RUSH S. ADAMS, of the firm of Miller & Co., boot and shoe dealers; was
born Nov. 18, 1854, in Paris, Kenosha Co., Wis.; was an employe of Mr.
Miller from 1871 until 1875, when he was admitted as a partner. Married
Miss Susan W. Sage May 31, 1876. They have two children - Sydney D., born
Oct. 10, 1877, and Arthur B., born Dec. 10, 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Adams are
members of the Congregational Church.
LEVI K. ALDEN, editor and proprietor of the Racine Daily News; was born in
Albany, N. Y., in August, 1842; moved to Janesville, Wis., in the fall of
1846; learned the printer's trade in the Janesville Gazette office; was through
the war of the rebellion; mustered out at Brownsville Tex.; published the Banner
at Brenham, Tex., for eight months in 1868-69; moved to Racine in 1874; bought
out the Son of Temperance Jan. 1, 1878, and was proprietor of the paper one year;
started the Daily Herald Dec. 16, 1878, and April 25, 1879, changed the name to
the Racine Daily News.
DR. ARTHUR H. AMOS, dentist; is a native of England, and came to Racine in
1848; though absent a good deal of the time, this county has been his home mostly
since then. During the war he enlisted in Co. A, First Battalion Yates' Sharpshooters;
served a little less than a year, and was discharged on account of sickness; in 1864,
he re-enlisted in Co. K, First Wisconsin Heavy Artillery, and was discharged in 1865.
He has been engaged in the practice of his profession since 1866. He married Julia M.,
daughter of Capt. McCumber, of Burlington, Wis., in December, 1870; she is a native of
Racine Co.; they have had three children, two living, - Frank Porter and Horace
Churchill. Mr. and Mrs. Amos are members of the Episcopal Church.
W. H. AMOS; born in London Eng., in 1840; came to Racine in 1866; was book-keeper
at Racine College five years, and now holds the position of Curator and book-keeper,
a position of much responsibility. Married Mary A. Hall, daughter of S. L. Hall,
a prominent lawyer; have had three children.
SAMUEL R. ARMSTRONG; born in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1854; came to Racine in 1856;
occupation, painter. Married June 29, 1876, Miss Jennie Hanson, of Racine; her
father was Alderman for four terms with satisfaction to the community. Mr. Armstrong
has two children - one boy and a girl. His wife is a member of the Episcopal Church;
he is a member of the Baptist Church.
ROBERT H. BAKER, of the firm of J. I. Case & Co., was born in Geneva, Walworth Co.,
on the 27th of June, 1839, and is the son of Charles M. and Martha L. Baker.
After the usual preliminary instruction in public schools, he pursued a academic
course at Beloit, and in March, 1856, first engaged in business on his own account;
he entered a hardware store at Racine as clerk, where he remained two and a half
years, and at the end of that time spent one year in the employ of Thomas Falsey,
reaper manufacturer; in 1860, he became general agent and collector for J. I. Case
& Co., which position be retained until January, 1863, when he purchased a
one-fourth interest in the business, which he still holds, taking a most
active part in the management of the concern; he has held many positions
of honor and public trust; he was elected School Commissioner in 1867,
Alderman of his ward in 1868, and re-elected in 1871; in 1872, he was elected
to the State Senate, and, in 1873, was the Republican candidate for Lieutenant
Governor; in 1874, he became Mayor of Racine, and, in November of the same
year, was re-elected to the State Senate; is now President of the Racine
County Agricultural Society; he is a Director of the Racine Silver Plate
Manufacturing Company, a Director of the Manufacturers' National Bank of Racine,
also of the National Iron Company of De Pere, Wis., and Director in several
other manufacturing institutions, and President of the Hampton Coal Mining Company,
and Director in several other manufacturing institutions. Mr. Baker was
married on the 20th of December, 1859, to Miss Emily M. Carswell, by whom he has
one daughter and four sons.
LEWIS L. BALDWIN, born in Litchfield, Conn., in December, 1814; moved to Northeast, Eric Co.,
Penn., in 1815, thence to Racine Co., Wis., in the spring of 1847; engaged in business as a
farmer, until about 1869. Married Miss Rosanna Butt, of Northeast, Penn. have one child,
Dwight H., born Jan. 15, 1840, who died in March, 1844. Mr. Baldwin has held the following
offices in the most efficient manner; Chairman of Board of Supervisors of Racine; was
elected to represent his constituency in the Legislature for 1860.
VOLNEY BASINGER, liveryman, is a native of Rodman, Jefferson Co., Wis.; he came to Racine
County in the fall of 1843, and located at Kenosha, where he lived a year; from there he
went to various places, finally settling in Racine, in 1851; his business has been
farming and dealing in horses; he was wagon-master of the 4th Wis. Regt. V. I. during
the late war.
SAMUEL NIXON BASYE, retired farmer; was born in Louisville, Ky., April 14, 1812;
when about three years of age his parents moved to Indiana, and his father, in 1821, built
the first house in Indianapolis after the town was platted; later, in October, 1828,
the family removed to La Fayette, and, on the 6th of April, 1835, Samuel N. came to Racine
county, and located on the northwest, quarter of Section 18, Township 3, Range 23 east; he
pre-empted, in 1838. Mr. Basye declined offers of political preferment, though he at one
time acted as town treasurer; he was the man who notified the Western Emigration Company
of the desirability of Pike River, now Kenosha, as a site for a town. He was married
July 5, 1835, to Jane Barkley, who was born in Harrison county, near Cincinnati; she died
May 23, 1871; they had eight children, five of whom are living- Marian, (now Mrs.
Jesse L. Berch, of Centreville, Ia.,) Henry C., Josephine Ellen, Edward E. and Charley V.
JAMES A. BEAUGRAND, City Assessor and Deputy County Clerk, came to Racine in 1846; for four
years he was mate of a vessel on Lake Michigan, and for two years Deputy County
Collector, and was then employed by A. G. Knight in abstract-making, which he followed
for ten years; in 1861 and 1862 was Assistant Paymaster in this department; in the spring
of 1863 he was elected City Clerk, which office he held for ten years; he has been
in the office of the county clerk since 1875. He married Harriett E. Morey, in
November, 1847; she was born in Norristown, St. Lawrence Co., N.Y. they have five children-
John I., Josie E., Clara C., Eugene P. and Charles F. Mr. and Mrs. Beaugrand are members
of the Baptist Church.
JOHN BECK, wholesale manufacturer of boots and shoes, No. 156 Main street, was born in
Bavaria, July 4, 1827; came to Milwaukee, Wis., in 1849, to Racine April 15, 1850; started
a small establishment for himself; in 1865 he went into partnership with Mr. Leighton;
in a short time dissolved partnership and went into business for himself. Married
Miss Susan M. Burbeck, in 1854; they have six children living- Mary C., John G., Emeline L.,
Wm. H., Margaret T. and Daisy A.; lost four children- Anna, who died at the age of I year;
Charles, who died aged nine months, and two boys, who died unchristened. Mr. and Mrs. Beck
are members of the Presbyterian church.
MARTIN BECKER, retired; came to Racine, Wis., in the spring of 1846; was born in the
town of Berne, Albany Co., N. Y., May 17, 1809; the son of Peter Becker, who died when
Martin was quite young; Mr. Becker engaged in the brickmaking business in 1846, remained
in that business until 1879, and is now on the retired list of a well-spent and
industrious life. He married, about the year 1833, Miss Hannah Silvernail, daughter
of Peter, born in Columbia Co., N. Y., in 1810; they had four children- Martha Jane, born
Feb. 18, 1834; Lorenzo, born June 20, 1835; Peter, born July 15, 1838; Harvey, born
Oct. 31, 1848. Mrs. Becker died June 7, 1867. Mr. Becker married Mrs. Mary M. Earl,
of Cleveland; Ohio; she was born in Europe, in 1809; she had twelve children, five living. Mr.
Becker has always had a great interest in the welfare and prosperity of Racine. Member
of the Christian Church; the family attend the Episcopal Church as well.
SAMUEL F. BEEDE, teacher; born Feb. 6, 1840, in Strafford Co., N. H.; went to
Centre Sandwich, Carroll Co., N. H., in the summer of 1861; in the fall of 1862 enlisted
in the 14th N. H. V. I.; was encamped at Morganza Bend, La., and fought in all the battles
in which his regiment took part after he joined it; entered the Chandler scientific
department of Dartmouth College, N. H., in Sept. 1865, and graduated in 1868; moved to
Baraboo, Wis., in 1868, and taught school at the village of Lyons, near there; in 1869-70
was connected with the civil engineer corps of different railroads; in
1870-71 was principal of schools of Prairie du Sac, Wis., and in the fall of 1871 went to
Worcester, Mass., where he taught in the Highland Military Academy for three years, two
years devoted to mathematics and English branches, and during the third he was
commandant and teacher of higher mathematics and engineering; in the summer of 1874 he
came to Racine, Wis., was appointed and is now principal of the 5th ward school. Married
Miss Belle Remington, of Baraboo, Wis., in August, 1874, and has two children- Harry R.,
born Oct. 2, 1875, Thad Sheridan, born Oct. 19, 1878, the latter on the anniversary
of Cedar Creek, the day of Sheridan's famous ride, in which noted battle his father
was severely wounded and was laid up for nine months in the Satterlee Hospital, Philadelphia.
WILLIAM BESWICK. manufacturer of and dealer in the celebrated Root River lime; born
Feb. 10, 1812, in Barnet Castle, Northumberland, England; went to Canada in 1824; to
Clinton Co., N. Y., in 1828; to Upper Canada in 1833 to Michigan in 1834; back to
Upper Canada in the spring of 1835; returned to Michigan in the winter of 1835;
prospected in Racine Co. in the spring of 1841; went again to Michigan in the fall of
1841, and finally located in Racine in the fall of 1842, where he followed different
occupations until he purchased the Root River Lime Works in 1856, which he has worked up
to its present standing, and now employs an average of ten to twelve hands. Married
Miss Eleanor M. Paddock, of Sodus, Wing Co., N. Y., in 1845, and has three children-
William Henry, born Nov. 25, 1846; Ella M., Aug. 23, 1849; Fred. P., May 9, 1852.
Mr. Beswick has held, at different periods, the following offices: Commissioner of
Highways, before the State Constitution was formed, for two years; City Assessor two years,
Town Treasurer one year, County Treasurer two years, And Alderman for ten years for
Ward No. 2, in all of which onerous and important positions he gave universal satisfaction,
and only lately refused to serve again, to the deep regret of his many friends and supporters.
A. BETTRIDGE, ice dealer and proprietor of flax mill. He was born in London, England,
in 1819; came to Wisconsin in 1847; to Racine in 1850. After his removal here was engaged
in the drug business for three years. He married Miss Eliza Dearsley in 1854. She was born
in Suffolk, England. They have three children- John R., Annie E., and Florence A.;
are members of the Episcopal Church. Mr. B. has served one term as Alderman.
CHARLES C. BLACK of the firm of Black Bros., proprietors of livery stable, was born
at Franklin Mills, O., and came to Racine in the fall of 1863. He was employed by the
W. U. R. R. Co. until 1865, and then engaaed in the hotel business for one year at Savannah, Ill.
HENRY A. BLACK, of the firm of Black Bros., proprietors of livery stable, was born at
Franklin Mills (now Kent), Portage Co., O. He came to Racine in the spring of 1864,
and has been engaged in his present business since Feb. 7, 1866. He was previously
employed at the W. U. R. R. round house shop.
BYRON B. BLAKE, member of the firm of Blake, Beebe & Co., manufacturers of fanning mills,
was born in Raymond, Racine Co., Wis., 1848. He graduated from the University of Chicago
in the class of 1868, and was admitted to the bar in 1871. He has been a member of the
present firm since 1873. He married, Nov. 14, 1872, Elizabeth S. Tapley, a native of
St. Charles, Kane Co., Ill. They have one child- Herbert S. Mr. and Mrs. Blake are
members of the Baptist Church.
LUCIUS S. BLAKE, capitalist and manufacturer, was born in Burlington, Vt., March 14, 1816;
his parents removed from Burlington to Aurora, Erie Co., N. Y., in 1817, and when he was
thirteen years of age they went to Randolph, Crawford Co., Pa., and from there to Chicago
in 1834; in Feb., 1835, he came to Wisconsin, and located on Root River, five miles northwest
of Racine, in what is now the township of Caledonia; he was engaged in agricultural
pursuits for two years, then went to Kenosha, and was, employed by Samuel Hale and
John Bullen, general merchants, in the erection of buildings; in the fall of 1838, he
came to Racine and worked at his trade until 1844, when he engaged in the manufacture of
fanning mills and agricultural implements, in which business he has since continued.
He is also interested in woolen mills (as senior member of the firm of Blake & Co.),
which enterprise was begun in the spring of 1865; in the summer previous to that he
was interested in the cultivation of cotton in Louisiana, opposite Natchez, which proved
a financial success. Mr. Blake has held various offices of trust; he was Trustee of the
village of Racine about 1839 or 1840; he was County Treasurer about 1846; in 1862
the Governor appointed him Provost Marshal, or Draft Commissioner, of Racine Co., which
office he held until it became extinct; and he was then appointed Assistant Provost Marshal,
under J. M. Tillapaugh, in which capacity he served two years; he was a member of the
General Assembly in 1871 and 1872; he was Alderman of the Second Ward four or five years,
and, as President of the Council, was Acting Mayor for one year; he is a Director of
the Manufacturers' National Bank, and is interested in the Racine Street Railway Co. He
married on the 26th of Dec., 1843, Caroline Elliott, who was born in the Parish of
Sidlesham, County of Sussex, England, March 24, 1823; she came to Racine with her
parents, William Elliott and Sarah Ireland Elliott, in 1840. They have had five children,
two of whom -- Annetta, aged three, and Lucius E., aged six -- have died; the living are,
Byron B., Stella M. (now Mrs. Sands Hart, of Racine), and Adoniram J. Mr.
and Mrs. Blake are members of the First Baptist Church.
HON. CHAS. F. BLISS, res. Chippecotton st., manufacturer soda water and cider vinegar,
Water st., foot of College av., was born in Baden, Germany, Dec. 27, 1817; he came to
this country with his widowed mother in 1834; she only lived one year after their arrival;
thus he was left alone, but having learned the trade of baker in his native land, he was
well armed with the means of securing a livelihood; he began to learn the cooper's trade
at the age of 24, which he followed for several years in the State of New York; in Oct., 1847,
he located in Racine and engaged in the occupation of baker and confectioner,
which he followed for a number of years, until he changed for his present occupation. At
the age of 24 he married Miss Catherine E. Closs, a native of Bavaria, Germany; have had
five children- George Seymour, who married Miss Packard and still resides in Racine; Charles,
who died April 16, 1878, aged 29 years; Mary Jane, the wife of Louis C. Kline; Amelia C.,
the wife of George Eddy, Jr., and Carrie, who still resides with her aged parents. For a
number of years Mr. Bliss has been one of the leading citizens of Racine; in an early day
he was Second Lieutenant of what was known as the Governors Guard of Racine, Wis.; he has
filled several places of trust and honor - Alderman in 1873 and 1874, one term as Supervisor,
and two terms in the State Assembly in 1874 and 1875; is a Democrat, a Free Mason and
Odd Fellow, and was reared under the instructions of the Dutch Reform Church.
JAMES BOWERS, capitalist and dealer in real estate; was born in Sand Lake,
Rensselaer Co., N. Y., and removed to Erie, Penn., when he was 16 years old; five years
thereafter he went to Michigan City, Ind., and five years later to La Porte, and from there
he came to Racine, in 1846. He has been engaged in building and real estate from that time
to the present. He married in July, 1839, Ruth Fletcher, of New Hampshire they have two
children- Eveline (now Mrs. John C. Huggins, of Chicago), and Emily (now Mrs. Horatio G. Billings).
LUCAS BRADLEY, architect, contractor and builder; was born June 22, 1809, in Geneva,
N. Y.; he learned his trade in Cayuga Co. finished it in Auburn, where he lived until 1838,
when he went to Tiffin, Ohio, where he remained, for a few months; thence removed to St. Louis,
and lived for six years coming to Racine Sept. 15, 1844. He has erected public buildings
in St. Louis and Chicago, as well as many of the most elegant private residences in Racine.
He was a member of the City Council at its organization; a member of the Board of Education
one or more terms. He is interested in the Manufacturers' National Bank. His wife was
Lucinda King, a native of Brockville, Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Bradley are members of the
First Presbyterian Church.
JAMES R. BROWNE, City Treasurer was born in Nottinghamshire, England, Sept. 9, 1815, and
came to America in 1848. He first settled in Chicago, but remained there only a year, when he went
to Southport, now Kenosha; he lived in Walworth Co. from 1852 until 1854, and has lived
in Racine ever since, with the exception of one year spent in Elkhorn, Wis., where he
carried on the business of wagon making. He was School Commissioner for two years, Supervisor
one year, and Alderman from the Sixth Ward for one year, which place he resigned to assume
the duties of City Treasurer. He married for his first wife, Emma Adamthwaite, from
Westmoreland, England; she died July 5, 1863, leaving two sons and, three daughters -
James Edwin, Wm. A., Emma F., Annie E. and Mary A. Edwin served in the 7th Wis. V. I, and
was wounded at the battle of South Mountain. After his first term of enlistment expired,
he enlisted again as Sergeant in Battery C, 1st Wis. Heavy Artillery, (the John R. Davis
Battery), in which he served a year, and was promoted to 2d Lieut., 47th Wis. V. I.,
afterward acting A. A. G. on Gen. Blunts staff. Wm. A. also served in the army. Mr. Browne's
present wife was Mrs. Penelope B. Forrest, a native of Cork, though reared in England.
WILLIAM A. BROWNE, ornamental painter, Fish Bros. & Co.; born Dec. 31, 1846, in
London, England; came to America about 1850, and first lived in Kenosha, Wis; went to Elkhorn,
Wis., in 1854; to Racine, in 1858. Enlisted in the 3d Wis. V. I. in 1863; was with the
regiment, and fought in all battles they engaged in until discharged, in 1865; went with
Gen. Sherman upon his Western campaign. Married Miss Addie Elderkin of Elkhorn, Wis.,
Feb. 7, 1870; has had two children, only one now living- Robert E., born May 10, 1876;
Mary Emma was born before her brother, and died Sept. 2, 1877. Mr. B. belongs to the
following societies: Belle City Lodge, No. 92, Masons; Lodge No. 137, I. O. O. F.;
Temple of Honor, and Sons of Temperance. Mr. and Mrs. B. are both members of the
DANIEL BULL, manufacture of fanning mills; born Nov. 26, 1828, in Cayuga Co., N. Y.;
came to Racine May 12, 1845, and engaged in various occupations until the spring of 1863, when he
commenced to manufacture wagons and fanning mills, which business he gradually increased
until he now employs, on an average, twenty-five hands, using steam power as a motor.
Married, first time, Miss Margaret Lytle, of Racine, March 10, 1850, who died Aug. 17, 1854,
leaving one child- Maria, born Dec. 12, 1850; his second wife, Miss Ellen B. Harris, of
New Jersey, and afterward Racine, he married in the winter of 1855. They have five children-
Carrie A., born June 3, 1857; Lizzie H., Sept. 10, 1859; Charles W., May 13, 1869;
Daniel E., May 29, 1871; Silas, July 21, 1874. Mrs. Bull and daughters are members of
the Baptist Church.
STEPHEN BULL, of the firm of J. I. Case & Co., was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., March, 1822,
and is the son of De Grove and Amanda M. Bull. His early opportunities for an education
were limited, and when 13 years old, he left home and worked on a farm until he was 17.
He then spent two years in New York, as clerk in a grocery store; then started a store
for himself, which he kept five years, and then came West. He arrived in Racine,
October, 1845, where he remained two years. In 1847, he moved to Spring Prairie,
Walworth Co., and was engaged in mercantile business there for ten years. In 1858,
he sold out, and entered the threshing-machine manufactory of J. I. Case & Co., and, in 1863,
became a partner in that extensive concern. In 1849, he married Miss Ellen Kellogg, and
has a family of six children- four daughters and two sons. Mr. Bull owns a farm within the city
limits, on which he has raised some very fine blooded horses. He is the owner of the
celebrated horse, Phil Sheridan, which has made a record of 2:30. He is a man of fine
public spirit, and is foremost in giving a helping hand wherever help is needed.
W. T. BULL, Treasurer of J. I. Case Plow Co., was born in Auburn, N. Y., in February,
1836, and came to Yorkville Township, Racine Co., in the spring of 1845. In 1849, he
engaged in clerking, in Racine, and upon the establishment of Racine College, he
attended that, and also the Racine High School, for three years. He was Principal and
proprietor of Bull's Commercial College for three and one-half years; then became
associated with J. I. Case, as his private secretary, and has continued with him for
the past nineteen years.
DWIGHT D. BURDICK, architect and builder; was born in Delaware Co., N. Y., 1833;
in October, 1860, came to Racine, and has been here since; married, in Racine, in
March, 1864, Letitia Burdick (a second cousin); have six children- Allen M., 14 years;
Erastus R., 12 years; Frank M., 11 years; Mabel Alice, 6 years; Robert E., 8 years;
Florence E., 4 years. They are all living. He entered into partnership with
Edgar Jenks, in 1877, under the firm name of Burdick & Jenks, as
builders and contractors, and are at present building the Fifth Ward Schoolhouse, which
they contract to build for $3,944; are also building several other residences for citizens,
and Mr. Burdick is erecting a residence for himself, which will he a handsome edifice when
completed. The firm own the shop and the grounds on which it stands. Mr. Burdick is also
an architect, and he does most of the drawing of plans and specifications for their
own buildings, and also for other builders.
ALFRED CARY, came to Racine Oct. 1, 1835; born in Shoreham, Vt., Jan. 21, 1804; served
an apprenticeship at carpenter and joiner's trade, in New York State, and worked at
his trade until about eight years ago. Mr. Cary was appointed, by Gov. Dodge, Justice of
the Peace, in 1836, also Court Commissioner, and other minor offices. He married Miss
Mary L. Knight, born at Brattleboro, Vt., in 1816, daughter of Timothy Knight, and
sister of Albert G. Knight; this was the first wedding in Racine. They have had eight
children, all deceased but one- Annie S., born in 1856, a teacher in Chicago, Ill.
