior furnishings were typical of all the first schools, namely, few textbooks and maps, an old fashioned stove that would be either too hot or too cold, the kerosene lamp, and few if any library books.

Some of the first teachers were Mary Volk, Nellie Couillard and Nellie Brewer, who taught for about $35 a month.

Due to the increasing enrollment. which reached 57 to 60 at times, an addition was made to the original structure in 1919. The tuition for non-resident students was one dollar, but in 1923 it was voted not to accept any more tuition pupils due to the enlarging enrollment. They also voted at this meeting to "bank the school" in the fall to help keep the building warm (putting soil and/or straw up against the foundation for insulation in winter).

A well was drilled in 1924 which eliminated the carrying of water from Hugo Delzer's, a nearby neighbor. In 1829-30 a metal roof replaced the worn shingle roof and a fence was erected to maintain the sides of the school yard. About 1937 the old woodshed was razed and a concrete one replaced it. A stall was included to "house" the teacher's car, which was greatly appreciated by all the future teachers.

In l941 the school ground was leveled and seeded and in 1943 electric lights were installed.

In the spring of 1948, the school was struck by lightning, luckily on a Sunday while classes weren't in session, and as a result the interior walls were covered with wallboard, which greatly improved its appearance. In the fall an oil burner was installed and other improvements added since that time are: a radio which brings us many good school programs, some new desks, table and chairs, an electric clock, new shades, balls for the playground, a film strip projector, "and a fine new screen.

Only one child in the school has to be transported, but during the winter and on any other inclement days fathers and mothers of all the children, anxious to keep them healthy and comfortable, transport their children themselves. The rest of the year they ride to school on bicycles. The present enrollment is 18.

Some of the former teachers were Agatha Leonard, Estelle Peot, Irene Ama, Marie McDermid, Theresa Steffeck, Harvey Wetzel, Ruby Kingston, Lyllas Gilligan, Mildred Beissell, Edith Drews, Arnita Schroeder and Ruth Fuller.

In 1944, the Flowing Springs School Dt. 7, towns of Chase and Abrams. located about 1 3/4 miles east of Sampson on County Trunk D, was annexed to the South Morgan District. This school was built about 1916, when the need for a school in the vicinity was felt. The first board members were Walter Stazsek, clerk; John Oljeski, director; Mr. Rowell, treasurer. The first teacher was Miss Elsie Werry and she taught a nine month term for $40 a month.

Some of the improvements made in this school are: an oil burner, a radio, an electric clock, a movie screen, and a strip projector used with the other school, which was acquired with the money raised at a dance sponsored by the teachers and the school board.

The present school board members are Mrs. Oscar Belongia, clerk; Mrs. Norman Birr, treasurer; and Mrs. Neil Rymer, director. The teachers are Mrs. Myrtle Volk and Mrs. Laura Berken.