HICKORY (now Hickory Corners on Highway M)
Hickory was the home of the local Irish legend, Pat Kelly , who came from Ireland in 1855. He became a Justice of the Peace and was known for his unique and homespun interpretation of the law. Kelly Lake and Kelly Brook are named after him.
Joe McMahon, George Trecartin and Lorenzo Lord soon followed. Mr. Trecartin, who was postmaster, submitted the name "Hickory Hill" for the place that his home stood, but this was shortened by the postal service to "Hickory". 1870-1871 saw Tom Trecartin, Tom Smith, Tom McMahan, Joe Galand, and Al Johnson build in the settlement. They were followed in 1876 by Sarius Martins, the Cooley, Way, Post, Christensen, McKenny, Mills, Sanders, Clapp, Mathewson, Hanson, Tharios and Sylvester families. Soon there was the Mills brother's mill, L S Lord's store, Burt Butler's Hardware, and P. Bauchberger's blacksmith shop.
After the initial logging, farming and stock-raising became the principal community livelihood. L.S. Lord started the first school in the new 1871 schoolhouse without any pay. Later that year, the school district was formed and Miss Hawthorne was the first hired teacher. Church services were held in the schoolhouse by minister Calvin Sanford until 1894 when the Methodist and Christian churches were built. Information provided by Belle McMahon.