Mr. Cary is now in charge of the grain elevator; family attend the Presbyterian Church.
MELANCTHON W. CARY came to Racine, October, 1850; born in Shoreham, Addison Co., Vt.,
Oct. 26, 1811; was clerk in the Post Office the first three or four years he was in Racine,
after which he was mail agent for the Racine & Mississippi R. R., now the Western Union R. R.;
he was then elected Treasurer of the city of Racine, in the spring of 1875; held that
office three years. Mr. Cary married Miss Laura Ford, born in the town of Mansfield, Conn.,
June 17, 1818; she was the daughter of Abijah S. and Alma Ford. A member of Odd Fellows'
Lodge, No. 137. Mrs. Cary is a member of the Presbyterian Church. He is now President of
the Old Settlers Society.
FINIS CARTWRIGHT one of the partners and Superintendent of the Racine Wagon
and Carriage Co.'s works; came to Racine from Indiana in 1847; learned his trade with his
father, in this city; was born in Logan Co., Ky., May 21, 1838. Married, Nov. 13, 1862,
Miss Jennie Mulligan, niece of "Col. " Mulligan; she was born at Saratoga Springs, N. Y.
had no children; died Feb. 22, 1871; he married again, Dec. 1, 1873, Miss Caroline Berner,
daughter of George and Catherine Berner, of Racine; they have two children- Albert E.,
born June 30, 1875; George F., born May 21, 1878. He built a shop on the ground where
the large manufactory of Fish Bros. now stands, and carried on the
wagon business about nine years; sold out to Fish & Bull, and had charge of their
blacksmithing department for ten years. His whole life has been devoted to the carriage
business, without losing a single day from sickness or otherwise; never was idle a day
in his life; commenced to learn his trade at the age of 13 years; is one of the oldest
carriage smiths in this county. His father, Justinian Cartwright, was born in
Logan. Co., Ky., in 1796; came to Racine in 1847, with a family of five children-
four sons and one daughter- and was known to be the best edge-tool maker in this county;
he died Nov. 1, 1860, leaving eight children; three are in California, one daughter and
two sons; Florence died at the age of 13 years; two sons are in Illinois and one in Iowa,
Finis is the only one who remains at Racine. Republican, and liberal in religious views.
JEROME I. CASE was born in Williamstown, Oswego Co., N. Y., Dec. 11, 1819, and is
the youngest of four brothers; his parents were Caleb and Deborah Case, who were among the
pioneers of Western New York, having removed at an early day from Rensselaer Co. to
Williamstown, where they commenced to clear up a farm in the then almost unbroken wilderness;
Jerome's opportunities for education were only such as could be afforded by the district school,
and that only in the Winter months; but at the age of 16 be had made reputable progress in
his books, and, better still, had begun to develop those sterling traits which have so
distinguished him in later life- integrity, courage, and industry; at about this time his
father purchased the right to use and sell a one-horse tread-power tbreshing machine, which
was very primitive in construction, and young Jerome was selected to manage the machine,
for he had early shown an unusual mechanical ingenuity; he made this his business until
he was of age, in 1840, when he determined to get as good an education as could be afforded
by the schools of the State; and so, in the fall of that year, he commenced the threshing
business on his own account and in the January following, with the proceeds of his autumn's
work, he entered the Academy of Mexicoville, N. Y.; here he devoted himself to such
studies as would best aid him in the career he had laid out for himself- the construction
of labor-saving machinery; directly at the close of the term he gave his vigorous attention
to the subject of the improvement of threshers; in the spring of 1842 he procured six
machines upon credit, and took them West with him, locating at Racine, in the Territory of
Wisconsin; Racine was then a mere village, and arrived there he disposed of all but one of
his machines, and with that started off through the country threshing grain, managing the
machine himself and constantly devising some improvement; in the spring of 1843, finding
his tread-mill machine was nearly worn out, and conscious that he could improve it, he
set to work with such tools as he could find to rebuild and remodel it after designs and
plans of his own; when his work was completed and put into operation, he found not only that he had
made a machine better than the old one, but also one better than he could buy at the East; his
success becoming known, he soon found himself able to discontinue threshing, and to turn his
attention to the manufacture of machines. Up to this time, invention had only succeeded in
making what was called an open thresher, the grain, chaff, and straw being delivered together
from the machine, requiring an after process of winnowing in order to separate the grain from
the chaff; in the winter of 1843-44, Mr. Case succeeded in making a thresher and separator
combined, after a model of his own invention, which he had made in the kitchen of a
farm-house at Rochester, Wis.; this was the first machine used in the West that threshed
and cleaned the grain at one operation; it was a success best appreciated, most probably,
by the man who for three years had labored under every disadvantage to attain that result;
in the fall of the same year Mr. Case rented a small shop at Racine, and undertook the
building of a limited number of his new machines; constantly improving remodelling and perfecting
his machinery, Mr. Case, in 1847, erected his first shop, near the site of his present
extensive manufactory; it was a brick building, thirty feet wide by eighty feet long, and
three stories in height; at the time, he considered it larger than he would ever
need, but thought he would put up a good building that should be a credit to the town;
in 1855- only thirteen years from the time he stood on the threshold of his enterprise-
success was assured; his extensive manufactory- of substantial brick and wood buildings,
occupying in all its appointments several acres of ground, situated on the bank of Racine
River just inside the lake harbor, with its dock for vessels, its furnace, molding-room,
paint-sbops, belt factory, and dry-kilns, and its vast work-rooms filled with perfect
and complicated machinery, all systematized and organized in as perfect order as a military
camp-stands to-day a monument in itself to the inventive skill, keen foresight, and indomitable
energy of the farmerboy of Williamstown, and entitles him to take his place among those
men of thought and action whose own exertions have made them the representative men of
the West. Mr. Case was elected Mayor of Racine in 1856, and again in 1859; in 1856 he was
elected State Senator, and served two years; in 1863, his business having assumed colossal
magnitude, and having amassed a splendid fortune, he disposed of the greater part of his
interest in his manufactory to Messrs. Stephen Bull, Robert H. Baker, and M. B. Erskine -
all residents of Racine, - characteristically cboosing for his partners practical men
like himself; since that time, Mr. Case has gradually withdrawn from the active management
of the business, and has devoted more of his time and no small portion of his capital to
the furtherance of interests calculated to build up
and promote the best good of the city and State in which he resides; there are now several
extensive, and successful manufactories, in various departments of human industry, in the
city of Racine, in all or nearly all of which Mr. Case is personally and pecuniarily interested;
for several years past he has been an efficient member of the Wisconsin State Agricultural
Society, and for the past two years President of the Racine County Agricultural Society;
and he was one of the founders and a life member of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts,
and Letters. In 1849 Mr. Case married Lydia A., daughter of DeGrove Bull, Esq., of Yorkville,
Wis. Our sketch of a man of such extraordinary powers and of such representative strength
as Mr. Case is necessarily too brief; but the mere outline thus drawn presents a figure
which American youth may well look upon as a model, not only in view of the success he has
achieved, but for the sterling attributes of character which rendered such a success possible.
MRS. JANE CASHILL; born in the county of Wicklow, Ireland, in 1833; her maiden name was
Jane Byrne. She married in 1852, Mr. Frank Cashill, of Racine. In 1843 he eame here
from Morristown, N. Y. He was elected three times City Alderman, which office he filled
in a satisfactory manner. They had five children, all still living- three daughters and
two sons. Her husband was engaged in the cooperage business up to within a few years of his
death, which occurred in 1878. Her mother, a venerable lady, is living with her. Her sister,
Miss Anna Byrne, graduated at the Racine High School, in 1857; she taught school in
Racine, Milwaukee, and Chicago; was teaching in the latter city when she died, in
1876. She was highly esteemed, and everybody who knew her can testify to her worth as a
competent teacher and a perfect lady.
JOHN C. CAVEN, watchman, Western Union R. R.; born in Dumfries, Scotland, in 1821; arrived
in New York City in 1844; went to Jersey City, and was engaged there until 1846, when he
came to Racine. He married in Racine, in 1847, Nancy Tait, sister of Robert Tait, whose
biograpby we present elsewhere in this work; had two children- Wm. W. and Ellen; his wife
died April 1, 1850, and was buried in Mound Cemetery. He married again in Racine,
April 25, 1851, Mrs. Harriet Harrington, a native of Onondaga Co., N. Y. Wm. W., his son,
lives in Escanaba, Mich., and is a machinist and engineer. Ellen, his daughter,
married Eli Harris, and resides in Wheeler, Ind., near Chicago. Nelson Harrington,
son of Mrs. Caven by first husband, is engineer on W. U. R. R. Her daughter, Eliza J.
Harrington, married Thomas J. Evans, machinist, a resident of Racine, and lives with her
parents. Mr. Caven was on the police force from October, 1871, until May, 1874; at that time,
he was appointed Chief of Police, and held that position till 1876; then went to work for
the W. U. R. R.; and in May, 1877, was again appointed Chief of Police, and held the
same position one year; and in 1878, again went to the W. U. R. R., and is at present in
their employ as watchman. Mr. and Mrs. C. are members of the Baptist Church.
NORMAN CLARKE, was born at Benington, Vt., May 7, 1805, and was the son of James and
Elizabeth Wright Clarke; he was the youngest but one of nine children, all of whom lived
to be more than 50 years of age, and the oldest of whom (Mrs. Samantha Harman, of Chicago),
is still living; his grandfather was Capt. Daniel Clarke, of Shaftsbury, Vt., who
commanded a company of "Green Mountain Boys," and was killed in battle at Bemis Heights,
in 1777. His grave is in the burying-ground at Shaftsbury. In 1826, Norman Clarke married
Lydia Briggs Wright, of Shaftsbury, and spent the next nine years in farming near Fort Ann,
and in mercantile business at Troy, N. Y. In 1835, he deterinined to "go West",
and, with his wife and two children, he settled in Chicago. He, however, remained there
only one year, and in 1836, he removed to Wisconsin Territory, near the present site of
Racine; here he improved and tilled the land which he pre-empted, until 1847, when he
moved into the village; he has seen the city of Racine grow from a few cabins to its
present magnitude, and he has done his part in effecting these changes in this Western
land, which excite the wonder and admiration of the world. He has always possessed the
confidence of his neighbors and fellow citizens. He has held the office of City
Clerk and Comptroller of Racine, and was for several years United States Assistant
Assessor of Internal Revenue, and recently resigned the office of Deputy Collector, his
resignation having been reluctantly accepted and its acceptance being accompanied by
a strong indorsement of his efficiency, ability and integrity; in every position in which
he has been placed, he has been found not only able and efficient but thoroughly honest.
But it is as a neighbor and friend that he is best known; possessed of sound judgement,
extensive knowledge of business, and kind feelings towards all, he has been the
adviser of many who needed counsel and the helper of many who required assistance; slow
to believe evil of his neighbor and forgiving in disposition, he has had few enemies and
has lived "with malice toward none" during a long and busy life. His children are two
sons- Lantrow and George, and one daughter, Marion; Lantrow is in business in Chicago;
George died at Pike's Peak, in 1860; and Marion is the wife of Col. John G. McMynn, of Racine.
Since the death of his wife in 1864, Mr. Clarke has found a pleasant home as a
member of his daughter's family; here he is spending the last years of a long and
useful life, the genial friend of all who know him, the kind and considerate neighbor,
an honest and worthy citizen. With his grandchildren about him, for whom he feels an
affection equaled only by theirs for him, he is enjoying the rewards of a life spent
in the pursuit of laudable objects by laudable means; these are health, home,
affectionate children and grandchildren, and the respect and confidence of all who know him.
JOSEPH W. CLARKSON, born near Charleston, S. C., August 10, 1829; moved to St. Lawrence Co.,
N. Y., in 1840; lived there nine years; came to Racine, May 9, 1849; farmed for two years;
returned to Racine and engaged as a ship-carpenter. He married. April 23, 1853, Miss
Sarah Morris, of Morristown, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.; they had six children- George,
Orville, John, Mary, Sarah, Ida.
MICHAEL COLBERT, foreman in Dickey Bros. factory; born August 30, 1848, in County
Cork, Ireland; came to Wisconsin in 1854, locating at Racine in 1862; worked for Russell
Skinner in the foundry business for three years; worked for Case & Co. two years; in the
year 1867, engaged with Dickey Bros. February, 1870, married Miss Annie Dohoney, a native
of Ireland, who died at Racine, July 20, 1874; they had two daughters- one living. He
married again, Nov., 1878, Miss Maggie E. Morris, a native of Wisconsin; in 1874,
was appointed School Commissioner for two years; Alderman in 1875; Alderman for
three terms. Member of the Catholic Church. Democrat.
EDGAR JEFFERSON COLE, confectioner; was born in the town of Raymond Sept. 9, 1851;
when of the age of 5 years and 6 months, was brought by his parents to Racine City, where he
received such educational advantages as the village then afforded; subsequently, he went
through a commercial college course with Mr. Daniel Howland; at the age of 27 years,
Mr. Cole married Miss Minnie McLennan, a daughter of Mr. Kenneth McLennan, of Racine, but
has had no children. On Nov. 22, 1877, he entered into business as a confectioner with
Mr. Charles J. Dana, a brother-in-law, but prior to that time managed his mother's affairs;
in the spring of 1877, and again in 1878, he ran for the office of
School Commissioner on the Republican ticket, but the Democratic prevailed, and he
sustained a defeat. Mr. Cole is a very worthy gentleman, and held in much esteem by his townsmen.
WILLIAM COLE, deceased was born in Coventry, Eng., on Feb. 11, 1791, and, at the age
of 3 years, went with his parents to London. Having received a thoroughly good education,
he was placed, at the age of 16 years, with a firm of attorneys, with whom he read law
until he was 21 years of age, when he was admitted and commenced practicing for himself;
in 1825, while, still practicing as an attorney, he started a shipping gazette
which he controlled until 1841, when he sold out. On Sept. 9 of that year he left
his native land, and, in due course, arrived in New York City, from whence he came to
Racine, arriving there in the fall of the same year; after a few months residence in that
city he purchased a farm in Raymond Township, which, with his sons, he worked until 1858,
when he removed to and settled in Racine City, where he lived until April 18, 1867, when,
surrounded by his family, his life slipped away, and he fell into that dreamless sleep
that knows no waking. In 1825, Mr. Cole married Miss Sarah
Gosling, a native of Blackheath, Eng., who was born April 18, 1808, by whom he had
sixteen children; those living are Richard T. W., born Sept. 16, 1826; William Henry,
May 28, 1829; Charles J., Feb. 18, 1831; Alfred Alexander, Jan. 16, 1833; Sarah M.,
Aug. 12, 1835; Cecelia A., Jan. 3, 1840; Virginia A., Aug. 29, 1842; Martha Louisa,
Aug. 21, 1846; Caroline Julia, Sept. 12, 1848; Edgar J., Sept. 9, 1851, and Henrietta
Dec. 10, 1854. In addition to these, there were Mary B., died July 31, 1861; Elizabeth,
died Aug. 9, 1834; Frederick W., died March 27, 1838; Desmas, died July 23, 1841,
and James F. W., died Nov. 20, 1864. Mr. Cole served three terms as a Justice of the
Peace in Raymond Township, a position for which his early legal training eminently qualified
him. He was brought up in the light of the Episcopal faith, but subsequently changed his
views, dying a member of no church.
LOOMIS H. COLEMAN, City Clerk, was born in Buffalo, N. Y., in 1840. His father,
John Coleman, was at one time engaged in the milling business, in New York, and later,
carried on a saw mill near Racine, and also engaged in wheat buying. He died in Racine, in
1874, his wife, the mother of Loomis H., having died in 1866. Loomis H. was Clerk of the
Circuit Court for three years, and Assistant Postmaster for a like period of time. He has
been engaged in the manufacture of mittens for the last four years. Himself and sister,
Helen E., are the only surviving members of the family.
U. S. CONE, house-mover, came to Racine, April, 1865; born in Leyden, Lewis Co., N. Y.;
served an apprenticeship at the carpenter and joiner's trade, with his father; has been
in the business twenty-five years; married Miss Alice L. Campbell, Sept. 23, 1862;
born in Lyons, Wis; died Jan. 9, 1878. They have had seven children- George W., born
April 27, 1863; died Oct. 28, 1863; Ella A., born Oct. 19, 1864; Herbert L., born
June 22, 1872; died Sept. 29, 1874; Grace M., born April 29, 1875; Emma L., born
Dec 3, 1877; died Jan. 12, 1878; two children died very young. He is a member of
the Young Men's Christian Association; also a member of the Methodist Church.
G. C. CONROE, hardware merchant, born at Manitowoc, Wis., 1838; came to Racine at the
age of 2 years. His early education was received at the public schools; in 1868,
he married Miss Helen Jones, daughter of E ias Jones; they have had one child- Mary H.
Commenced business under the firm name of Kraupa & Co., and when the war broke out, he
enlisted in the 20th Wis. Regt., June, 1862; was mustered in as Serveant, serving three
years and a half, was in eleven engagements - Prairie Grove, Ark., Vicksburg, Port Hudson,
Galveston, Mobile, Brownsville, Blakesley, Spanish Fort, Fort Morgan, Bonsecure, and
Van Buren; acted as Orderly Sergeant eighteen months; in the winter of 1863 and
1864, was sent home on recruiting service, and remained six months, when he returned
to his regiment, at Brownsville, Tex., where he embarked for Fort Morgan, July 5; his last
battle was the taking of Mobile, Ala.; what remained of his regiment was ordered to Galveston,
and was mustered out of service, July, 1865; he then returned to Racine, and resumed his
business, on Main street, till 1873, when he removed to Sixth street, his present location.
HENRY G. COOKE, No. 11 Sixth street; born in Yorkshire,. Eng., Oct. 2, 1822; came to
Racine, Sept. 3, 1853, when he engaged in the merchant tailoring business, which he has
carried on successfully to the present time. He was elected City Clerk in 1862, and
faithfully filled that position, to the satisfaction of all parties.
MRS. E. R. COOLEY, widow of E. R.. Cooley; he was born in Sunderland, Mass., Jan., 1814.
Married Annie Titus, June, 1844, in Racine. Mr. Cooley came here in 1839, and was one of
the most esteemed of the earl settlers. Was elected President of the village, and then
Mayor of the city. He was largely engaged in the hardware business; was a thorough business
man and successful merchant. They had eight children--four living. Mr.Cooley was an
attendant, and Mrs. Cooley is a member of the Episcopal Church.
MRS. ANN MARIA CROSBY, formerly Northrop; was born in Westchester Co., N. Y.,
in 1818. Married Stephen Crosby in Southeaston, Putnam Co., N. Y., May 20, 1841. Mr. Crosby, in
1840, was a manufacturer of boots and shoes in Newton, Putnam Co.; was in the same business
there fifteen years; in 1855, he moved to Newark, N. J., and kept a shoe store there about
eight years; October, 1863, he came to Racine and started the same business; 1864, brought
his wife, and family to Racine; they had seven children- George E., John S., Josephine,
Clarence H., Isabella, William H. and Thomas F. Isabella died, June, 1851, aged 22 months;
Josephine married, January, 1869, Stephen S. Lamb, a resident of Racine; George E. married,
in Newark, N. J., Elestine Kirk, of Newark; John S. married, in Newark, N. J., Mary E. Johnson,
of Newark; and Wm H. married, in Racine, in 1876, Emma Erskine, daughter of M. B. Erskine,
of Racine. Mrs. Crosby is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Crosby died at the house
of his nephew, Morgan Crosby, in Fort Dodge, Iowa, and his body was brought here and buried in
WILLIAM CROSTEN, attorney at law; was born in Racine, Nov. 7, 1854. His father, Wm. E. Crosten,
a native of Norway, came to Racine in 1845, and engaged in ship chandlery and sailmaking.
From the age of 8 to 16, William worked in the ship chandlery store of George F. Foster,
Chicago, and then entered the law office of Hoyne, Horton & Hoyne, with whom he remained
until he was 20 years of age. He was admitted to the bar in 1875, and has been in practice
ever since. From the fall of 1876 to the fall of 1878, he was District Attorney of this district.
EDMUND CUZNER, born in Somersetshire, England, in 1823; came to New York City in
1846, to Racine, June 6, 1848; is a miller by trade; has worked for J. I. Case & Company for
the past twenty-seven years. Married, Jan. 31, 1851, Martha Susannah Hanson, a native of
Yorkshire, England, but a resident of Racine at the time of her marriage; they have five
children -- Sarah Jane, Esther A., James E., Frederick A. and Frank Henry. Sarah Jane,
the eldest daughter, married James Bowland, a resident of Racine; Esther A., second daughter,
married Jeff Banfield, who died in 1876; she married again in 1878, Edward Ausche; the three
sons are all single, and are members of the Baptist Church. Mr. and Mrs. Cuzner are members
of the Methodist Church; Mr. C. was formerly a member of the Baptist, but united with the
Methodist Church in 1879.
ISAAC DAVIES, grocer, Washington avenue; came to Racine in June, 1869; a native of Wales,
where at the age of 14, he began an apprenticeship at the masons' trade. Married Miss Jane
Davies May, 1867; born in the town of Aberdovy; daughter of Humphrey Evans Davies; they
have six children- Mary and Margaret, twins, born March 1, 1868; Jane, Jan. 10, 1870;
Sarah, Jan. 5, 1872; Daniel, Aug. 10, 1873; Humphrey, Sept. 8, 1875. Mr. Davies owns
his house and lot. Members of the Presbyterian Church.
MRS. MARGARET DAVIES. widow of Capt. O. J. Davies; was born in Anglesey, North Wales, Dec. 4, 1825.
Married March 18, 1857; have had eight children - two living - Jane, born March 1, 1860; Katie,
Aug. 25, 1873. Capt. Davies was an old and experienced sailor; was Captain of the Neshoto about
seven years, and sailed to all principal ports on the lakes; was then Captain and owner of the
fine vessel Gilbert Knapp, which he sailed fourteen years. Capt. Davies was lost off
Monistique, northern part of Lake Michigan, April 26, 1876. He was a Christian gentleman, much
beloved by all; noted for his liberality; was one of the most experienced sailors on the lakes.
He left his family in comfortable circumstances. Members of the Welsh Presbyterian Church.
REES R. DAVIS, carpenter and builder, came to Racine Oct. 21, 1865; commenced work as a
journeyman, and after one year and a half started business for himself; the firm is now R. R.
Davis & Son. Born in Montgomeryshire, Wales, Oct. 14, 1822; son of Rees and Winnie Davis; Rees
R. is one of a family of twenty children by two marriages, and the oldest of the second family.
He married Nov. 16, 1849, Miss Jane, daughter of Hugh and Mary Davis, born in North Wales; they
have had six children, two living -- Winifred Jane, born March 23, 1853; Rees Hugh, Sept. 25, 1858.
Father and son are members of the Temple of Honor. The family attend the Welsh Presbyterian
Church. Mr. Davis has been elected Alderman from the Third Ward two terms.
SAMUEL DAVIS, born in Pembrokeshire, South Wales, January, 1826; went to Quebec, Canada, and
thence to Racine in 1844. Married, in Racine, in 1850, Maria Thomas, a native of Cardiff, Wales;
they have four children - Guerson, Avon, Byron and Ingirin; Byron is at present in Beloit College.
They are members of Welsh Presbyterian Church. Mr. Davis is in the employ of the Western Union R. R.
A. P. DICKEY was born in Londonderry, N. H., March 24, 1817, and when 3 years of age removed
with his parents to Livingston Co., Western New York, residing in the town of York; comparatively
limited educational facilities were afforded then to those now enjoyed, and hence all the education
obtained by Mr. Dickey was through the winter months in and during the period preceeding the year
1834 in the neighboring district school; he graduated at the age of 17 years, and began to work
out the problem of life; uniting the activity and the strength of an energetic youth, with
the hardihood begotten of a parentage of Scotch and Irish descent, he entered upon his labors,
first engaging in the sale of fanning-mills for his brothers. He remarkable success speedily
earned for him a partnership with one of his brothers, Gelman Dickey, then resident at Price
Hill, N. Y., where the business was successfully prosecuted for twelve years; while residing at
Price Hill, he was chosen Colonel of the 164th New York State Militia, a position which he
held with honor for six years. The field so far occupied failed to satisfy his desire for
better things, so, anticipating the oft-quoted advice given at a later date,
"Go West, young man," he once more embarked in a venture, and removed to Racine in 1845; here,
with an enlarged field for activity and experience already gained, he entered energetically
into the task of building up a name and fortune, adopting then, as before, the manufacture of
fanning-mills; attending closely to the text, and making the best article he could turn out, he
has earned an enviable success, having made during his residence in Racine from 1845 to the
present time 75,000 fanning-mills, 500 threshing machines, 150 steam engines, and a multitude
of other agricultural implements. A life of energy and integrity carries a valuable lesson,
and commends itself as worthy of emulation.
JOHN DICKSON came to Racine in October, 1841 born in Chautauqua Co., N. Y., Sept. 8, 1814.
Married Hellen Holmes, Aug. 4, 1857; born in Oneida Co., near Utica, N. Y.; they have had
three children - Willie, born May 25, 1858, died Feb. 12, 1864; John, born Feb. 27, 1860;
George, Dec. 21, 1868. Mr. Dickson was a merchant twenty years; firm of Lee & Dickson; Mr.
Alanson H. Lee died in 1861; the business was then closed out by Mr. Dickson in 1865; Oliver
Lee, uncle of Mr. Alanson H. Lee, furnished the money to start the firm; from 1865 to 1870,
Mr. Dickson cultivated his farm of 149 acres, near Caledonia, on the Root River; remained
there six years, rented the farm and returned to Racine; has remained out of business since.
His life has been devoted to the interests of building up Racine, and he has taken great
pride in its progress; he was foremost in building forty-six
miles of plank road; was one of the Trustees to obtain the charter, and afterward
one of the Directors; also one of the prime movers in obtaining a the franchise for the
Racine & Mississippi R. R., now the Western Union R. R.; was Vice President when Henry
S. Durant was President. Members of the Episcopal Church.
ANDREW W. DRIVER, carpenter; born in Racine, June 29, 1852; the son of Thomas and
Marion Driver, who settled at Racine about 1851; came from the Orkney Islands, Scotland;
Andrew W. is one of twelve children, nine boys; educated at the city public schools; learned
his trade of his father. Married Miss Abigail, daughter of George R. and Margaret West,
Feb. 18, 1875; they have two children- Paul M., born July 21, 1875; Silas, Dec. 22, 1877.
They belong to the Presbyterian Church. Mr. D. is a Master Mason.
THOMAS DRIVER, of the firm of Thomas Driver & Son, was born in Scotland, and came
to Racine in 1851; for fifteen years, he worked by the day for L. Bradley, in a planing-mill,
and sash, door and blind manufactory, twelve years of that time being foreman; in the
spring of 1856, he began business for himself. His wife was Marian Mainland, who was
also born in Scotland; they have had twelve children, nine still living - Christina, now
Mrs. J. G. Keith, of Chicago; John M., associated with his father in business;
Andrew W; Sinclair M., engineer; Barbara, Charles H., James M., Walter S. and Philo H.
Mr. and Mrs. Driver are members of the Presbyterian Church.
ANTHONY J. DUFFEY, saloon; born in Racine, Aug. 15, 1852, where he served his
time as a molder under Thomas Falvey, remaining in his employ over four years, after which
he went to Chicago; remained one year, then returned to Racine and followed the molding
business till 1877, when he opened a sample room on Market Square, his present location.
Married, Oct. 27, 1876, Miss Mary Heck, a native of Wisconsin; they have one daughter.
Members of the Catholic Church.
CHARLES S. DUNCOMBE, physician and surgeon, was born in Elkhorn, Schoharie Co.,
N. Y., and graduated at the Geneva Medical College in 1844, and from the Hahnemann Medical
College in 1861; he came to Wisconsin in May, 1844, and settled in Lyons, Walworth Co., where
he lived four years, and then went to Canada and practiced there until the fall of 1858; in
May, 1860, he came to Racine; he served as Assistant Surgeon in the 22d Wis. Regt. V. I.;
he is a member of the Wisconsin Medical Association. He married, Jan. 24, 1844, Susan A. C.
Barker, who is a native of Geneva, N. Y.; they have three children- Wm. E., Kittie E., and
Jennie M. M. Mr. and Mrs. Duncombe and daughters are members of the Episcopal Church.
HENRY S. DURAND, born in Cheshire, Conn., Feb., 13, 1817; received a common school
education at Berlin, Hartford Co., Conn.; when 13 years old entered a store in Hartford,
as clerk, where he remained two years; was then apprenticed to Mr. E. Brandegee until of age;
when 21 years old he became agent for the Hartford & New Haven Railway; in the spring of 1843,
moved to Racine, where he established an extensive mercantile, produce and commission, lumber
and coal business; he also manufactured lumber in Michigan, and had five first-class vessels
on the lakes; with three others he bought the land and laid out the city of La Crosse, and
erected many public and private buildings there, and it is now one of the most prosperous
cities of the Northwest; he was Vice President of Racine County Bank, and
President of Commercial Bank, of Racine; he was for thirteen years President of the Racine
& Mississippi Railroad; in 1844 he was appointed agent of the Aetna Insurance Company, and
issued the first policy in Wisconsin; in 1845 he commenced the adjustment of losses, and
during the last thirty-one years has adjusted upwards of 10,000 claims; in May 1859, he
became Special Agent and Adjuster of the Home, of New York, for Wisconsin and Minnesota, and
in 1867 was appointed General Adjuster for the Northwestern States. Married, in 1838,
Caroline B. Cowles, of Meriden, Conn., and has three daughters; his
wife died, and he married the daughter of Dr. V. White, of Stockbridge, Mass. The daughters of Mr.
Durand are all students of Vassar College.
EDWARD G. DURANT, born at Northampton, Mass., June 8, 1833; served a six-year
apprenticeship in the mercantile business in his native town, after the good old
New England fashion; and, on attaining his majority, came to Kenosha as clerk and book-keeper
for H. W. Hubbard, then one of Kenosha's successful merchants; in a year's time he had
made himself so useful that his employer gave him an interest in the business, which
terminated in July, 1857, at which time Durant was called to the cashiership of the City
Bank of Kenosha, which, under the administration of Alonzo Campbell and Samuel B. Scott,
who were respectively President and Cashier, was one of the most successful banking
institutions in Wisconsin, the bank then had a capital of $100,000, with a handsome
surplus, and had been for years paying its semi-annual 6-percent dividends, with an
occasional stock dividend, which in one case was 60 percent. Deposits averaged about
$150,000, and, in the busy season, when Kenosha was a wheat and grain market, drawing
its supplies from the rich prairies of Kenosha and Walworth, as well as
McHenry Co., Ill., the bank often turned its capital in a single day. This was the
condition of affairs when, two months after Durant took the position of cashier, the great
financial panic of 1857 burst upon the country. The correspondents of the bank in New York,
Buffalo, Cleveland and Chicago all failed, and Mr. Campbell, the President of the bank,
was prostrated by the shock and anxiety, and was for months confined to his house. But
without an appearance of weakness, and without losing the confidence of the
community, the bank was carried handsomely through by the young cashier, and in the January
following paid a cash dividend of 30 percent. In February, 1859, Durant accepted an
offer made him by the then well known dry goods jobbing house of Pierce Brothers & Flanders,
of Boston, and opened a branch mercantile establishment under the firm name of Durant & Co.,
in St. Louis. In 1860, the war broke upon the country. St. Louis, in the first few months,
suffered beyond most of the Western cities; there the secession flag was waved and
flaunted in the faces of loyal men, and it was expected that it might become
a battle-ground. In the collapse of Western banks, and the failure of the Boston house,
a few months swept away the earnings of years, but the debts of the concern were promptly
paid, and Durant had just closed up his business in St. Louis when he was invited to
go to Kenosha and investigate the affairs of the City Bank, which, in consequence of losses
entailed upon it by failure of correspondents and customers, as
well as by the heavy losses from depreciation of Southern State bonds, by which its
circulation in common with most of the Northwestern banks was secured, had closed its
doors. A few days sufficed to show that the bank could pay its depositors, and the
stockholders still hold about $25,000 of capital, and though none of its assets were at
once available, and at the time Durant returned to Kenosha, its depositors were
selling their accounts at 30 cents on the dollar. Within a fortnight after his return,
nd with but about $1,000 cash in its vaults, yielding to the solicitation of Deacon George
Bennett (one of the old and stanch business men of Kenosha for a quarter of a century), who
appeared at the bank window and rapped for admittance, shaking a $5,000 bag of gold which
he said he wished to deposit, Durant threw the bank door open and commenced doing business,
to the surprise of all the stockholders. Such was the faith reposed in the management, that
instead of deposits being called for, they were increased by the addition of about $16,000
the first week. The bank did a prosperous business, increasing its capital, and paying
its regular dividends, until its cashier, going to Washington, obtained the charter of
the First National Bank of Kenosha, and merged the affairs of the City Bank in it, he
taking the management of the new bank. In 1865, yielding to the persuasions of his first
employers, he left Kenosha, and took an interest in a large cutlery manufacturing concern
in his native town, himself locating in New York, in charge of the company's office there,
but still retaining his interest in the manufacturing concern of Durant, Van Arsdale & Co.,
in Kenosha, which company was then doing a flourishing business. In the ebbing of the tide
which followed the close of the war, and through lax management of the New England factory,
heavy losses followed. The larger stockholders of the company persuaded Durant to remove to
New England and take charge of the manufactory, which he did, acting as President and
Superintendent of the company for a year or more; but the change was made too late, and,
in closing the company's affairs, D. was left to begin life anew. So little blame was
attached to him, that before closing his connection with the company, he had for a little
time been manager, he was offered the superintendency of two of the largest cutlery
establishments in the country - the Etna, of New Britain, Conn., employing 400 men, and
the Beaver Falls, of Beaver Falls, Penn., employing nearly 300 men. Preferring his old
Kenosha home, he returned to that place and laid the foundation of the business with which
he is at present connected. Commencing with a man and boy in 1870, hbe organized the
Kenosha Hardware Company, having the same shareholders the Racine Hardware Company has
to-day. In 1874, the company employed about fifty men. In the summer of
that year, the business was removed to Racine, and with increased facilities, has added
to its business until 150 hands are now employed. Every detail of the business from
its beginning has passed under his eye, and nearly all the goods manufactured have been
designed by him, and are covered by numerous patents issued to him. Mr. D. has not given
himself entirely to business, but, in his busy life, has found time for much outside work.
Has been fifteen years a Superintendent of Sabbath schools; President of the Racine and
Kenosha County S. S. Association; and Secretary of the Wisconsin State Association for
some years, which positions he still holds. Unable to participate actively in the war of
1860 to 1865, he voluntarily sent a substitute, and did what he could for the cause at home.
With no taste for politics, he was for some years an Alderman in Kenosha, having
been elected on the temperance issue. He married, in 1864, Caroline, daughter of
George Darling, M. D., of St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.; he has two sons and a daughter.
A. P. DUTTON, came to Racine spring of 1841; went into the produce business, firm of
Murfey & Dutton; remained in that business twenty-five years; first five years the
firm was as above, then changed to Dutton & Raymonds; continued ten years, then changed to
A. P. Dutton ;at one time they owned three warehouses, and bought largely all kinds of grain,
wool, pork, etc., etc.; their firm shipped in early days as high as eight tons of butter per
year. A. P. Dutton was born in Batavia, N. Y., June 22, 1822; son of Wm. Dutton, one of
seven children. He married Miss Ann Whiteley, Feb. 27, 1843; she was born Sept. 17, 1824;
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Whiteley; they have had eleven children,
nine living - Marshall M., born Feb. 23, 1844; Walter B., Aug. 28, 1847; Duane D., Nov. 6,
1849; Fannie A., Feb. 6, 1852; Ellen E., Jan. 6, 1865; Andrew L., April 18, 1857;
Simeon W., Aug. 12, 1860; Buell B., Aug. 4, 1862; Jane K., Aug. 20, 1865. Mr. Dutton
built the house in which he now lives in 1848; all but two of their children were born therein;
Dr. Parks, D. D., founder of Racine College, bapized the children, five of them at one time.
Mr. Dutton was a member of City Council four years, President of the same two years, also
President of School Board two years; he now devotes most of his time to raising fast
horses on his farm of fifty acres, two and a-half miles from
the city. Mrs. Dutton is a member of the Episcopal Church the family attend.
JAMES EASSON, Captain and Master of the schooner Ruben Doud; came to Racine, May 9, 1844, with
Mr. Neal Lamont, his guardian; was born at Perth, Scotland, Sept. 12, 1832 son of
Thomas Easson; went on the lake while a boy, on board the Mary Leonard; earned a seaman's
wages at the age of 17 years; was mate of the schooner Whirlwind in 1852, and Master and
Captain, in 1854, of the Schooner Traveler; married, June 26, 1852, Miss Harriet Ramsdell,
born in Shoreham, Vt. They had five children - Irving L., born May 27, 1857; Walter and
Wallace (twins), April 7, 1860; Silvia Jane, Sept. 27, 1862; Hattie, Aug. 13, 1866.
Mrs. Harriet Easson died, Oct. 10, 1876. Married, June 17, 1877, Mrs. Sarah Durham, nee Cole;
born in Uster Co., N. Y. She had two children by her first marriage - Francis L., born in
New York, Feb. 6, 1858; Charles A., Sept. 27, 1862. They have one child, Edwin J., born
Dec. 9, 1878. Mr. Easson is a member of the Masonic Order.
CAPT. LAWRENCE EASSON, Master of Schooner J. R. Case; came to Racine, June, 1844, with Mr.
Neal Lamont, his guardian, from Scotland, where he was born in the year 1831, at the town
of Perth, son of Thomas and Mary Easson; worked with Mr. Neal Lamont, on his farm, about
three years then shipped, as boy, on board the schooner Mary Ann Leonard; at the age of 15
years, he was put before the mast, and was four years in that capacity; was then made
mate of the schooner Venice; has been sailing master now about thirty years, of different
vessels; his nautical education has been obtained in the above manner;
has never been ashore or met with any serious accident, but has been
reported missing several times. He married Malviene Hopkins, May 8, 1852; had one child -
James, born May 8, 1854, died Oct. 1, 1854. Mrs. Easson died Oct. 28, 1854. He married
Miss Alice Green, born in England. They have had eight children- Mary A., born Jan. 12, 1856;
Laura A., April 22, 1858; died Aug. 18, 1862; James A., born April 25, 1860;
Alice, Dec. 23, 1861; Malviene, Sept. 5, 1864; Laura A., Oct. 7, 1866; Carrie, Nov. 25, 1868,
died Jan. 26, 1873; Myron K., born Nov. 19, 1878. Mr. Easson is a Master Mason, and a member
of the Baptist Church, where the family attend.
EDWIN A. EDDY, master car department, W. U. R. R.; born April 5, 1812, at Williamstown, Mass.;
moved to Edinburgh, Portage Co., Ohio, in the winter of 1815, where he was educated;
in 1849 he went to Cleveland, Ohio and located in Racine in 1854. Married Miss
Ann P. Spiers, of Deerfield, Portage Co., Ohio, Aug. 13, 1853; has one child- George L.,
born May 10, 1856. Mr. Eddy and his son are both Knights Templar of the Masonic Order; Mr.
and Mrs. E. are members of the Episcopal Church.
EDWARD ALDEN EGERY was born at Three Rivers, Mich., Nov. 11, 1852; at an early age
he entered the office of the Three Rivers Reporter, where he remained seven
years; in 1871 he accepted the foremanship of the South Haven Sentinel, which
position he retained about a year and a half, then entered the job department of
the Kalamazoo Telegraph, remaining there for nearly two years; he then removed
to Battle Creek and took the foremanship of the Battle Creek Tribune, remaining
the same four years; while engaged in this office, he wrote for the paper, and was
frequently employed in reporting, and assumed the entire editorial charge of the paper
for three months during the editor's absence in Europe; during the campaign of 1876
he was selected by the County Committee as one of the speakers to canvass the district
in the interests of the Democracy; in April, 1878, he assumed the editorial and business
management of the Argus.
Tribune, Battle Creek writes:
E. A. Egery, formerly of the Tribune, has purchased the Racine (Wis.) Argus, and took possession
of the office on the 1st, of April. The paper will continue as heretofore to be the
exponent of Democratic principles. Mr. Egery is a skillful and practical printer, and a
good writer, and judging from the evidences already given in the field of journalism,
he will publish an able, wide-awake newspaper. We recommend him to the citizens of Racine,
and wish him abundant success - Tribune, Battle Creek.
Journal, Battle Creek, Mich. writes:
Mr. E. A. Egery, who has been prominently connected with journalism in our city, has
become proprietor of the Argus, a Democratic paper in Racine, Wis., and has already entered
upon its management. Mr. Egery is an enterprising journalist and a ready writer, who
fully comprehends the demands of his profession, and will unquestionably meet with
abundant success in his new undertaking. As most of our readers are aware, Mr. E.
is the son-in-law of Hon. W. W. Woolnough, of our city. - Journal, Battle Creek, Mich.
Reporter, Three Rivers, Mich. writes:
Our former foreman and boss pressman, E. A. Egery, has purchased the Racine Argus, and
continues his editorial career from where he began, in Battle Creek. Mr. E. is an
active, vigorous young man, and will put vim and vitality into anything he undertakes.
- Reporter, Three Rivers, Mich.
Evening News, Detroit, Mich. writes:
Mr. E. A. Egery, of Battle Creek, son-in-law of the able and venerable Woolnough, of
the Michigan Tribune, and himself a journalist of ability, has become proprietor of
the Racine (Wis.) Argus - Evening News, Detroit, Mich.
Expounder, Marshall, Mich. writes:
Mr. E. A. Egery, of Battle Creek, formerly in the office of the Battle Creek Tribune,
has purchased the Racine, (Wis.) Argus, and has gone to work there with his usual energy.
Mr. Egery is a young man of much promise as an edifor, has sound views on the finances,
and is a capital printer, as all the Tribune readers can attest. Mr. E. is son-in-law of
that well known veteran, Hon. W. W. Woolnough. - Expounder, Marshall, Mich.
CHARLES EHRHARDT, Western Hotel, 119 Main street; was born in the town of Reubtentorf,
Germany, Aug. 13, 1828; his early education was obtained there; commenced work at an
early age, watching cattle, etc. was pressed into the regular army at the age of 20 years;
was in four battles remained two years and deserted; left Bremen for America on a
sail-ship; she was fifty-nine days making the trip to New York; he shipped on board
the steamship Roanoke, for Norfolk, Va.; hired out on a farm near that city, and stayed
there five years with one employer, and four years with another, after which he
purchased seventy-five acres, one and one-half miles from the city, on the "Bay;"
remained there farming until 1861; was drafted into the Rebel army; deserted and
went North in 1861; was in that army eleven months; his property was confiscated by the
Confederates, and he has never regained it. He married, Nov. 13, 1860, Miss Clotilda M. Schmidt,
daughter of Michael Schmidt, teacher of music, and other branches, in the village of Kaffal,
near Sonnaborg, Germany; one child- was born and died same day. Came to Racine
in May, 1862: was in the second-hand business, dealing in all kinds of merchandise, for
fourteen years; has been in the hotel business four years; owns his own house. Religious
faith, Lutheran. Politics, Democrat.
DR. W. H. EISEN, physician and surgeon; was born in Denmark, March 26, 1840; in 1857,
he came to Cleveland, Ohio, and was a resident of that State for five years; in 1862,
he removed to Chicago, and, in 1863, returned to Denmark, where he staid two years;
he came to Racine in July, 1878. The Doctor and his wife are members of the
Norwegian Methodist Church. They have two children- Christian H. and William Th.;
another son, August, died in March, 1877, aged 4 years.
L. ELHOLM, boot and shoe dealer, and mitten manufacturer, Washington Ave.; was born in
Denmark; his parents died when he was very young - he was separated from his brothers
and sisters, and lived with an uncle for a number of years, then went to learn the
shoemaker's trade, with a Mr. Witt; he worked for him five years, and got nothing
except his board and washing; after he finished his trade, he
worked at journey work in Copenhagen; after a time, he bought a machine and commenced
making rubbers for shoemakers, but he soon gave it up, as it did not pay; the time came
for him to be a soldier; he was fortunate enough to draw a free number, but he went as
a substitute, for 100 rix-thalers; when he left the army, he went into business
for himself, but, not prospering, closed out, and came to America in 1870; his
first stop, for any length of time, was at Chicago; he had great difficulty in
obtaining a situation from not being able to speak English, but finally succeeded,
and, after awhile, went into business for himself again, but unsuccessfully, and he
again closed up and went to work in a box factory; after working at it, for some time,
and economizing, he was again enabled to start for himself, and this time successfully.
While in Chicago, he married Miss Sophia Larsen, a native of Germany. In 1872, he
removed to Racine, and worked at journey work, manufacturing mittens, for a short time,
and then went into business for himself with Mr. Hoffman; they did an extensive business
for two years, and he sold out and built a fine house, and started the boot and shoe business
in connection with manufacturing mittens, and is still carrying on a successful
business at his present location.
DR. JOHN J. ELMENDORF, was born in New York City, 1827; came to Racine, 1868; is
Professor in Philosophy and English Literature; is a descendant of the old
Elmendorf family, who were among the first settlers from Holland along the Hudson.
Married Hermana, Green, of Bellows Falls, Vt., who is a cousin of Dr. Samuel Green,
one of the Trustees of Harvard College.
THOMAS J. EMERSON, proprietor of oil mills, is a native of Boothbay, Knox Co., Maine,
and came from Thurston, in that county, in December, 1840; he began the practice of law
in that year, and, on the 17th of May, 1844, came to Racine, where he continued his
profession until 1855; he then entered the real-estate business, which he was engaged
in until 1862; in August of that year he became Collector of Internal Revenue, which office
he held until October, 1866; in 1872 he engaged in his present business; in the winter of
1841-42, he was Assistant Secretary of the Council of the Territorial Government; in
1854 and 1855 he bought six or seven thousand acres of Fox River Lands.
GEORGE Q. ERSKINE, Secretary of J. I. Case Plow Co., came to Racine in October, 1852,
and entered the law office of Doolittle & Cary; in 1853, he was admitted to the bar,
and the firm became Cary & Erskine, which firm continued for one and a-half years; he
then entered upon that active business career for which he is distinguished, and for
seven years was engaged in shipping and freighting contracting with railroads for wood,
and in the manufacture and shipping of brick, which branch of business he pursued
exclusively for twelve years, although interested in it until 1873, making twenty years
in all; he was a member of the Legislature in 1865, and in April, 1867 was appointed
Collector of Internal Revenue, which office he held until July, 1875; he has been
connected with the Plow Co. since its organization; is a Director in the
Manufacturer's National Bank, and also a stockholder in the Racine Silver Plate Co.;
he was one of the organizers of the First National Bank, of Fargo, Dakota Territory,
and is still connected with that institution. Mr. Erskine is one of the Board of Trustees
of the Baptist Church.
MASSINA B. ERSKINE, of the firm of J. I. Case & Co., is a native of
Roylston, Worcester Co., Mass.; lived in Richmond, Cheshire Co., N. H., from his infancy
until 15 years of age, then returned to Massachusetts. He went to California, March 1, 1849;
remained there two years; returned again to Massachusetts, and, June 8, 1852, came to Racine,
where he engaged in his present business; he is a Director of the Manufacturers'
National Bank, and has been Treasurer of the Taylor Orphan Asylum
over three years; he has filled the offices of School Commissioner, Supervisor and Mayor,
and is a Trustee of the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. Erskine married Susan Perry,
April 7, 1841; she was born at Natick, Mass.; they have had five children - Susan Eliza,
deceased; Freeman W., who enlisted during the rebellion and died of fever; Charles E.,
now a resident of Racine; Emma J. (now Mrs. W. H. Crosbie), of Racine, and Flora A.,
residing at home. Mrs. Erskine is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
E. R. EVANS, veterinary surgeon, corner Wisconsin and Seventh streets; came to Racine
June, 1874 from Utica, N. Y.; was born in Montgomeryshire, Wales, in 1836; came
to America in 1866; graduated at the Caermarthenshire College. Married, in 1859,
Margarett Roberts, daughter of Robert J. Roberts, of "Balla," Wales; they have
seven children, two boys and five girls - Christmas Evans, born Nov. 2, 1860;
Laura Jane, Nov. 6, 1862; Katie, Dec. 24, 1864; Maggie, Jan. 20, 1866; Ruth,
April 12, 1869; John, Nov. 23, 1872; Winnie, Sept. 4, 1875. Mr. Evans was elected
Justice of the Peace, at Utica, N. Y., in 1870. All members of the Congregational Church.
EVAN R. EVANS, carpenter; born in North Wales July 3, 1831 came to America to
Columbia, Co., Wis.; came to Racine, 1852; engaged with Mr. Lucas Bradley, and is still
in his employ. Married Miss Minnie Edwards, Feb. 22, 1859; she was born in North Wales;
they have had six children - Susie, born in Columbia Co., Wis.; Mary S., Willie A.,
Ezra, Eddie E., Charles H., born in Racine. Members of the Welsh Calvinistic Church.
Also a Master Mason.
DR. F. W. A. FALK, Racine College; Doctor of Theology and Doctor of Philosophy, and
Professor in Racine College; born in Prussia; came to America in 1852; was Professor
in St. James College, Maryland, from 1855 to 1864; afterward Professor in Franklin
and Marshall College, Lancaster, Penn., from 1864 to 1867; came to Racine in 1867.
MRS. LINAI J. FALVEY, born in Walworth Co., Wis., in 1840; she came to Racine in 1864;
her father was the first white man married in Walworth Co. She married Aug. 16, 1864,
Mr. Thomas Falvey; they have had three children, two living - Mary, born June 1, 1865,
died January, 1877; John, born May 2, 1867; Thomas, Oct. 18, 1871. Her husband,
Mr. Thomas Falvey, was a manufacturer of reapers and mowers; in 1855, he was a member
of the State Legislature; was Mayor of the city of Racine in 1864; those offices
he filled in an exceedingly satisfactory manner; he was beloved by all who knew him;
during the war, he had a number of contracts with the Government; he was connected
with Mr. Henry Mitchell, furnishing the Government with wagons, and he himself
furnished the Government with horses, haversacks, etc.; later he was a manufacturer of
reapers and mowers, which business he engaged in up to the time of his sudden and
unexpected death, January, 1878. The following obituary
was clipped from the Burlington Standard:
Mr. Thomas Falvey, who was well known throughout the State as an energetic business
man and social, companionable gentleman, died very suddenly at the home of his mother,
in Racine Co., Wis., in January last, and the following, from a local paper, with
regard to his life and death, will be read with interest by Many in this section of the State:
Editor Burlington Standard: The sudden death of the Hon. Thomas Falvey, carries a
pang of sadness and regret to the bosoms of personal acquaintances and friends in
this section of the country, and, no doubt, to large numbers of such all over the
Northwest. By those who knew him best, and most intimately, he was most appreciated
and esteemed. As a friend, Mr. Falvey possessed a kind congeniality, and was
most steadfast and unswerving. Many will remember, ever, the friendly assurance of
his beaming, hearty hail, and grieve that they are no
more to meet it on earth. As a business man, Mr. Falvey was most enterprising, energetic,
courageous and honorable. Not confining his aspirations and movements to a
closely-ciphered certainty of personal emolument, perhaps, but often, seemingly, governed,
in those earlier years of his most active business life, by a desire to meet
the wants of the country and the demands of the times - stimulated, no doubt, by an
ambition to do his share of the active work of building up the material interests of
the great Northwest. Dealing with him extensively through a long series of years, the
writer found him always one of the most honorable, reasonable and kindly of business men -
no symptoms of difficulty or business unpleasantness ever occurred between us. And this
writer is not alone in this estimate of Mr. Falvey. Tn talking of his sudden demise,
and of our common acquaintance with the deceased, with one who had also long dealt with
Mr. Falvey, the same estimate of his character was expressed. The acquaintance of the
person referred to was not confined to business alone, but had become an intimate
friendship, and possibly to no other person outside of his own family had Mr. Falvey
developed the real features of the soul within him as fully. Ask this friend and
he will tell you that Thomas Falvey possessed a soul tender and sympathetic as a
maiden or a child - yet most courageous, brave and noble. As an instance of the one
characteristic, he would cite his invariable consideration and reverence for his mother.
When making a business or a friendly call, sometimes near night - more than twenty miles
from home - this friend would urge him to stop over until morning. He would, with
grateful acknowledgment, say no; 'Mother expects me home.' We speak of years ago,
when his home was with his mother. As evidence of the brave, courageous and noble,
this friend would tell you of expressions, in later years, when business embarrassments
had overtaken him, from confiding property and transactions too freely to other hands,
from the necessities of his wide-spread operations, advised by others, well-meaning toward
him, to commute with his creditors at a percentage on his liabilities, he would say to
this friend, 'I can pay 100 cents on the dollar, and I shall do it.' And so, it is said,
he has done, through years devoted to attain it. It is but recently that he wrote to
this friend that he had got his matters all straightened, and he appeared to be in the
best of spirits on that account, and hopeful. He had made arrangements in Kansas to
manufacture irons for a railroad, and expressed, that there he could superintend the
business and be with his family, and not, so much abroad, and it was on his return from the
locality of his future business that he fell - unable to reach the near threshold of his
family - at the threshold of the house of his mother, and expired. Oh, that human aid
could avail, and avail after the fact. Then would many feet rush to that prostrate form -
the ebbing life would be stayed, and the husband and father saved to the happiness
of that home so dear to him, but now so stricken and desolate. But One wiser than man rules,
though 'His ways are past finding out.' But shall we not trust that the brave and noble soul
of our friend is gone to a happier existence, and that He who has stricken will be the widow's
God and the Father of the fatherless. Let no human
otherwise than aid, shield and protect, the stricken ones."
HARRISON FELLOWS, of the firm of Cogswell & Fellows, wood and coal merchants; was born
in 1840, in Vermont; came to Racine at the age of 6 months; at 19, he shipped as a
sailor on the lakes, and continued till the summer of 1873; in the fall of 1873,
he formed a partnership with Mr. William Higgie, in the wood and coal business, continuing
till the spring of 1876, when Mr. A. W. Cogswell succeeded Mr. Higgie in the business.
In August, 1861, he married Miss Jane M. Higgie, a native of Scotland; they have had
three children, two daughters and one son. Members of the Congregational Church. Republican.
NORTON J. FIELD, Station Agent W. U. R. R. born Sept. 26, 1839, in Elba, Genesee Co., N. Y.;
came to Racine in 1846, where he received a college education and graduated; he enlisted
in April, 1861, in Company F, 2d W. I., and took part in all battles fought by his regiment,
until he was discharged at Annapolis, in June, 1862; he was elected member of the
Legislature in 1876, 1877 and 1879, the last time receiving 1,443 votes against 1,110
polled for his opponent. He is a Knight Templar of the Masonic Order.
ALANSON FILER, insurance agent; was born in Herkimer Co., N. Y.; he came to Chicago in
the spring of 1833, before there was a frame building in the place; his business was
cabinet-making, and he carried it on until the summer of 1835, and, in the fall of that
year, he came to Racine; he was occupied, from time to time, in various pursuits,
but has been in his present business for the last ten years. Mr. Filer was one of the
original members of what is known among the Methodists of the Northwest,
as "Old Clark Street" Church. His name necessarily occurs so frequently in this work,
being so completely identified with the history of Racine, that a more extended sketch
would be a work of supererogation.
A. C. FISH was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., Aug. 13, 1835. In 1846, his parents moved
West and settled on Rock Prairie, near Janesville, Wis. As a boy on the farm, Mr. Fish was
noted for his steady habits and his persevering industry. His parents were poor. He did not
ask for or take any holidays. The only opportunity he had for going to school was a few weeks
each year during the winter months. He made the most of these. At 21, he left the farm, with
his little savings, consisting of about $10 in silver, and started to walk to Racine, with
the purpose of attending the Racine High School, then under the charge of John G. McMynn. The
first person he met, on arriving in Racine, recommended him to apply to J. I. Case, for the
privilege of boarding with him, and to pay for his board by working about the threshing
machine factory before and after school, and on Saturdays. Mr. Case very kindly gave him
the opportunity sought. At the end of the first term of school, his little savings were
exhausted, and he applied for and received the appointment of teacher of the district
school in the town of Yorkville, Racine Co. Some of the stanch farmers of the town remember
him for other qualities than those of "pulling at the stick" successfully. At the end of
the winter term of the Yorkville school, Mr. Fish returned to Janesville and attended
the high school one term, and was then appointed Principal of the First Ward Grammar School
in that city, a position which he held for three years. These were years of hardest work,
for, in addition to the labor of teaching a large school, he took private lessons in Latin
and Greek, and obtained his preparation for college. He entered the Freshman class
in Tuft's College, near Boston, in September, 1860. He served his country as a common soldier,
in the 44th Mass. Regt., during the Junior year of his college course; made up the studies,
and graduated with his class in 1864. He then taught the high school at Melrose, near Boston,
a year and a half, putting all his leisure time into the study of the law, in the office of
Hon. D. W. Gooch, of Boston. He was admitted to the Boston bar, on examination before
Hon. Uriel H. Crocker, in January, 1866. Receiving, at this time, from his brother,
T. G. Fish, in Racine, Wis., most tempting inducements to go into the manufacturing
business with him, he bought out Daniel Bull and entered into partnership with his brother,
under the firm name of Fish Brothers. The brothers, working assiduously and harmoniously
together, built up a large and flourishing business in Racine, in the manufacture of farm
wagons and carriages. In the spring of 1873, A. C. Fish sold out his interest in the
wagon business to his two brothers, T. G. and E. B. Fish, and J. C. Huggins. We copy
the following from the Racine Journal of May 21, 1873:
PRESENTATION--A PLEASANT AFFAIR AT FISH BROTHERS' WAGON MANUFACTORY-THE ADDRESSES, ETC.
Last Saturday afternoon, Mr. A. C Fish, the second member of the firm of Fish Brothers,
retired from the firm. The employes, as a slight testimonial of respect for him, presented
him with a magnificent gold chain, locket and ring, which were purchased at Watt's, and
valued at $125. A few minutes before 5, the whistle sounded, and the employes, 180 in number,
assembled in front of the office, and one of the number was sent to invite Mr. Fish out.
Busily engaged in writing, he had not noticed the gathering, and, as he stepped out of the
door, he involuntarily asked, "Why, what's the matter?" He found out, for, just at this
time, Mr. George H. Smith stepped forward and, in the following appropriate remarks,
made the presentation:
"Mr. Fish: It is no ordinary occasion that calls us together to-day. You have been
invited here for the purpose of taking a formal leave from us, your employes. Learning that
you had severed your business relations with this establishment, and were about to engage
in another and, to you, more congenial profession, we, the workmen employed in your
manufactory, with whom you have been so intimately associated for the last seven Years,
desire to express, in some substantial manner, our high appreciation of your universal
kindness, noble qualities, generous impulses and gentlemanly demeanor; and to accomplish
this end, we have procured a slight testimonial, which we ask you to accept; not for its
intrinsic value alone, but that, in after years, when recurring to this event,
it may serve to remind you of the spontaneous enthusiasm with which each member, whose
name is attached herewith, subscribes himself your friend, in the fullest acceptation
of the term, wishing that your future career may be crowned with happiness and prosperity."
To say that Mr. Fish was completely surprised, would do but faint justice to it; but
he rallied bravely, and thus thanked them:
"Boys: I thank you for these tokens of your esteem. I accept them in the same spirit
with which they are given. * * * * As an incentive for the future, as a memento of
the past, as tokens of your appreciation and respect, these gifts are invaluable to me -
more prized than the gold and precious stones of which they are made. May this chain prove
the means of forging many links in that golden chain of friendship that binds us together,
each to the other and all to each - that chain of human sympathy and good-will which
neither time nor distance can sever. May the spirit of kindness and co-operation, of
mutual respect and esteem, continue between employers and employes in the firm of
Fish Bros. & Co.; may it be, like the ring which you give me as a token, without end."
Then, with three rousing cheers for A. C. Fish, the men dispersed.
On retiring from business the old question which had previously puzzled Mr. Fish, again
came up - the question whether he could do more good in the world by preaching than by
practicing law. After duly considering the matter, he began work as a lay-preacher in the
Church of the Good Shepherd, Racine. In 1814, in addition to his work in the church, he
was appointed City Superintendent of the Schools of Racine. In the spring of 1875, he
broke down in health from overwork, and was advised by his physicians to give up all
professional labor. He then engaged in business at Racine Junction. Having in
a measure regained his health, he began the practice of law in Racine, in the winter of 1878,
and in the fall of the same year, was elected District Attorney of Racine County, the
office which he now fills.
ED. B. FISH, of the firm of Fish Bros., wagon manufacturers, is a native of Cayuga Co., N. Y.,
and came to Wisconsin in 1847, locating at Janesville; there he enlisted, in Aug., 1862,
in the 12th Wis. Battery, and served three years, being mustered out in the spring of 1865,
when he came to Racine and engaged in his present business.
TITUS G. FISH, of the firm of Fish Bros. & Co., wagon manufacturers, is a native of
Scipio, Cayuga Co., N. Y.; he came to Janesville, Wis., in the spring of 1847, and was
engaged in farming until he, came to Racine; in 1862 he embarked in his present business;
he has been Alderman from the Fifth Ward for twelve years, and President of the
Council for six years.
MRS. MARY FISHER, widow of Geo. J. Fisher; she was born in Lorraine, France; her maiden
name was Mary Frances Frederick; left her native place April 15, 1850; went to Buffalo, N. Y.,
where she lived two years; here she married, Oct. 28, 1852, Geo. J. Fisher; they came to
Racine Nov. 3, 1852; he engaged in the grocery business, and remained in it up to the
time of his death, May 30, 1868; they had five sons - George and Jacob, twins, born Nov. 3, 1853;
Jacob died in infancy, George died when two months old; Charley, born May 30, 1860, died
Dec., 1861; Jobnny, born 4th of July, died 25th; Joseph George, born October 9, 1861, and
assists his mother in the grocery business; since the
death of her husband, has paid up all of their debts and built a new brick building on the
corner of Wisconsin and Hubbard streets, where her grocery and dry-goods store is located;
she has a pleasant home there, also owns a house and lot adjoining it on Wisconsin street.
Mrs. Fisher is an active, business-like lady, and her efforts are being crowned with success.
ADOLPHUS FIXEN, of the firm of Fixen & Hansing, dry goods and carpets, came to this
State in 1853, located at Racine and engaged in mercantile business until 1860;
in Sept., 1861, Mr. Fixen started under the firm name of Roggenbaw & Fixen in the
dry-goods business on Main street; he was born in Holstein, Germany; married, in 1857,
Miss Bertha Rittmann, a native of Hamburg, Germany; they have had five children -
three sons and two daughters - four still living; members of the Baptist Church.
REV. ANTHONY FOECKLER. Pastor St. Joseph's Catholic Church; born Sept. 12 1838, in Germany;
educated in Spire City of Palatine, Bavaria; came to Wisconsin Sept., 1861, locating
at St. Francis Seminary, Milwaukee; was ordained by Archbishop Hennie, June 29, 1863; came to
Racine Aug. 26, 1877, where he finished his present church and also founded the school,
which is under the charge of the Dominican Sisters.
ALFRED H. FOSTER was born in Tunbridge, Vt., 1831; went to Chelsea, Vt., and remained
there till 1851 ; came to Racine May 27, 1851, and, in 1856, commenced running a mixed train
- passenger and freight - when the road only extended to Fox River; the Western Union R. R.
was then in its infancy, and is now a first-class road; Mr. Foster has been a faithful
employe of the road through all its changes, and is now one of their oldest and trusted
passenger conductors. He married, at Union Grove, Dec. 30, 1861, Mary E. Eastman, a
resident of Racine; has one child - Agnes L., 17 years old.
SAMUEL FOX, engineer, with J. I. Case & Co.; came from Crestline, Richland Co., Ohio, in 1859,
to Racine; commenced working for Case & Co. in 1863, and has held the same position till
the present time, a period of sixteen years. He married, Nov. 19, 1861, in Racine, Eliza Allen,
daughter of Jesse Allen, Esq., of Whitesboro, Oneida Co., N. Y.
WILLIAM FRANK, born in Germany, Nov. 4, 1804; went to New York in 1836; afterward to Chicago,
and was there seven years; worked there as carpenter upon the residence of Wm. B Ogden,
also upon the Illinois and Michigan Canal when it was first commenced; came to Racine,
July 21: 1845, and has resided here to present time. Married, May 13, 1843, Mary Bee, a native
of France; have one son living - J. W. Frank, born in Chicago; has been employed as printer
and editor, both in Racine and Chicago; is now one of the editors of the Racine Journal.
STEPHEN FREEMAN, manufacturer of boilers, steam engines, ornamental gray castings ornamental
florists' goods, etc.; was born in Wales, and came to America in 1856, locating at Rome, N. Y.;
he afterward went to St. Louis; was several years in Centralia, Ill., and went to Milwaukee
in 1864. Previous to that, he had served two years with Admiral Porter as constructor; he
came to Racine in 1867, and worked as boiler-maker until he established his present business, 1870;
he employs about ninety-five men, and his goods find a market in Europe, as well as in
this country. Mr. Freeman's son Charles is associated with him in business, under the firm
name of S. Freeman & Son.
J. H. FRYER, Blake House, Sixth street; was born at Whitewater, Wis., Feb. 11, 1850;
came to Racine, May, 1, 1878; was brought up on a farm; his early education was obtained
at the public schools, Whitewater, and at Milton College; went to Colorado in 1874, and engaged
in mining at the San Juan mines; returned to Whitewater in the fall of 1876; traveled in the
State of Iowa the year 1877 for the National Copying Co., of Chicago. He married Miss
Alma A. Williams, April 17, 1878, daughter of N. D. Williams, of Whitewater, Wis.
Religious belief, Liberal. Politics, Democrat. He has adopted the hotel business for the future.
HENRY T. FULLER, attorney; came to Racine in May, 1848, since which time he has been
engaged here in the practice of his profession; he has been one of the Directors of
the Manufacturers' National Bank since its organization, and is President and Director of
the Artesian Well Co.; he is Director of and attorney for the W. U. R. R. Co.
WILLIAM FULLER, of the firm of Fuller & Wright, liverymen; was born near
Waterville, Oneida Co., N. Y., and came to Racine in 1850; he was engaged in sailing
four years; and in April 1861, he enlisted in Company F, 2d Wis. V. I., the original
"Racine Belle City Rifles;" he served until June 10, 1864; he was wounded at the first
battle of Bull Run, and was transferred to the invalid corps in 1863, being partially
disabled. He was connected with the Racine & Miss. and W. U. R. R. from June, 1864, to
May, 1878, ten years as conductor; in June of that year he entered his present business.
AUG. GARNKAUFER, Sixth street, Racine; born in Germany June 3, 1828; emigrated
to Freeport, Ill., in 1856; was there eight years; went from there to Chicago, and then
to New Orleans, and came to Racine in the fall of 1866; established and carried on a
merchant-tailoring business successfully during The past fourteen years. Married
Bertha Billerbeck in 1857; have six children, all living, Both members of the Catholic Church.
FREDERICK A. GEBHARDT, cooper; born in Sangerhausen, Prussia, Nov. 27, 1824;
went to Troy, N. Y., in 1849; came to Racine in November, 1849. Married, April 26, 1854,
in Racine, Magdaline Schuettler, a native of Ofstein by Worms; has four children - Julia,
Sarah, William and Mary; Julia is married to Herbert Jillson, son of Alonzo Jillson;
the second daughter, Sarah, is married to Wm. Kranz. Mr. Gebhardt learned his trade in
Racine, and worked with different men until 1854, when he started a cooper-shop for himself;
he has worked up a large trade, making mostly tight work, for shipping beef, pork and liquors;
he manufactures largely for Chicago and Milwaukee shippers;
and, as his work is well known for good workmanship and reliability, it is largely in demand.
His family are members of the German Methodist Church.
FRANK J. GIBSON, outside foreman of J. I. Case & Co.'s works; came from Centreville,
Oswego Co., N. Y., to Racine, May 21,1856; enlisted in 22d Wisconsin, Aug. 15, 1862;
was with his regiment in all engagements till mustered out at the close of the war;
married in Oct 1872, in Racine, Martha Roberts, a native of this place; they have two
children - Jessie M. and Frances.
EDWARD GILLEN, of the firm or Knapp & Gillen, general contractors; born Feb. 22,
1843, in Ohio; came to Wisconsin with his parents at the age of two years, locating at Racine;
at the age of 14 he commenced work for F. M. Beckwith, ship-builder, remaining with him
for five years; in 1862, joined the 22d Wis. regt. at Racine, and took part in all the battles
of Sherman's army, from Cbattanooga to Atlanta; was taken prisoner March 25, 1863, and taken
to Libby Prison; paroled and exchanged May 6 in 1868, during the Pike's Peak fever, in
company with his brotber, he started for that, place, but receiving such discouraging
reports, returned and started for California, but they received no better news
from there, as hundreds were returning in a starving condition; in 1867, started
business for himself, and continued for three years; in 1870, formed a partnership with
F. M. Knapp as general contractor, which firm still continues; July, 1865, married
Miss Mary C. Mulhern, a native of Ireland; they have had seven children - five
boys and two girls; members of the Catholic Church; Republican.
HOMER GLASS, coal merchant and vessel-owner; born April 20, 1820 in Ohio; came
to Wisconsin Oct., 1846, locating at Kenosha, where he engaged in the milling business
for two years; in 1848, came to Racine, and was engaged in building the Sage Mill; in 1858,
he formed a partnership with J. W. Hart, and built the Racine City Mill, which they
operated until 1864, after which he went into the vessel trade, and built several
elevators in Racine and vicinity; 1870, started the wood and coal business;
Jan. 1, 1842, married Miss Laura Odell, a native of Vermont; they have had seven children,
two boys and five girls; two are dead; Mr. Glass and family are members of the Congregational Church.
GEORGE GORTON. Secretary and Treasurer Racin Basket Mfg. Co.; born in Roehdale, England,
Dec. 25, 1838; came, in 1850, to Kenosha; thence to Racine; was in the drug business on
Main street, firm of Thorpe & Gorton, for sixteen years, at the stand where Mr. Harbridge
is now located; Mr. Thorpe now lives in Montana; Mr. Gorton married Miss Anna Buffham,
of Milburn, Lake Co., Ill., who also was born in Rochdale, England, Oct. 21, 1832;
died Oct. 16, 1862; she was the daughter of William and Elita Buffham; Mr. Gorton
had three children by his first marriage, born in Racine - Minnie, Eliza and
Annie; George, Jr., born in 1865, Charles, in 1868, by the second marriage, which took place
May 9, 1864; members of Baptist Church.
HUGH GORTON, of the firm of Gorton & Jones, butchers, was born in Rochdale, Eng., in 1831;
came to Wisconsin in 1851; married Miss Janett M. Smith in 1853; she was born in Scotland in
1834; they have four children, two sons and two daughters. Mr. Gorton served as Supervisor for one
term, in the years 1878-79.
FRED GOTTBEHUET, born in Saxony, Germany, April 5, 1840; came to Racine
Sept., 1855; here engaged in the confectionery business, remained one year, then went to
Baltimore, Md., and lived there until 1861; then went to Zanesville, O.; enlisted in the
37th Ohio Regiment, Company H; participated in all the battles of his regiment;
was taken prisoner, May 17, 1862; was paroled for twelve days; mustered out at
Columbus, O., Nov., 1862, then returned to Racine and engaged in the manufacture of cigars.
Married, May 31, 1863, Louisa Abesser, of Racine. In 1867, he was Trustee of the
Fire Department, in 1869, was appointed, by the City Council, Chief of the Fire Department,
which office he held for eight years, the full term. In all of those positions, he gave
universal satisfaction to the citizens of Racine. Odd Fellows fraternity, also of the
Racine Turner Society. He is now engaged in the restaurant business, at No. 64 Sixth street,
WM. H. GREGORY, foreman, W. U. R. R., was born Feb. 5, 1847, in Clinton Co., N. Y.; went to
Essex Co., N. Y., then to Illinois, and worked on the C. B. & Q. R. R; lived in Vermont
for two years; went to Long Island, N. Y.; came to Racine in 1872; enlisted in Co. C,
8th U. S. Infantry, Aug. 19, 1862, and fought at Gettysburg, Chancellorsville, the Wilderness,
Poplar Grove Church, and was present at the explosion of the Petersburg mine; he
also took part in all other battles and skirmishes fought by his regiment, until
the close of the war; he was promoted Sergeant in April, 1864. Married Miss Ellen M. Barnhart,
of Racine, July 4, 1877, and has two children - Florence I., born March 10, 1878;
William H., Feb. 10, 1879. Mr. and Mrs. G. are both members of the Episcopal Church.
DAVID F. GRISWOLD, local editor Racine Argus, and daily correspondent and reporter
of the Milwaukee Sentinel: born in Racine, Dec. 26, 1855; always lived, and was
educated here; his trade of printer, with C. Z. Wentworth, who was editor at that time,
of the Racine Argus; worked as compositor on the Chicago Times for some time, also worked
for the Racine Advocate as reporter, also for the Journal.
c. M. HAMBRIGHT, woolen manufacturer; born in Rochester, Racine Co., Wis., July 7, 1840;
came to Racine, April, 1867; was book-keeper at the Racine Woolen Mills several years.
Married Miss Lucy Gould, of Beaver Dam, Wis., the daughter of Ingraham Gould; they have
two children - Flora E., born in Racine, Sept. 18, 1870; Harry G., in Beaver Dam, Jan. 28, 1873;
Mr. Hambright owns stock in the Racine Woolen Mills; he enlisted in the 53d Wis. Regt. V. I.,
February, 1863; was appointed Quartermaster's Clerk; assigned to duty at Madison; fitted out
three companies and sent them South; he had a very severe attack of rheumatism;
prostrated for six weeks; was helpless. Members of the Presbyterian Church. Republican.
JOHN HAMILTON, born in St. Boswell's, Roxburyshire, Scotland, in October, 1817; went to
Geneva, Ontario Co., N. Y., and in 1837 with company of surveyors to Florida to survey lands; he
returned to Geneva in 1838, and in the fall of the same year went to Chicago to survey the
Chicago & Galena Railroad, the first railroad built out of Chicago; in 1842 returned to Geneva,
and same year to his native home in Scotland on a visit; in 1843, he returned from Scotland,
came direct to Racine, and located here permanently; he started a sash and blind factory
in Racine; in 1845, the factory was entirely destroyed by fire, and he lost everything he
owned, even his clothing; he again started business in the same line of manufacture, and
continued till 1852, when he made a contract with J. I. Case & Co., and has been connected
with them up to the present time as contractor. He married, in Racine, in December, 1846,
Sarah D. Bell, a native of Dumfriesshire, Scotland; they have had five children -
Isabella, Mary Isabella, Sarah Douglas, Barbara Alice and John L.; Mary Isabella died in 1878,
Isabella in infancy, John in 1876; they are buried in Mound Cemetery. Members of the
Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. H. is an Elder; it might also be mentioned, as an
historical fact, that in 1832, before Mr. Hamilton left Scotland, he was present as one of
the mourners at the funeral of Sir Walter Scott.
HON. ELBERT O. HAND, County Judge, is a native of New Lebanon, Columbia Co., N. Y , and
has lived in Wisconsin since 1841. He went to California in 1849, and was there four years;
he is a graduate of the Wisconsin University, Class of 1859, and also a graduate of the
Albany Law School, in June, 1860; he began practice in 1861, and came to Racine in
December of that year; he was City Attorney for four years, and in the fall of 186S
was appointed County Judge; he was elected to the office in 1869 and has since been
continually re-elected. He married, in September, 1861, Maggie S. Budd, a native of
Chatham, Columbia Co., N. Y.; they have five children - Mary L., Imogene F., Elbert O. Jr.,
Jessie and an infant daughter. Mr. and Mrs. Hand are members of the Presbyterian Church.
H. I. HANSON, meat market, No. 3 Washington avenue, was born in Denmark in 1852; came
to Wisconsin with his parents; married Miss Mary Thompson in 1874; she was born in Denmark
in 1854; they have three children - Thilta, Nora and Eta.
F. HARBRIDGE, grocer and druggist, was born in Chestertown, Cheshire County, England
June 19, 1837; came to Racine in 1864; married in 1868 Miss Mary McRitchie;
has four children - George, Frederick, Delamere F., Roy McDonald and Stewart McRitchie;
is a member of the Episcopalian Church; Mr. Harbridge has a very fine store, built of
Racine brick, with an iron front; is the neatest store of the kind in the city.
H. D. HARLIS, proprietor Harlis Rouse, Washington avenue; was born in Hanover, Germany,
in 1825; early education obtained at Cild at the common school; at the age of 18 years
he paid $40 and two years' time to learn the mason's trade; was pressed into the
regular army in 1846; served six years at sundry times; in six different engagements,
as follows: Ransburgh, Silaznic, Flansburgh and Fort Dipple
(Rainkassen, in Denmark, called Yeatland); deserted in the year 1852, and left wife and
children, and started for America on a sailing ship; passage to New York, only eighteen days
from Liverpool; came to Wisconsin, Oct., 1852 traveled three years, and then settled at
Kenosha with his family, whom he had sent for; he married, in 1849, Miss Carrie Shields;
they have had ten children - Ettie C., Carrie D., Henry Dedrich, Frank T., Lizzie D.,
Augusta A., William F., George F. Frank T. died in Oct., 1857; Lizzie died the same
month and year; they lived about 17 weeks; George F. died Oct., 1866; he also enlisted in the 1st
Wis. Heavy Artillery, Co. K., in the spring of 1864; mustered in as a private; appointed
Orderly Sergeant, served till the war was ended, and was honorably discharged July, 1865;
returned to Kenosha, and went into the hotel business; came to Racine in 1876, and
bought his resent home, Harlis House; religious belief, Lutheran; liberal in politics.
ABRAHAM H. HARRIS, Jr., fanning mill manufacturer; came to Racine October, 1871,
from Howard Co., Iowa; born in Somerset County, N. J., Dec. 28, 1848; son of A. H.
and Mary Harris; one of eight children, five girls and three boys; family came to Racine
in 1851; removed to Iowa in 1857; married, Oct. 27, 1874, Miss Phebe J., daughter of
Ira and Sarah A. Fish, in Cayuga Co., N. Y.; they have two children - Willard F., born
Dec. 10, 1875, Bertha M., April 5, 1878; commenced his present business in the spring of
1876; Mrs. Harris is a member of, and the family attend, the Presbyterian Church.
MRS. CYNTHIA C. HART was born in New Hampshire, and married J. W. Hart in 1856; they came
to Racine the same year; Mr. Hart was engaged in the grocery business for some time, and
afterwards extensively engaged as a flour merchant; he died Oct. 17, 1865; the flour
business is now carried on by his sons; Mr. Hart was elected Mayor of Racine in 1865;
was a prominent and popular man; Mrs. Hart was a granddaughter of Hon. Wyseman Claggett,
of New Hampshire.
ANTHONY HAYEK, groceries and dry goods, was born in the town of Brandias, Austria, in 1846;
came to Chicago in Nov. 1852; thence to Racine the same year married Annie Hosedek,
who died in 1877; had five children - Ella, Louise, Nettie, Annie and Emma. Married,
Jan., 1879, Caroline Bishney; is a member of the Catholic Church.
CH. HECK, grocer; came to Racine in 1857, from Hesse Darmstadt, Germany; served an
apprenticeship at carriage-making; there being no factory of that kind at Racine, he
was obliged to turn his attention to other pursuits, house-building and farming; 1857 was
a hard year, and Mr. Heck was glad to do anything for an honest living; married Miss
Nellie Baker in Jan., 1870; she was born in Cleveland, Ohio, daughter of Mr. John Baker,
machinist; they have four children, Christian, Jr., born July
18, 1871, Nellie, March, 1875, Olga, September, 1877, and an infant, born 1879; Mr. Heck was elected
Assessor in 1863 for three years, and re-elected in 1866; he was also elected officer and
Director of the First National Bank, 1877 and 1878; liberal in religion and politics.
FREDERICK HECK, brewer; was born in Germany; came to Wisconsin in 1848, located
at Milwaukee; remained two years; in 1850, removed to Racine, and forming a partnership with Mr.
John Brown, of Milwankee, started a large brewery, which has been very successful. In 1851, he
married Miss Eliza Hunsche, a native of Germany; they have had eight children - four
sons and four daughters - five still living. Members of the German Lutheran Church.
Mr. Heck is a Democrat.
JACOB HECK, saloon; born in 1844, in Germany; came to Wisconsin in 1857, locating at
Racine; remained two years; then in Chicago eleven ears, where he was engaged in the
machinist business, in 1870, he returned to Racine, and formed a partnership with Christ
Heck in the grocery business, continuing for three years; in 1873, he opened the Badger
State Saloon and Restaurant. In 1864, he married Miss Victoria Schbust, a native of Germany;
they have had six children - four boys and two girls - five still living. Members
of the German Lutheran Church.
HON. CHARLES HERRICK was born in Westford, Middlesex Co., Mass., Sept. 22, 1814; in the
spring of 1837, he moved to White River, Michigan, where he engaged in the lumbering
business until 1841, then removed to Racine, Wis.; here he engaged in the produce business
and dealing in cattle; in 1849, he commenced manufacturing fanning-mills, in which
business he remained until 1854. Was elected Trustee of the village of Racine;
afterward elected Alderman of the Second Ward of the city of Racine for one term;
at the organization of the School Board, he was elected a member; afterward
a member of the Board of Supervisors of the township of Mt. Pleasant for two years in 1873; he was
a State Senator on the Greeley ticket in 1874; he filled all these offices in a most
satisfactory manner, and is highly esteemed in the community. He married, Dec. 17, 1846,
Miss Anna Ball, of Virgil, Cortland Co., N. Y.; she moved from here in 1834 to
Homer, Calhoun Co., Mich., where she lived till November, 1836, when she came to Racine Co.,
Wis., and located in Sumner, since known as Kellogg's Corners; they
have three sons - all livin - Henry Foster, born Nov. 10, 1847; Charles Ball, --- 1849; Wendell P.,
Oct. 7, 1869.
HENRY F. HERRICK, of the firm of C. B. Herrick & Co. born in Racine, Nov. 10, 1847 son of
Charles Herrick, one of its oldest settlers and prominent citizen's; he obtained his education
at the public schools; commenced business in 1869. Married, Dec. 8, 1875, Gertrude Lukes; born
in Rockford, Ill. daughter of J. C. Lukes; they have had one child, born Oct. 8, 1877; died
Oct. 8, 1878. The family attend the Episcopal Church.
CHARLES HEYER, professor of music; born in Hamburg, Germany, Oct. 26, 1832; on his
arrival in America, he first located in Milwaukee, in 1845; moved to Racine in 1850;
he holds the position of professor of music at Kemper Hall, Kenosha, and is the inventor
of "Charles Heyer's, machine for turning music," for which patents were issued, Sept. 12, 1871.
CAPT. FRANCIS B. HIGGIE, was born in Scotland, March 15, 1839; he came
Kenosha in 1847, and in 1849, to Racine; his father, for whom he was named, and who was also a lake
captain, died ten years later, in this place.; from 1859 to the spring of 1878, Capt. Higgie
commanded lake vessels, and was one of the first captains who pioneered the lumber trade
between this country and Europe; he made two trips with deals and lumber to Edinburgh, in 1876,
and in 1877, one trip to Thurso, Scotland, on the schooner City of Manitowoc; his record shows
him to have been very successful as a commander, as in nineteen years he had but one accident.
Capt. Higgie married Sarah Melissa Glass, daughter of Homer Glass, on the 3d of January, 1862;
they have five children - Homer Francis, Byron A., Eugene C., Laura Lucretia and Mary Melissa.
PROF. ROBT. C. HINDLEY, born in Manchester, Eng., 1848; family came to Philadelphia in 1856;
was graduated at Trinity College, Hartford, Conn., in 1872; taught in the Eastern States till
1876, then came to Racine College; professor of chemistry and natural sciences; member of
American Chemical Society, of New York, and of the Wisconsin Academy of Science and Arts;
appointed Inspector of Illuminating Oils, for city of Racine, in 1878.
MRS. E. L. HOBSON, matron of the Taylor Orphan Asylum, came to Wisconsin in 1874, and
located in Racine Co.; has been engaged as matron since that time; she was born in Lynchburg,
Bedford Co. Va., and moved from her native state, to La Porte, Ind., where her husband
was engaged in large farming interests; from LaPorte, she moved to Chicago, Ill., where, for
ten years, she held the position of matron of the Half Orphan Asylum, located on Center street,
between Burling and Halsted streets; from Chicago, she moved to Racine Co., Wis.; her
maiden name was Emily Cobbs; she was marrried, Oct. 9 1834, she had four children - Margaret,
Martha, Jackson Kemper and John A. She is a member of the Episcopal Church. Her husband
died in La Porte, Ind., leaving her with an involved estate and four children, which
she had to bring up by her own exertions, as she left all of her estate to the creditors;
she also lost all her property in Virginia, during the War of the Rebellion.
FRED HOELZEN, boot and shoe dealer, corner State and Milwaukee streets, was born in
Hanover, Germany, July 15, 1857; came to America in 1874; remained a short time in
New York, and then located at Racine. He has purchased the stock of A. H. Wilkins,
and started in the business for himself; he is a member of the German Baptist Church.
SAMUEL HOOD, lumber dealer, born in Lancaster, Penn., 1825 came to Wisconsin in 1838;
located at Racine. Has been engaged in the lumber business for twenty-five years; in 1850,
he married Miss Alice Cay, a native of New York; they had ten children. Mr. Hood has
held the office of School Commissioner, two consecutive years; he served in the
Quartermaster's Department, in Tennessee, during the rebellion; his family are members of
the Baptist Church.
GEORGE W. HORLICK, East Mt. Pleasant Township; was born in Racine July 20, 1845, and is the
second son of J. A. and Arabella Horlick, whose biography will be found in this work;
he lived with his parents, assisting his father on his farm and in carrying on his
lime and stone quarries up to the age of 20; in 1868, in connection with his father
and his brother Alexander, formed the copartnership as the firm of J. A. Horlick & Sons
in the lime and stone business, and carried on the business as such
until 1877, when they dissolved the firm and formed the corporation known as "Horlick's Lime
and Stone Company," of which George W. is Treasurer; he is also a partner of the firm
of J. A. Horlick. Sr., & Sons, engaged in milling etc., which they have built up to be
large and extensive. They also connect the ice business with their other business. He
married Maria Louisa Clauson (daughter of Frederick and Elizabeth Clauson, of Saugatuck, Mich.),
Jan. 23, 1870; they have four sons - Franklin B., George W., Jr., Clarence C. and Milton W.
(J. A. Horlick's bio is printed on the last page of the book)
J. A. HORLICK, Racine; is a native of Gloucestershire, England; born June 19, 1813;
after obtaining the small allowance of education afforded by the village school of
those days, he was apprenticed to the blacksmith and wagon-maker trade for seven years,
which he followed until 1844, when he embarked for America, arriving at Racine Aug. 14, of
that year, engaging in the carpentering business for about two years; afterward, entered
into the wood and timber business, furnishing large quantities of piles and timber for
bridge piers, docks, etc.; he continued in this business until the year 1853, when,
having purchased a piece of stone property from Alanson Allen, at the Rapids, he
turned his attention to the lime and stone business, in which he has been engaged since,
adding to it the farming, milling and ice business. He has held several public offices of
trust, and is one of the most prominent Freemasons in the State, having taken the Thirty-third
Degree, and is an honorary member of the General Grand Consistory U. S. A. He was married
to Arabella Lediard, of Gloucestershire, England, Feb. 14, 1843; has six children, four sons
and two daughters - Alexander, George W., Arabella R., Joseph A., Emma L. and Oliver C.
Is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church.
WILLIAM HORLICK; is a native of Gloucestershire, Eng. after working at his profession in the
city of London for several years, he visited this country in the year 1869, and was married on
Nov. 16, 1870, to Arabella H. Horlick at the residence of her father, J. A. Horlick, Esq., in
Caledonia Township, Racine County, leaving immediately for England; he returned again
to this country in 1872, and, in 1874, entered into copartnership with the firm of
J. A. Horlick & Sons; engaged as manufacturers and dealers in lime, stone, cement, stucco,
flour, etc., removing shortly afterward with his family to Chicago to superintend a branch of
the business in that city; it was here in the early part of the year 1875, with his brother
James (who had lately arrived from London, Eng.), that the now celebrated "Horlick's Food,"
a highly nutritious article of diet for infants and invalids, was first brought before the
public from its reception by the medical profession in Chicago, who unanimously declared
it to be the best preparation of the kind they ever saw; they were encouraged to make
further efforts toward introducing it; accordingly, the business was removed to Racine,
where a factory especially adapted for its manufacture was built in 1877; since that time
other new and valuable preparations have been manufactured and introduced, known as
"Horlick's Sugar of Malt," etc., and which, together with their "Foods," are held in
high estimation by the leading physicians both of this country and England. William Horlick
now resides on part of eleven and one-half acres of land on the "Rapids Road," bought of
Luther Sears, and formerly belonging to what was known as the "Kinzie property," and which
adjoins Horlick's Food Factory. He has four children - Alice Priscilla, Alexander James,
William Oliver and Emma Mabel. He is actively engaged assisting the development of the
new artificial Food business, and is also a stockholder and Secretary of Horlick's Lime
and Stone Company.
F. P. HOUGHTON, sailing master of schooner Gilbert Knapp, came to Racine in 1850; born
in Stockbridge, N. J., Jan. 8, 1847; son of Daniel and Emily Houghton; his father,
formerly a wholesale dry-goods merchant, in New York City; Mrs. Houghton was the
daughter of Dr. Jaques, of New York City; came to the West in 1849; went to farming
near Dover, Racine Co.; F. P. lived with his parents, on their farm till he was 14 years old;
went as boy on board vessels on the lakes, then before the mast as sailor; his nautical
education was obtained in that way. Was mate, several years and is now Captain and Master
of the Schooner Gilbert Knapp. Married, Jan. 4, 1869, to Miss Annie Keeley, born in
Massachusetts in 1849; they have four children: Daniel F., born in Racine, Dec. 20, 1871,
Pauline A., Feb. 16, 1873; Fred P., Jr., Nov. 19, 1875; Eugene, Nov. 14, 1877. The family
attend the Episcopal Church. Politics, Democrat.
A. H. HOY, physician and surgeon, came to Racine in 1846; he entered the army as
Medical Cadet, and was promoted to Acting Assistant Surgeon, in the regular army,
which post he held from March, 1862, until July, 1865; for a time he was stationed at Cincinnati.
and had charge of hospitals at Louisville, and, also at Covington, Ky.; later, he
was stationed with the 7th Army Corps, at Norfolk, Va., on detached service. In 1868
he went to Europe for the sake of hospital study; he has received degrees from the
Medical College of Cincinnati, and from Rush Medical College; he is a member of the
Wisconsin State Medical Association. He married Mary Elizabeth Young, of Dubuque, Iowa;
they have one child, Mary Elizabeth.
PHILO R. HOY, physician and surgeon; was born in Mansfield, Richland Co., Ohio,
and is one of the oldest of the white male children born in that county; he is a graduate
of the Ohio Medical College, of Cincinnati, and has been engaged in practice since 1839;
he came to Racine in September, 1846, and built the first good house on Main street;
there were 2,200 inhabitants, transients and all, when he came. No one has
taken a more active interest in the advancement of science than has Dr. Hoy;
he is an honorary member of the Philadelphia Academy of Sciences, and has been
President of the Wisconsin Academy of Arts and Sciences; he has been Fish Commissioner
since the establishment of the Board, in 1874; is a member of the Geological Board of
Survey, of the Board of Health, of the American Medical Association, the State Medical
Association, and also of the Chicago Academy of Sciences. He has been active in all
local improvements, and was selected by the Council in laying out the cemetery.
He married, at Ripley, Huron Co., Ohio, Oct. 26, 1842, Mary Elizabeth Austin, who was
a native of Hampshire, Mass.; she died Jan. 10, 1872; there were three children -
Albert Harris, Jennie L. and Philo R.
REV. A. J. M. HUDSON, Racine College; born in Vermont, April, 1817; attended Middlebury, Vt.,
College two Years, and graduated at Marshall College, Pennsylvania, in 1844. Married
Mary Finley in 1848; had six children, four living. Mr. Hudson was Rector of the Episcopal
Church in Indiana, under Bishop Upfold; is now Registrar at Racine College.
E. J. HUEFFNER, wholesale and retail dealer in leather, shoe-findings and hides; was
born in Germany, in 1840, and came to Racine with his parents, Ernst C. and Julia Hueffner,
in 1849; the business was established that year, by his father, who died in 1872; E. J.
became partner in the concern in 1867. Mr. Hueffner has been Vice President of the
Manufacturers' National Bank since its organization, and is a Director in the Silver Plate Co.
He was Alderman of the First Ward from 1873 to 1877, and was elected Mayor in April, 1879.
E. G. HUGGINS, monumental works; came to Racine, April 3, 1848; entered the business he
is now engaged in. Was born at Dorset, Bennington Co., Vt., Aug. 10, 1824; was the son of John
Huggins, "quarryman," who owned the well-known Dorset Marble Mound. He married Nov. 20, 1850,
Miss Loraine A. Paddock, daughter of E. Paddock, of Lewis, Essex Co. N. Y.; she died
March 30, 1876. Republican. Was elected an Alderman from the First Ward in the year 1870;
served two years; elected School Commissioner from First Ward in 1872, which office he now
holds. His partner, who was with him twenty-six years, died March 12, 1877. Mr. H. married
his second wife July 3, 1877; her name was Bessie F. Ewing, of Norwich, Conn. He is the
owner of several buildings in Racine, his homestead and marble works.
JOHN C. HUGGINS, of the firm of Fish Bros. & Co., manufacturers of wagons and carriages;
came to Racine in 1857; resided in St. Louis and Chicago for a number of years; entered
the United States service in 1861, mustered out in June, 1864; served in 2d W. V. I. one year
and a half in Commissar Department. Col. Huggins has been connected with Fish Bros. since 1872,
for a few months representing them in California, since then as a partner. He is a native of
Cornish, Sullivan Co., N. H.
HENRY W. HURLBUT; born at Oswego, N. Y., Feb. 23, 1839; removed with his parents to Racine, Wis.,
in 1842, where he received an ordinary school education; upon leaving school,
entered the old City Bank of Racine, with which institution he remained until its failure.
June 11, 1861, was mustered into the United States service as Second Sergeant of the
Belle City Rifles, 2d Wis. V. I., for three years, or during the war, which regiment
was assigned to the Wisconsin brigade afterward, known as the "Iron Brigade;" was promoted
to Orderly Sergeant Oct. 22, 1862, and to Second Lieutenant in the same year; mustered out
Sept. 22, 1862, on account of disability incurred in the service; returned to Racine, and
shortly after left with the 33d W. V. I. for Memphis, Tenn.; was with the Western army for
two years; in 1864, embarked in cotton raising at Warrington, Miss., but the venture proving
a financial failure, he returned to Racine in 1870, and commenced the manufacture of patent
locks for wagon brakes (the invention being that of his father, Sidney S. Hurlbut) under the
firm name of Hurlbut & Co. This specialty proved a great success, and, in February, 1879,
a stock company was formed under the style and title of the "Hurlbut Manufacturing Company," of
which the subject of this biography is Secretary and Treasurer.
FREDRICK IBING, manufacturer and dealer of furniture, No. 45, 47 and 49 Main street born
Sept. 5, 1855, in Racine, and was educated at the German and American Academies of this city;
worked with his father, in his establishment, till his death, in September, 1875, when he,
being the eldest of the family, assumed control and management of the business; the factory
which is in rear of ware rooms, employs a number of hands, and turns out some of the best
furniture sold in this locality.
MRS. STEPHEN IVES; born in Montgomery Co., N. Y., April 11, 1812; her maiden name was
Jane W. Cox; married, in 1840, Mr. Stephen Ives; he was born in Westfield, Mass., April 5,
1813; went thence to Troy, N. Y., where he was postal clerk for two years; moved to Racine
when he was 23 years of age; was here a successful dry-goods merchant for three years; then
went into the lime business; remained at it up to the time of his death-1856. Mrs. Ives
has had two sons - Eddie Chester, died at the age of 13 months; her other son,
Charles Augustus, aged 38, is passenger conductor on the W. U. R. R.; he enlisted in
Co. F, 2d Wis. Inf., 1861; was mustered out June 11, 1864; he passed through the conflict
without being wounded is now living with his mother, who owns a pleasant home in the
city of Racine.
DAVID G. JANES, insurance agent, was born in Racine April 2, 1852; his father, Lorenzo
Janes, removed from Albany, N. Y., where he was a lawyer, to Racine in March, 1837; he
continued in his profession here; was one of the proprietors of The Racine Argus, established
in 1838; at the time of his death - June 17, 1873 - he was engaged in the insurance business;
the mother of David G. was a native of Albany, N. Y.; her maiden name was Elvenah Cooper.
Mr. Janes has been in his present business since April 1, 1867; he was a member of the
School Board 1878-9.
EDGAR A. JENKS, builder and contractor; born in Racine Nov. 20, 1852; was educated
and learned his trade of carpenter, and has worked here since 1870; he entered into
partnership with Dwight B. Burdick in 1877, under the name of Burdick & Jenks, a brief
sketch of whose history we publish elsewhere.
WILLIAM H. JENKS, carpenter and builder; born in Watertown, N. Y., April 28, 1824;
the son of Thomas and Lydia Jenks; came to Racine April 21, 1850; engaged in his present
business was elected Supervisor of the Fourth and Fifth Wards in the spring of 1856;
served one year; elected City Assessor in 1858, and served two years; elected City Marshal
in 1860; re-elected in 1862; in 1861 was appointed United States Marshal; was Deputy Sheriff
of the county and had charge of the jail in 1862 and 1863; spring of 1867 was elected a member
of the Board of School Commissioners; served two years; out one year; elected again in 1869,
and is still a member. Married, Jan. 26, 1852, Miss Ann Dewey, daughter of Amos and Sophia Dewey;
they have had four children - Edgar A., born Nov. 20, 1852; Nellie, Aug. 2, 1854; William A.,
July 20, 1858; Frank, born 1862, died Sept. 9, 1863; member of the Racine Lodge No. 8,
Odd Fellows, both branches, since 1850, in good standing; wife and daughter are members
of Baptist Church.
JENS JENSEN, manufacturer of wagon hardware and malleable iron castings; came to Wisconsin
June 6, 1866, to Racine; worked for Messrs. Fish Bros., four years; in 187O commenced
business for himself. Was born in Denmark in the year 1843; at the age of 16 years
commenced to learn the blacksmith's trade; started for America April, 1864; arrived at
Quebec, Canada, in the month of May. He married, in 1869, Miss Keren J. Christianson,
daughter of Jens Christianson, of Denmark; their family consists of three children -
Jennie, Martina, and Sophia; their religion, Lutheran.
ALONZO JILLSON, foreman machine shop of J. I. Case & Co.'s works; came to Racine Co.
Feb. 24, 1854, and went to work on March 28, same year, for the above firm, and has been in
their employ up to the present time, a period of twenty-five years. Mr. Jillson has worked
in but two shops in his lifetime; he came to this place from Boonville, Oneida Co., N. Y.,
and took full charge of the machinery department as soon as he got here. He married, in 1848,
in Boonville, Oneida Co.. N. Y., Adeline Mathers, that being her native place; they
have four children, two sons and two daughters; the sons work in the shop with their father;
one daughter married Henry Crawford, the other is unmarried.
BERNT M. JOHNSON, saloon; born in 1848, in Norway; came to Wisconsin in 1870, locating at
Racine, where he followed the shoemaking business till the fall of 1875, when he
opened a saloon on Main street. In the year 1873, he married Miss Caroline Gulick,
a native of Dover, Wis. They have had three children - two sons and one daughter.
JOHN W. JOHNSON, Justice of the Peace, is a member of a well-known family -
children of Nelson Johnson, who was one of the first Scandinavian settlers in this county.
He was born in the town of Norway, Racine Co., Feb 20, 1844. In 1850, he removed, with
his parents, to Winneshiek Co., Iowa; in 1865, returned to the town of Norway, where he
lived until 1872. He was then elected Sheriff, and removed to Racine. He served in that
office in 1873 and 1874, and for the three years following was engaged in the mercantile
business. He was elected Justice of the Peace in 1877, in the city of Racine, and
re-elected in 1879. While he was a resident of the town of Norway, he also held places
of trust, and was Assessor for three years, a member of the Board of Supervisors, and
six years Justice of the Peace - from 1866 to 1873. He married, on the
5th of August, 1865, Marion Wigeland, a native of Norway, this county -
only daughter of Arentz and Gunnil Wigeland who also settled on Section 13, town of Norway,
in 1844. Mr. Wigeland died on his farm, Jan. 21, 1861. Mrs. Wigeland still lives with
her daughter. Their farm of 160 acres, in Section 13, remains as their homestead,
unchanged in title, as at the time of Mr. Wigeland's death. There are three children -
Ada G., Amanda N., and Emma L. 'Squire Johnson's father, when he came to this country,
in 1839, located first on Section 13, in Norway, and then on Section 19, in the town of
Raymond. In 1850, he removed to Decorah, Winneshiek Co., Iowa, at which time the
family consisted of four children - John W., the subject of this sketch; Bessie P.,
now Mrs. J. E. Cook, of Independence, Iowa; Martin N., who was born in Racine Co.,
in 1850, and is now an attorney at Decorah, Iowa. He is a graduate of both the Literary
and Law Departments of the Iowa State University; was for two years a teacher of
modern languages in the State Military Academy at Oakland, Cal.; was a member of
the Assembly in Iowa, in 1876; a Presidential Elector in the national election
of that year, and was elected State Senator in 1878. Lewis C., born in Iowa, is a
graduate of Iowa State University Literary and Law Departments, and is associated
in practice with Martin N. Mary H. (a graduate of Iowa State University) was also
born in Iowa, and served as Post Mistress of the Legislature of that State, in 1877.
Salinda F. was also born in Iowa. Martha A. - now Mrs. J. E. Anderson, of Forest City,
Iowa - is the second daughter, and was born in Iowa.
THEODORE W. JOHNSON, manufacturer and dealer in boots and shoes, No. 25 Sixth street,
corner of Cottage avenue, was born in Denmark, Dec. 6, 1853; came to America in May, 1873.
He first settled in Chicago, where he remained only a short time; then went to
Indiana. He came to Racine in 1874; worked at journey work until 1878, and started
in business for himself at his present location.
CHARLES JONAS was born at Malesov, a small country town about forty miles east of
Prague, in Bohemia, on the 30th of October, 1840; pursued scientific studies, at Prague,
until the 19th year of his age. In 1859, he wrote a critical treatise on the
defects of the Austrian system of middle schools, introduced in Bohemia, which was
seized by order of the Government, and the author subjected to every manner of
malignant persecution, to escape which, he left his native country and went to England.
He spent about two and a half years in London, writing letters for a Bohemian daily
paper in Prague. A pamphlet on the policy pursued by the Bohemians toward the
Austrian Empire, which he wrote in 1862, appeared at Geneva, Switzerland.
In February, 1862, he left London for the United States, and assumed the
editorial management of the Sclavic newspaper, at Racine. Attaching himself to
the Republican party, he edited that paper until May, 1870, when he left for Europe.
In August of that year, having been furnished by Mr. Bancroft, then United States
Minister at Berlin, with a letter of recommendation
to the Prussian general staff, he joined the German army in France, and afterward
was present at the siege of Paris until its close, and was one of the first foreigners
who entered the beleaguered French capital directly after the cessation of hostilities.
Returning to Germany, he learned, from the American legation in Berlin, that the
treaty between Austria and the United States, negotiation of which had been
pending since August, 1870, was not yet concluded, and Mr. Jay, American Minister at Vienna, wrote
that he could not protect him in case of need, before the treaty was signed and ratifications
exchanged. However, in April, 1871, C. Jonas quietly went to Bohemia and, soon after that,
to Vienna, where he waited until the treaty was signed, after which, his American
citizenship had to be recognized by the Austrian authorities. During his sojourn in
Germany and Bohemia, he wrote a treatise on Austrian politics, which was very widely
commented upon by the newspaper press; also an extensive treatise on the position
of women in society, particularly in England and America, and a book on American
self-government, with a review of the principles of the foreign policy of
the United States. All these writings were published in Prague, were favorably
received and partially translated into other languages; coming back to America,
he started and edited for some time the Bohemian newspaper American, until,
in December, 1872, he again took charge of the Sclavic, and commenced work on the
Dictionary of the Bohemian and English Languages - the pioneer dictionary of
those two tongues - which came out in July, 1876; in the campaign
of 1872, he joined the Greeley movement, and after that became attached to
the Democratic party; in 1874, Governor Taylor appointed him Manager of the
State Industrial School for Boys, which place he held until the accession of
Governor Ludington; in the spring of 1876 he was elected Alderman in Racine; in the fall
of that year he stumped several States for Tilden, addressing his Bohemian countrymen;
in the fall of 1877, he was elected member of the Legislature from the city of Racine, by
a vote of 1,229 to 760; in the spring of 1878, was re-elected Alderman and chosen
President of the Common Council; in the fall of the same year he was nominated by
the Democrats and Greenbackers, for State Senator, and defeated by a vote of 2,517
to 2,886. Chas. Jonas was married to Mrs. Christine Korizek, August 11, 1864, and
has four children - Caroline, born in 1867; Vlasta, in 1869; Charles, in 1874; Washington, in 1876.
CHARLES D. PRICE JONES, born in Montgomery, Wales, Feb. 15, 1821; his family moved
to New York City in 1821, and then came to Racine, July 13, 1821; he married,
in February, 1854, in Racine, Catherine Harris, a native of Denbighshire, Wales; they
have five children - Roderick, Charles, Alvin Price, Mary and Susie B.; Mr. Jones
enlisted in the 43d Wis., in 1863, and served with his regiment in all engagements,
till mustered out, in 1864; he, is a painter by trade and has followed that business
forty years and now works for Western Union R. R.; they are members of the Episcopal Church.
EVAN W. JONES, boot and shoe dealer, No. 13 Sixth street; was born Feb. 11, 1821,
in Wales; emigrated to America with his parents in 1829, lived in New York
twenty-one years, and married Miss Anna Hughes, Sept. 3, 1847, at Albany, N. Y.;
Came to Wisconsin in 1850, and located in Racine; they have three children - Mary A.,
Jennie E., and Oliver D. Mr. and Mrs. Jones adhere to the Presbyterian faith.
Mr. Jones is an active politician; he was too old to take an active part in the
late rebellion, but was liberal in his contributions to the Union cause.
JOHN R. JONES. County Treasurer, was born in Wales, Oct. 7, 1840, and came to Racine
in July, 1856; for the first three years he was occupied in learning the painter's
trade; he then engaged as clerk in a paint and oil establishment until Aug. 9, 1862,
when he enlisted in Co. F, Wis. V. I., and served until June, 1865; participated
in all the battles of his regiment previous to the fall of Atlanta;
upon his return he entered his old position and remained in it nine years; he was elected Treasurer
November, 1876, and re-elected in 1878. He married Ellen Pugh May 20, 1869; she is a native of
Racine; they have two children - John R., Jr., and Annie L.
JOHN V. JONES, of the firm of Jones, Knapp & Co., lumber dealers, came to Wisconsin in
1847, and located at Racine, he has been engaged in the lumber business for the past
twenty-five years; he was born in Montgomeryshire, Wales, in 1813. Married Miss
Mary Jones, also a native of Wales; have had four children - Thomas, the only one living,
is 38 years old, and is a member of the above firm. Members of the Methodist Church.
OLIVER D. JONES, shoe dealer, son of E. W. Jones, was born in Racine, June 11, 1852;
was educated in Racine, and, commenced the boot and shoe business in 1873, succeeding
his father in the same business - one of the oldest established houses in the city -
and for fine custom work, of which he makes a specialty, his work is unequaled; his
place of business and manufacture is at No. 13 Sixth street, and his business promises
a large increase yearly.
W. W. JOY, bakery; born in New York, March 29, 1831; came to Racine in April, 1846.
Married, in 1852, Ruhamah Lefler, who was born in Jackson, Tioga, Co., Penn., in 1832;
Mr. Joy is liberal in religion. His father, Nathan Joy, was born in Plainfield,
Hampshire Co., Mass.; on the 5th of March, 1792; came to Racine in 1836; is one
of the oldest settlers in the county, and enjoys very good health for a man of his age.
LUCIUS JUDSON, notion and variety store; came to Racine Aug. 11, 1844; was engaged
in farming for eight years, at Raymond Center; in 1852, commenced to travel with team,
dealing in buckskin gloves and mittens, through Wisconsin for fourteen years; born in
Johnstown, Fulton Co., N. Y., March 31, 1822, the great manufacturing town
for gloves and mittens; he was the son of Gurdon and Hannah Judson. He married
Miss Mary E. Bender, daughter of Peter Bender; her mother died when she
was quite young; born in the town of Manlius, Onondaga Co., N. Y. Members of the Presbyterian Church.
JAMES V. KAVENAUGH, books and stationery; was born in Racine, Feb. 14, 1855; at
the age of thirteen years he was employed by the Western Union R. R. Co., where he remained
for six years; on severing his connection with this road, he went to Chicago and
finished his education; March 5, 1877, he started business for himself. Mr. Kavenaugh
is a Democrat.
GEORGE B. KELLEY, secretary of Silver Plate Co., is a native of Hornellsville, N. Y.;
he went to Cleveland in 1848, and was a clerk in the store of James H. Kelley until
1852, when he went to California, where he remained in San Francisco and Sacramento,
until 1857, returning then to Cleveland; in 1859, he went into the hat business, in
Detroit; he was Secretary and Treasurer of the Michigan Paper Co. for three or four
years; he came to Racine in September, 1877.
JAMES H. KELLEY, of the firm of Kelley, Lehman & Co., lumber dealers, came to
this State twenty-one years ago,and located at Racine; was born in New York in 1815,
married, in 1837, Miss Emily C. Hussey, who died in Racine in 1865; they had twelve
children, nine still living; in 1867 Mr. Kelley again married Mrs. Mary E. Carr, a
sister of the late Mrs. Isaac Taylor; they have four children; Mr. Kelley left the
State of New York when 12 years old; went to Cleveland, Ohio, and engaged in
mercantile business till 1858, when he came to Racine; was engaged in business
with the late Mr. Isaac Taylor, and had the settlement of his and his wife's estate.
EDWARD H. KINDORF, of the firm of Kindorf Bros., butchers; was born in Racine,
Dec. 20, 1850; married Miss Isabel Clausen at Green Bay, Wis., March 4, 1875; she was
born at Saugatuck, Mich., in 1850; they have two children - Eola A., aged 3 years,
and Amelia Belle, aged 1 1/2 years.
GUS. KINDORF, of the firm of Kindorf Bros., butchers; was born in Saxony, Germany,
in 1848; came to Wisconsin with his parents in 1849; married Miss Carrie Mossman in 1872,
at St. Louis, Mo.; she was born in Racine Co. in 1848; they have one son - Roy; lost two
children- Edna M. and Roy.
HENRY L. KINGSLEY, born in Dickinson, Franklin Co., N. Y., Feb. 8, 1839; moved to
Fond du Lac, Wis., in 1868; he was there employed for five years by Farnsworth Bros.,
Knapp & Co., wagon manufacturers; he settled in Racine in 1873; was employed by
Fish Bros. as foreman of their spring-wagon department; remained in their employ
till 1877; then engaged with Mitchell, Lewis & Co.; is now superintendent of their
carriage department; he married, Oct. 14, 1862, Miss Anna Sampson; she was born in
New York in 1843; they have had four children - three sons and one daughter -
Horace C., Frank, died at the age of 3 years, Ina J. and Sidney; Mr. Kingsley
enlisted, May, 1863, in the 7th N. Y. Vol., Co. B.; was in the 2d Brig., 3d Div. 5th
Army Corps, Army of the Potomac; was in all the battles of his regiment;
mustered out Aug. 5, 1865.
CAPT. GILBERT KNAPP, the oldest settler in Racine Co.; came to Racine in the
fall of 1834, and this place has been his home since; originally connected with
Gurdon S. Hubbard in the ownership of this location; afterwards they disposed
of a third interest in this property to Mr. Barker, of Buffalo, N. Y.; the Capt.
is a native of Barnsterburg, Mass.; when a mere lad, he entered the service of
the United States, during the war of 1812, and was connected with a vessel
carrying dispatches between our country and the neutral nations of Europe;
since that period, he has been connected with the marine service of the
United States nearly all the time; now Capt. U. S. R. M.; entered revenue service
in 1818; commissioned in 1819; was several times member of the Legislature of
Wisconsin, in an early day, and again represented his district in the
Legislature during the late war. He secured the county seat at Racine,
and named the county.
ALBERT G. KNIGHT; was born in Brattleboro, Vt., in May, 1808; he received the
advantages of the schools of the place, but they were not very extensive; he, however,
acquired a taste for solid reading, and literally devoured the few books which were
within his reach; soon after reaching his teens, he went to Providence R. I., and
served some years in a large crockery store; he then went to Baltimore and engaged
in the same business; from there, he crossed the mountains, and settled in the
young town of Cincinnati, where he married Miss Delia Gazlay, soon after which
event he removed to Wayne Co., N. Y., and engaged in farming where he was
joined by his parents, his two brothers and only sister; the fever and ague was a
little too much for them there, and early in the year 1836, Albert G. started for
the West, a solitary horseman, arriving at Chicago the last of March, where he sold
his horse and pushed forward to Racine on foot, because at that early season of
the year there was no grass, neither hay nor grain on which the animal
could be fed, had yet been raised. His sister Mary followed him in May, coming
by schooner from Oswego, and the rest of the, family, which had been increased
by the birth of a daughter, followed, arriving in Racine August 29, 1836, by
the same mode of conveyance. As elsewhere stated, there were but few settlers
in the clearing known as Racine upon his arrival, and other pages of
this work show so much of his relation to public affairs that it is unnecessary
to repeat. In 1851, he engaged in the business of making abstracts of title,
conveyances, and the like, for which he was eminently fitted. In 1854, he associated
with him the late Eliphalet Cram, between whom and himself sprang up the warmest
friendship based upon mutual regard. Mr. Cram died in 1868 and the firm of Knight & Cram
was changed to that of Knight & Whiteley, Mr. Knight's son-in-law, Simeon Whiteley,
having purchased the interest, of Cram in the valuable books of record and other
property of the old firm. The business is still carried on by them. It is worthy of
note that Mr. Knight's grandfather, Samuel Knight, was appointed wie of the Judges
of the Colony of Vermont, by the English crown, his commission as such being one of the
heir-looms in the family. During the early part of the Revolutionary war, Judge Knight
retained his office under authority of the State of New York, which, history informs us,
claimed jurisdiction over Vermont until the State was admitted to the Federation,
at which time Judge Knight was made the first Chief Justice of the State, and
he remained upon the bench until the time of his death. Mr. Knight's wife and the
mother of his children, died in the year 1858. She was a woman of superior mind
and culture, and the deepest piety. The Gazlay family, of which she was a member,
were among the first settlers of Cincinnati, her oldest brother, James W., who but
recently died at a very advanced age, being one of the first representatives in
Congress from the Cincinnati District. Another brother, Sayrs, was a
prominent clergyman of the straightest sect of the Presbyterian faith, and figured
in the celebrated trial of Lyman Beecher, for heresy. Mrs. Knight's sister, Karenda,
is the mother of the Rev. Prof. Swing, of Chicago, whose recent trial for the same
crime as that of Lyman Beecher is still fresh in memory. Mrs. Knight was the mother
of six children - Sayrs G. (now City Surveyor); Jane G. (Mrs. Simeon Whiteley)
Mary H. Mrs. Capt. Chas. E. Jewett - now living in California); John Wesley (now in the West
Indies); James Mason (who died in 1874); and Miss Delia (now Third Assistant Principal
in the Racine High School). In 1868, Mr. Knight married Miss Anna Hanson,
a native of the island of Laaland, in the Baltic Sea, a dependency of the Kingdom of
Denmark, who now presides over his present home at the corner of College avenue and
Fifteenth street, a charming spot, where good taste adorns and a boundless
hospitality is dispensed, as especially the Presiding Elders and Preachers of
the Methodist denomination of the Northwest will attest.
ROBERT KNUDSEN, tobacco manufacturer; came to Racine in Aug., 1872; born in Schleswig,
Germany, now Prussia, Nov. 10, 1843; came to America same year; commenced business
at cigar-making; baptized in the Lutheran Church; educated at Schleswig; he was the
son of Andreas J Knudsen; commenced business for himself, making twist plug tobacco, in 1874.
A. KRAUPA, hardware merchant; was born in Bohemia, Feb. 4, 1817; left Hamburg for
America in 1848; had a rough voyage on board the sailing ship 'Lilenetz;' made the trip
in eight weeks; landed at New York City in November; he remained there a few days,
had no money, but went to Cleveland, Ohio; worked at the butcher business for
his board one month; received, for the second month's labor, $4; in the spring
he left Cleveland for Racine by boat; arrived May 1, 1849; in 1850 he married
a Bohemian girl; have had eight children, five sons and three daughters; two have died;
the oldest daughter is married, and has three children, two sons and a daughter; the
first year, Mr. K. worked about this place, sawing wood, loading and unloading vessels,
etc., after which he commenced work at the store of J. W. Conroe, in the hardware
business; was with him for sixteen years; after Mr. Conroe's death, Mr. Kraupa bought
the widow out, agreeing to pay her $1,800 at the time; all the money he possessed
was $6; he cleared $3,000 the first year; Mr. Kraupa is advancing in years, but
attends to his every-day business, and appears to be good for years to come.
ANTHONY KRAYNIK, of the firm of Welfe & Kraynik, boot and shoe dealers, No.
104 Main street, was born in Bohemia in 1836, Dec. 1; came to this country in
1855, and first landed at New Orleans, La.; he removed to Milwaukee, Wis., and
engaged in the boot and shoe business; came to Racine in 1859; has been in
same business since his removal here; married Miss Anna Janj in 1860; she was
born in Bohemia in 1842; they have seven children living - Amelia, Frank, Anna,
Libbie, Nellie, Ida and Emma; lost three, Anthony, John and Freddie.
MARTIN LACHAT, boot and shoe store, corner Sixth street and College avenue; was born in
France in 1829; came to America in 1852; came to Wisconsin in 1853; married Miss
Madelina in 1863; they have six children living; lost one boy; Mr. Lachat owns a
pleasant home, between Twelfth and Fourteenth streets, lot 3; Mrs. Lachat is a
member of the Catholic Church.
WILLIAM LA LONE, born at Fort Howard, Green Bay, Wis., Nov. 4, 1812; went to
missionary school seven years; afterward went with his father, who was an Indian trader,
to many different parts of the Northwest; afterwards went to Fond du Lac; was
there twenty years; settled in Racine in 1873, and has been employed with
Fish Bros. to present time; married Susanna Schaglozen; have had seven children;
first wife died; he again married, Mary Wiengand; they have two children; Mr. La Lone,
when at the age of 12, was sent through with the mail to Prairie du Chien;
this was at the time of the Indian war, and he had many narrow escapes on these expeditions,
he rode a fast horse furnished by Col. Stambo, the Commander of the Post.
CAPT. THEODORE LANE, Lake Captain; was born in Michigan in 1835; came to
Wisconsin in 1836; married Caroline M. Blish in 1854; she was born in
St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., in 1837; they have four children - Ella C., Edwin C.,
Theodore M. and Samuel O.; lost two - Lucinda, who died at the age of 9 months,
and Julia, who died aged 1 year; Mr. and Mrs. Lane are members or the
Baptist Church; Mr. Lane is the son of Samuel Lane, deceased, and who
was among the earliest settlers of this county; he drove around the head
of the lake with a team, in company with Silas Peck, and laid
his claim close to the college, on the lake shore, and also at Burlington.
JOHN LANGLOIS, SR., paints, oils and paper hangings, 145 Main street; came to Racine
June 10 1856; born at Island of Guernsey, British Channel, March 1, 1815; bought
out James Langlois' interest of the firm of Langlois & Robillard, then located
where Hyland Raymond now carries on the hardware trade; after the death of
Peter Robillard, he purchased the widow's interest; he married Miss Sophia Simon,
daughter of John Simon, of Island of Guernsey; she was born in the year 1816; they
have had three children, George, born at Guernsey, died at the age of 5 years;
John, Jr., was born on the Island of Guernsey in October, 1846;
George (second), born Dec. 7, 1855; John, Jr., married Ella E. Dutton, daughter
of A. P. Dutton, of Racine, and has one child, Alfred Dutton, born Aug. 31, 1877;
they are members of the Methodist Church.
THOMAS M. LARSEN, cutter and tailor; born in the city of Hjorning, Denmark, Feb. 24, 1851;
son of Lars C. and Sarah Jensen; at the age of 15 years, he commenced to learn his trade;
came to Racine, July 29, 1872. Married Miss Andrea H. Henrikson, May 9, 1873; they
had four children - Lewis H., born March 9, 1874 (died April 9, 1874); Lewis H. (second),
born Sept. 4, 1875; Flora, Dec. 22, 1876; Andrew C., August, 1878; Mrs. Larsen was
born Sept. 15, 1849, in Denmark; died at Racine, Sept. 28, 1878. The family
attend the Scandinavian Baptist Church.
DAVID LAWTON, agricultural implements; came to Racine in the fall of 1842; has
been engaged in present business since the spring of 1865. Has been
School Commissioner for the past ten years - chosen by both political parties,
by a unanimous vote, as the most suitable man to fill the position. Born near
Manchester, England, in November, 1835; his wife, Deborah. E. Yates, was born
in Manchester, England. in March, 1837; have three children - Katie A., the oldest,
married, April, 1877, A. N. Forrester. Mr. Lawton is Vestryman and Treasurer of the
Episcopal Church here.
THOMAS M. LEAHY. born in Herkimer Co., N. Y., Feb. 5, 1840; he came to Racine, Wis.,
May 10, 1866; first engaged with Thomas Falvey, reaper manufacturer; was
superintendent of the shops, which position he held up to the year 1869; he then
engaged with Mitchell, Lewis & Co., wagon manufacturers; is engineer for the firm, and
he has charge of all the machinery. He married, in 1869, Miss Augusta Hilton; she was
born in Racine, in 1847; they have five children - all living - three sons and two
daughters - Matthew, born in 1870; Daniel F., in 1871; Elizabeth, in 1873; George, in 1876;
May G., in 1879. Mr. Leahy was elected Alderman of the Sixth Ward in 1874 and 1875; was
Supervisor in 1872 and 1873, which offices he filled in an efficient and satisfactory
manner. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and his wife of the Episcopal Church.
CHARLES H. LEE, attorney; is a son of Alanson H. Lee, who came to Racine in 1840, or 1841,
and engaged in the mercantile business, dying in 1861. Charles H. was District Attorney in 1873
and 1874, and is now U. S. Commissioner and Master in Chancery; he is also, and has been for the
year and a half, attorney for J. I. Case & Co.
PETER LE RAY, fanning-mill manufacturer; born on the Island of Guernsey, England,
Oct. 25, 1822; formerly in the carpenter and joiner business and flouring mills; there are
eight in his present business. Married Miss Margaret Tostevin, born in Guernsey, England; they have
two children, born in Racine - Walter, born May 10, 1851; William, March 10, 1854; Walter is a
carpenter, and is in the employ of the firm of Tostevin and Le Ray; William is a painter and works
for Case & Co. Attend the Episcopal Church.
JOHN LETSOM, architect, was born in Caledonia, Racine County, July 18, 1852; he
has been engaged in his present business about four years.
ALFRED LEWIS, proprietor of the Huggins House, Racine, was born at Poughkeepsie,
Dutchess Co., N. Y., Sept. 3, 1836, whence his parents moved to Putnam Co., N. Y .,
where he remained until 1854, when he came to Delavan, Wis., where he rented and
worked a farm; subsequently purchased forty acres of land in the township of Sugar Creek;
in addition to farming, he made a business for some eight years of threshing for Wisconsin
and Illinois farmers, running two Case's horse-power threshing machines; selling out his
various interests after the war, he came to Racine with the intention
of purchasing the furniture of the old Racine House, and conducting the same, while taking the
inventory the house was destroyed by fire; this event caused him to purchase a home near the city, and
remain out of active business for a time; but, unused to idleness and inactivity, he soon became an
extensive bay merchant; giving up this business, and conscious of his natural ability to successfully
manage a hotel, he bought out the Bouton House, once the Racine Exchange, now the Blake House. At
this time he was also interested in the running of several hacks; disposing of this house, he became
landlord of the Huggins House; he is ever ready to accommodate his guests in any reasonable manner,
and, with a keen sense for their comfort, has improved and refurnished this hotel, making it one of the
best in the State. He married, July 5, 1863, Miss Elnora Tremple, born in Orange County, N. Y.; they
have two children - Nettie Luella, born April 3, 1865; and Carrie Isabella, Aug. 9, 1872.
W. T. LEWIS, of the firm of Mitchell, Lewis & Co., manufacturers of wagons and carriages,
has been a resident of Racine since September, 1855.
ALONZO LOBDELL, harnessmaker, Wisconsin street, between Fifth and Sixth, residence between
Seventh and Eighth; was born in Albany Co., N. Y., 1824; came to Wisconsin in 1867;
resided for several years at Darien, Walworth Co., Wis., on a farm of 188 acres, which
he still owns, and values at from $30 to $35 per acre; came to Racine in 1876 and expects
to make this place his future home. Married Augusta daughter of Cyrus Comstock, of
Chenango Co., N. Y., January, 1864; they have two daughters - Jennie A. 11 years old, and
Mary Josephine, aged 10 years. Mr. Lobdell is a member of the M. E. Church.
FRANK A. LOCKWOOD, of the firm of Nield & Lockwood, butchers, born in Racine Oct. 29, 1854;
was traveling collector for the Singer Sewing Machine Co., in 1877. Married Miss Nellie A.
Howland in 1878; she was born in Racine County, in 1858. Mr. Lockwood is the son of
James E. Lockwood, who settled in Racine in 1842, and built the first public hall
(known as Union Hall) that was built in Racine, in company with W. C. Chapman.
FRANK F. LOVELL, tug-boat owner, bridge and dock builder; came to Racine with his
parents in 1857; was educated in the district schools; at the age of 16 years he
went to work as fireman on a tug boat; advanced to engineer, after to captain and
owner of a tug boat, and partner with David Gillen and T. L. Whitbeck in the bridge
and dock building. Born June 22, 1851, in Beloit, Wis.; son of Philip and Louisa Lovell,
of Yorkshire, England, who emigrated to this country in 1845 and settled in
Beloit, Wis.; moved to Racine in 1857, and formed a co-partnership with Mr. Hugh Gorton
in the butcher business, which lasted till his death - July 12, 1873. Mr. Gorton, his
partner sixteen years, speaks of him as one of the most remarkable men be ever met;
kind, unselfish, of even disposition, generous, and
never troubled. Frank F. is a member of the Knights of Honor and Royal Arcanum.
TOBIAS LUCK, photographer, 105 Main street, was born in Switzerland April 28, 1853, and
came to America in 1870; he located first at Dubuque, Iowa, where he remained two years;
went from there to Milwaukee, and from there to Racine in 1873.
HANNIBAL LUGG, builder; born in Cornwall, England, in 1819; came to Racine Aug. 1842; is
a carpenter by trade, and first worked for Alanson Filer in 1842, when Racine was a very small
place; has been in business for himself as contractor for over thirty years in this county.
Married, in Belleville, Canada, May, 1844, Mary Harry, a resident of Sydney Township,
near Belleville; have three children - James, Martha, and John - all living; his wife died
in Racine in Aug., 1875, and was buried in Yorkville; he married again in Racine May 16, 1877,
Mrs. Barry, widow of Melville Barry, a resident of Racine; they have one child -
Lydia C., aged 7 months; they attend the Episcopal Church.
DR. J. C. LUKES, dentist, is a native of England; came to America in 1841, settling
at first in Canada, afterward going to Rochester, N. Y.; he alternated between the
two places until he came to Chicago in 1849; from thence he went to Rockford, Ill.,
where he remained until he came to Racine in the fall of 1856, where he has been engaged
in the practice of his profession ever since. He has served as Alderman of his ward
for two terms, and has been a member of the School Board for four years. In April, 1854,
he married Ellen M. Holt, at Rockford, Ill.; she was a native of Winnebago Co., Ill.;
they have five children- Gertrude (now Mrs. Charles B. Herrick, of Racine),
Carrie Nelson (now at the State University at Madison), Lincoln C., George Holt, and
Joseph C. Mrs. Lukes is a member of the Episcopal Church.
F. S. LUTHER, Racine College; professor of mathematics and physics, Racine College;
born in Brooklyn, Conn., March, 1850; graduated at Trinity College 1870; came to
Racine College fall of 1872. Married, 1871, Miss E. B. Ely, daughter of Alfred Ely, of Connecticut.
ANTHONY McAVOY, born in County Down, Ireland, 1846; came with parents to London,
Canada, in 1847, where he lived till 1865, then went to Chicago; remained there till 1866,
when he came to Racine; remained only a short time; moved to Elkhorn, Walworth Co., and
lived there till 1872, then came back to Racine and located permanently. He married,
in Delavan, Wis., Aug. 15, 1868, Alice May, a resident of Elkhorn; had six children -
Francis James, Bessie L., Alice May, Catherine, Cora, John Anthony; Bessie L. died in Racine
Oct. 25, 1878; the rest are living and all are members of the Catholic Church.
In March, 1874, he entered into partnership with Morris Noonan and established the
Novelty Carriage Works, situated on Wisconsin street, between Fourth and Fifth streets;
since commencing business, through their energy, they have succeeded in gaining a large
trade; they manufacture a very superior line of carriages, phaetons, buggies and
light road wagons; a large part of their work goes to Chicago
dealers, and takes the lead for beauty and workmanship.
COL. JOHN G. McMYNN, Principal of Academy; born July 9, 1824, at Palatine Ridge,
Montgomery Co., N. Y.; entered Williams College, Mass., in 1845, and graduated in 1848; came
to Kenosha in that year, and taught school there five years; removed to Racine in 1853,
where he organized the public school, and was Principal of the high school till 1857;
spent 1858 in Europe; in 1861, offered his services to the Government, and received the
commission of Major of the 10th W. V. I; was promoted Lieutenant Colonel in 1862, and
Colonel in 1863; fought in the battles of Perryville, Ky., and Stone River, Tenn.,
and in the summer of 1862, was on the Memphis & Charleston R. R., between Huntsville
and Bridgeport, Ala.; during that period, the fighting was almost incessant, in the autumn of
1863, his command being reduced to 250 men, and private matters demanding his
immediate attention, he tendered his resignation, which was reluctantly accepted; in
1854, he was appointed Regent of the State University, and held that position fifteen
years; in April, 1864, was appointed Superintendent of Indian Affairs for
Washington Territory, but declined it; In November, 1864, was elected State Superintendent
of Public Instruction, and held that position for four years; in 1868, entered
the employment of J. I. Case & Co., as collector, where he remained until 1875, when
he built the Racine Academy, which is constantly increasing in influence and number of
pupils. Married Miss Ella F. Wiley, December, 1852; she died in June, 1858 in 1860,
he married Miss Marion F. Clarke, of Racine, and the have four children - John, Robert,
Louise and Nelly. Col. McMynn is a staunch Republican, and has held many offices in
the interest of education.
STEPHEN J. McPHERSON, a carpenter and joiner; born Oct. 22, 1846, in Racine Co.;
was educated there, and learned his business. Married Miss Anah Wait, of Racine Co.,
May 4, 1871, and has one child - Innis W., born June 18, 1876. Mr. S. J. McPherson is a
member of Blue Lodge, No. 18, Masonic.
WILLIAM D. McPHERSON, wood worker, Fish Bros. & Co.; born Sept. 24, 1844, in Racine,
where he was educated, and learned the drug business, but gave it up on account of his health,
and adopted his present occupation. Enlisted in the 8th W. V. I., Sept. 10, 1861, and
served with them till his term expired; April 25, 1865, re-enlisted in the 9th Regt.
Veteran Volunteers, under Gen. Hancock, and was discharged in 1866. Married Miss
Harriet J. George, of Racine Co., Wis., June 13, 1871, and has two children -
Lucius A., born July 3, 1873. Erma N., Jan. 3, 1876.
CHARLES MADORA, saloon; born in 1839, in Switzerland; came to Wisconsin in 1843, and
located with his parents in Racine; served his time as blacksmith, with J. I. Case; continued four
years, after which he shipped as a sailor, and remained on the lake sixteen years;
August, 1874, opened a saloon on Sixth street, his present location. In 1871, married
Miss Kate Fagan, a native of Mount Pleasant, Wis.; they have two children, both girls.
The family are members of the Catholic Church.
FRED MALSCH, butcher; was born in Germany in 1850; came to Racine in 1855. Married
Miss Marian Griswold in 1873; she was born in Racine in 1849; they have one child -
Rosa E., aged 3 years. They are members of the Episcopal Church. Mr. Malsch is the
son of August Malsch, who retired from business in 1873.
LARNARD MANN, millwright; born April 10, 1824, in Butternut, Oswego Co., N. Y.,
and received his education there; came to Racine, Oct. 1, 1845; went for a few years
to Walworth Co; returned to Racine in the fall of 1850, when he built the homestead
he now lives in. Married Miss Janette Taylor, of Walworth Co., Sept. 6, 1846, and
has had six children, five now living - Mayette A., born Oct. 18, 1847; Orin Frank,
Aug. 18, 1849 Clara Annette, Sept. 3, 1852; Ada Ezilda, June 7, 1856; George Calvin,
Oct. 18, 1857, died Aug. 13, 1869; Nellie Irene, born May 17, 1860. The family are
members of the Universalist Church. Mr. M. belongs to Lodge No. 8, I. O. O. F.
W. A. MANSFIELD, fresco artist; born in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1854, where he learned his
trade with Fritz Kruger, one of the oldest fresco artists in the city of New York;
Mr. Mansfield commenced business for himself in 1872, and has worked in twenty-seven
States, four Territories, and Mexico and Texas; he came to Racine, July 22, 1878,
and has worked here since; he did the fresco work in St. Luke's Episcopal Church,
which stands to this day, a tribute to his skill; he is now engaged in painting t
he Fifth Ward schoolhouse. He is young and energetic, and will soon rise to fame.
G. D. MARLOTT, druggist and dispensary chemist, 43 Sixth street; born in Geneva, Wis.,
June 28, 1852; son of J. D. Marlott; by trade a blacksmith; came to Racine, Aug., 1877;
married, on Nov. 9, 1876, Eudora D. Squires, of Waterloo, Wis. daughter of Dinus Squires,
born at Waterloo, Sept. 21, 1855; they have one child - Frank H. Marlott, born June 18, 1878.
Mr. M. graduated at Geneva has been in the drug business ten years; his wife is a
member of the Methodist Church.
ROBERT MARTENSON, with Elholm & Co.; was born in 1850; came to Wisconsin with
his parents in 1852; married Steina Johnson in 1873; she was born in Germany in 1851; they have two
children - Albert and Waldo.
DR. SAMUEL J. MARTIN, homoeopathic physician and surgeon; is a native of Mt. Holly,
Rutland Co., Vt.; he practiced his profession in Cheshire Co., N. H., from Feb., 1863, until May,
1869, when he came to Racine; he has been County Physician for the eastern district of
this county; his wife was Miss Helen A. Albee, of Worcester Co., Mass., and they have
one daughter, Mae H. A.; the Doctor and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
GEORGE W. MASON, foreman blacksmith W. U. R. R.; born July 19, 1833, in Berwickshire,
Scotland, where he was educated, and learned his profession went to Chicago in 1852;
to St. Louis in 1854; to Fort Wayne, Ind., in 1859; back to St. Louis in 1863; returned
to Fort Wayne in 1865 thence to Logansport, Ind., in the fall of 1865, and to Racine in
1869; married Miss Henrietta Burnside, of St. Louis. Oct. 5, 1855, and has four children -
Joseph W., born July 14, 1856; Elizabeth G., May 9, 1858; Jennie B., Feb. 18, 1863;
Cora V., July 2, 1869; has held the office of Alderman for two years; belongs to
View Lodge 18, Chapter 12, of the Masonic Order. Mr. Mason and family
are members of the First Presbyterian Church.
REV. GEORGE W. MATHEWS, Pastor of St. Patrick's Church; born at New York City in 1833;
his parents soon after removed to Columbiaville, N. Y., and thence, shortly after,
to Providence, R. I.; in the spring of 1847, they moved to Wisconsin, and settled in
the town now known as Springvale, Fond du Lac Co.; after attending the Waupun High School,
George was sent to St. Mary's University, Chicago, to prepare for the ministry; from here,
where he remained three years, he went to St. Francis Seminary, Milwaukee, where, in 1859,
he was ordained by Archbishop Henni; his first charge was Byron, with twelve
other missions in Fond du Lac Co.; in May, 1863, he was transferred from there
to Racine, where he still resides as Pastor of St. Patrick's Church.
WILLIAM K. MAY, now engaged in the grain and elevator business; is a native of Cherry
Valley, Otsego Co., N. Y.; he lived in Ohio from 1833 to 1837, when he came to Wisconsin, settling in
Walworth Co. at what was then Geneva, but is now Bloomfield, and following farming; in Nov., 1847, he
came to Racine; he first engaged in the grocery and provision trade, which he continued until 1856; in
1858 and 1859, he was City Comptroller, and since then has been engaged in his present business; he
married Percy A. Spafford, a native of Connecticut; they have three children - Darwin R.,
a resident of Milwaukee; Ellen, now Mrs. C. H. Bryan, of Mt. Sterling, Ky.,
and Lucretia A.; Darwin R. was born in Walworth Co., Oct. 7, 1839, and, it is claimed,
was the first male white child born in that county; he served, from 1862 to 1865, in the
22d Wis. V. I., First Lieutenant and Captain of Co. C, the most of the
time acting Major during Sherman's march to the sea, and Colonel in command most of the
time after leaving Savannah.
DR. J. G. MEACHEM, physician and surgeon, was born in England, and when 7 years of age
came with his father, who was a clergyman, to Onondaga Co., N. Y. In 1843, he graduated at
Castleton Medical College, in Vermont, and commenced practice in the same year, at
Weathersfield Springs, Wyoming Co., N. Y.; in 1862 he went through Bellevue Hospital
Medical College, and after that, came to Racine; in 1863, he was surgeon at Camp Utley;
in 1876, he was Mayor of the city, which office he held for three successive terms.
The Doctor is a member of the following medical associations: American Medical Association
of the United States; State Medical Society of Wisconsin and Racine City Medical Association;
he is one of the founders of St. Luke's Hospital. He married, June 25, 1844, Myraette,
daughter of the late Reuben Doolittle.
DR. J. G. MEACHEM, JR., was born in Bethany, Wyoming Co., N. Y.; he graduated from
Rush Medical College, in 1865, and is a member of Wisconsin Medical Association,
member of the Wisconsin Society of Science, Arts and Letters, and Secretary of the
Racine City Medical Association. He married, Dec. 20, 1870, Eliza Smith,
daughter of the late Eldad Smith, one of the oldest settlers here.
CHARLES MENGE, JR., teacher of music, born in Saxony, Germany, Nov. 12, 1837;
Son of Charles and Christina Menge; his musical education was obtained at Dresden Conservatory;
came to Racine, March, 1878, from Milwaukee; to America, in 1855. He married,
Nov. 23, 1861, Miss Henrietta, daughter of John and Louisa Kunkel, born at Coblentz,
on the Rhine, May, 5, 1858; they have had ten children - Emily L., Anna S., Louisa,
Julia, Josephine, Charles W., Herman A., Nettie E., Henry F., Baby. Is a member of Sons of Herman;
family attend the Lutheran Church.
JOSEPH MILLER was born in Niederzer, Rhenish Prussia, Germany, Aug. 8, 1832; with
his parents, he landed in America, in October, 1847, and reached Racine on Nov. 10 of the
same, year; the spring following he apprenticed himself to McDonald & Roby, to learn
the trade of shoemaker, after serving his apprenticeship, he worked at the trade as a
journeyman and foreman, until the fall of 1857, when he purchased the stock of
A. H. Vesilius, his employer; this he did, with little or no means of his own, but by
his faithful attention to business and his untiring perseverance, he steadily built up
a thriving business at home, and an excellent credit abroad; from this starting point,
he continued to extend his business until he stood at the head of the retail boot and shoe
trade in the city, occupying one of the large stores in the old Titus Block. On Jan. 3, 1866,
a disastrous fire swept a part of the business portion of our city, carrying with it the
Titus Block, (which was supposed to be fire-proof,) in which his stock was located; this
disaster took, in an hour, the accumulation of years of hard toil, and while not leaving
him entirely penniless, crippled him so seriously that it took years of labor to place
him, financially, where he stood when the fire overtook him; he had been manufacturing
to some extent for the wholesale trade, and was already in sight of the goal of his
ambition, a manufacturing business; crippled by his losses, as he was, he did not
despair, but commencing on a smaller scale, he once more commenced to push his business, with
all the means and energy he possessed, never losing faith in the idea of his life, that
it was within his power to build up a business equal in magnitude with that of any in the West;
in 1870, he admitted as a partner Mr. A. G. Peil, who had, for some time been a clerk in his
employ; in July, 1872, feeling that he was in condition to warrant such a step, he
disposed of his interest in the retail business to his partner, and launched into
the exclusively manufacturing business; for this end, he had been working for over
fifteen years. Contending with poverty at the first, struggling to meet a strong
competition, and hold his own against it, having a great share of his means swept away
in an hour, he never lost his courage, but steadily plodded his way on until now, he stood
at the threshold of the door leading to the goal of his ambition; with his usual
caution and prudence, he went no faster than he felt was safe, and within the limits of
his means to carry through. His experience for the next three years, is probably not
unlike that of many others with more ambition than capital, who embark in a
manufacturing business; it took time, and it cost money to introduce goods, and
while practicing the strictest economy, both in his business and his home, it was not
until after the lapse of three years, that he began to see any financial remuneration for
his labor. In 1875, with his business in a healthy and prosperous condition, he admitted
as partners, Chas. T. Schweitzer and Rush S. Adams, the former a foreman and the
latter a book-keeper, in his employ, under the present firm name of J. Miller & Co. The
trade of the firm has steadily increased, at first, very slowly, but recently more
rapidly, and from a business of $40,000, in 1873, it grew into a business of $150,000 in
1878, with every prospect pointing to a more rapid increase in future. Thus, he has
shown what integrity, perseverance and grit can do, even in the face of adversity, under
which a strong man must stagger, and a weak man go down. Oct. 26, 1854, he married
Theresa Bauer, who was born in Grozinger, Baden, Germany, Dec. 15, 1831; she moved with
her parents to America in July, 1847, landing at Manitowoc, Wis., in May, 1851; she
removed to Racine, where she married, and has since resided; have had six children -
William, born July 29, 1855; died Dec. 25, 1860; Elizabeth, born Aug. 9,
1857; died June 24, 1865; Frank J., born Feb. 17, 1860; Henry C., Aug. 27, 1862; George W., July
12, 1866; Joseph F., June 29, 1870. Of these, the four sons last mentioned, are now living with their
parents. With few thoughts but for his home or his business, Mr. Miller has never been
a political aspirant, his career in that direction, being limited to one term in the
City Council. He has a pleasant and commodious residence, on Chippewa street, where,
surrounded by his family, he enjoys the comforts and pleasures of home, after the busy
cares of the day, and where he hopes, in peace, to pass the remaining days of his life.
L. H. MILLER, of the firm of L. H. & L. D. Miller, insurance agents, and also a member
of the firm of Bowers & Miller, real estate and loan agents, was born in Westfield,
Essex Co., N. J., and came from there to Racine in September, 1849. He engaged in
farming in Mount Pleasant until 1852, then sold goods as traveling agent, after
which he was in wholesale business for three years, in Chicago. He went to Davenport,
Iowa, in 1858, and in October, 1862, entered the army, in the 37th Iowa V. I., Co. K. He
was mustering officer in the regiment, and, after a service of two and a half
years, was mustered out, in April, 1865, as Sergeant Major. On the 1st of January, 1866,
Mr. Miller came to Racine and engaged in his present business. His wife was Miss Elizabeth Buck.
H. MITCHELL, firm of Mitchell, Lewis & Co., wagon manufacturers, was born in Scotland,
March 11, 1810. He commenced apprenticeship to his business when 14 years of age. He came to
Chicago in 1834, and carried on business on Randolph street. In 1838, he came to Kenosha, where he
made wagons and plows until the fall of 1855, when he came to Racine. The work turned out from his
establishment is sent from the Atlantic to the Pacific, and from the Gulf of Mexico to Hudson's Bay.
Mr. Mitchell was Alderman of the Second Ward for seven years. He married, in Scotland, in January,
1832, Margaret Mitchell. The have had eight children, six of whom are living- William H.; Eliza A.
now Mrs. T. O. Wallace; Mary B., now Mrs. W. T. Lewis; Martha R., now Mrs. Calvin D. Sinclair;
Henry G., and Frank L. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell are members of the Baptist Church.
JOSEPH MOON, contractor and builder, firm of Corse & Moon; born in Island of Guernsey,
British Channel, Nov. 27, 1828; son of Samuel and Elizabeth Moon. Came to Racine in the
spring of 1851; engaged in his present business; served his time to learn the trade at
"Guernsey." Married, March 1, 1851, Miss Sophia, daughter of John Gilbert. They have
had four children; one died very young- Mary E. Ellen S., married Mr. Cary A. Judd, Aug. 21, 1878.
Mr. Joseph Moon enlisted in the 49th Wis. Regt., under Capt. Cheney; nine months' men; was
stationed at Fort Winman on garrison duty.
DARIUS J. MOREY, accountant; born March 3, 1843, in St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.; moved
to Wisconsin in the spring of 1845, and located in Waupaca Co. in 1853, when, after a
lingering illness of nine years, his father died, leaving him, at the age of 14 years,
the only support of his mother and five brothers and sisters. The struggle with poverty
was long and severe. Recognizing the importance of acquiring an education, he worked
diligently, in all his leisure hours, to accomplish that end. He served three years with
the 1st Wis. Heavy Artillery, and fought at Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge and other battles.
On his return from the war, he took a thorough course of instruction at a commercial
college, thereby fitting himself for his life work. On Aug. 6, 1867, he was offered the position of
accountant at the manufacturing establishment of Fish Bros. & Co., which position he now holds. He
married Miss Viola S. Packard, of Racine, Dec. 17, 1868, and has three children - Arthur Frank, born
June 6, 1870; Edith Viola, Nov. 24, 1871; Wallace S., Dec. 6, 1873. Mr. Morey served as School
Commissioner for three years. He is prominently connected with the Masonic and Temperance Societies;
has been Master of Belle City Lodge, No. 92, A. F. & A. M., five years, and is so at the present time.
He is an enthusiastic and zealous supporter and laborer in the temperance cause, holding
prominent positions in both the subordinate and Grand Lodges, and is now Worthy Patriarch
of Belle City Division, No. 4, the most popular one in the State.
HENRY J. MORGAN, foreman of car shop W. U. R. R.; born, Nov. 19, 1831, in Aberystwith,
Wales; came to America in 1835; first lived in Portage Co., Ohio; then in Dane Co., Wis.;
learned his profession in Janesville; came to Racine in 1849, and was appointed to his
present position in the summer of 1870. Married Miss Sarah J. Roberts, of Racine, Jan. 5, 1853,
and has six children living - Mary J., Lizzie, Carrie, James, Annie, and Harry. Mr. Morgan is
a member of Lodge No. 8, I. O. O. F.
MILTON MOORE, tailor; born in Pennsylvania, January, 1803; went to Guernsey Co., Ohio,
in 1809; was there ten years; was engaged in business, in Newark., Ohio,. some time; came to
Racine in 1846, and has been largely engaged in the tailoring business. Married, July, 1833,
Henrietta Trowbridge, daughter of Capt. John T. Trowbridge, one of the prominent men of
his day. Mrs. Moore is a member of the Episcopal Church.
HERMAN F. MUELLER, retail grocer; was born in the town of Stetin, Prussia, Aug. 7,
1857; came to Racine in May, 1863; has been in the grocery business two years. Married, in Freeport,
Ill., Nov. 13, 1878, Miss Riekie Schuneman. Is a member of the German Lutheran Church.
HENRY NIELD, of the firm of Nield & Lockwood, butchers; was born in England, in
1837; came to Wisconsin in 1842; removed to Racine in 1846. Married Miss Julia D. Cary in 1861;
she was born in Buffalo, N. Y., in 1844; July 4th, 1878, Mrs. Nield departed this life, and was sadly
missed by a large circle of friends; they have two children - Mary E., aged 12 years, and Henry C.,
2 years. Mr. Nield served as Alderman of the Fifth Ward in 1876 and 1877. He enlisted in 1863, in
the 1st Wis. Heavy Artillery; was stationed, during his term of service, at Fort Lyons,
near Fort Alexander, at Fort Williams, and then at Fort Ellsworth, where he was mustered
out in June, 1864.
WM. D. NEARMAN, born in Germany, in 1837; came to Kenosha in 1845, where he lived
till 1853; he then moved to Racine; occupation, painter. Was married in 1858, to Miss Elizabeth
Didia; they have had seven children- six still living. Mr. Nearman has been employed by Mitchell, in
the wagon works of this city for the last eight years; his life has been an
industrious one. He is a member of the Temple of Honor in good standing.
B. B. NORTHROP, Cashier of the Manufacturers' National Bank, of Racine, Wis. The
subject of this sketch, Byron Booth Northrop, was born Oct. 2, 1830, in Galway, Saratoga Co., N.Y.,
being the youngest son of Dr. Booth Northrop, an eminent and successful physician of the Allopathic
School of Medicine. While quite young, his parents removed to Canandaigua, and a few years later to
Medina, Orleans Co., N. Y., where, at the age of 8 years, he lost his father who died from overwork in
his profession, at the age of 49. He was educated at Yates Academy, in Orleans Co., N. Y., and at
Homer Academy, in Calhoun Co., Mich., where for several years he made his home with his oldest brother,
Rev. Henry H. Northrop. Afterward returning to Medina, N. Y., he prepared for college under the
instruction of the eminent educator and scholar, Daniel W. Fish, now widely known as the author of
Fish's Arithmetics, and reviser of Robinson's Mathematics. In 1847, he entered the University of
Michigan at Ann Arbor, pursued its prescribed classical course, and graduating received the degree
of A. B. (Bachelor of Arts) in 1855, under the presidency of Chancellor Henry P. Tappan, D. D., LL.
D., now of Berlin, Prussia, and the degree of A. M. (Master of Arts), in 1877, under the presidency
of James B. Angell, LL. D. After leaving the University, he was for several years in the employ
of Messrs. A. S. Barnes & Co., of New York, publishers of the celebrated "National Series of
School and College Text Books," acting as their general agent in Michigan in bringing these works
to the notice of the teachers and educational men of that State. In 1859, associated with his
second brother, George C. Northrop, he engaged in the banking business in Racine, Wisconsin,
establishing the "Bank of B. B. Northrop & Company," which continued in successful
operation for twelve years, and until merged in the Manufacturers' National Bank, of Racine,
in March, 1871. During the late civil war, he was the first President of the
"Soldiers' Aid Society, of Racine," auxiliary to the U. S. Sanitary Commission, devoting much
time and money to the cause. He was united in marriage with Miss Alice Theresa Porter,
youngest daughter of the late Allen Porter, formerly of Hartford, Conn., on the 20th of
January, 1863, that being her 22d birthday; the ceremony was performed in the Presbyterian
Church, by Rev. Charles J. Hutchins, now of Los Angeles, Cal., Andrew H. Parsons and Martha Giles
were married at the same time and place. There have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Northrop three
children - Allen Booth Northrop, May Northrop, and George Porter Northrop. Upon the organization
of the Manufacturers National Bank, of Racine, in March, 1871, Mr. Northrop was elected its
Cashier, and continues to hold that position at this writing, 1879; he is also one of the
nine Directors of the bank. Although attending strictly to business, and in no sense a
politician in the usual acceptance of that term, yet always taking a decided interest in
political affairs, he entered zealously into the campaign of 1876, doing all he could, by
speeches and otherwise, for the election of President Hayes and the Republican candidates. In
the spring of 1877, he was nominated by the Republicans for Mayor of Racine, but failed of
an election; his strong temperance principles, and the belief that he would enforce all laws
and city ordinances, including those for the closing of saloons and shops on Sunday, it
is to be presumed, contributed to his defeat; in the fall campaign of 1877, he was chosen a
delegate from the city to the Republican State Convention, convened at Madison,
which nominated a successful State ticket, headed by Hon. Wm. E. Smith, for Governor, and
was placed upon the Committee on Resolutions; at the charter election, in the spring of 1878,
he was chosen School Commissioner from the Second Ward of Racine, and upon the organization
of the School Board was elected President of the Board of Education of the city, holding
that position until the expiration of his term of office as Commissioner. Mr. Northrop
united with the Presbyterian Church of Racine in 1862, upon the confession of his faith;
for several years he was Superintendent of the Sabbath-school, and now holds the office of
an Elder in that Church. In person, Mr. Northrop is tall and spare, standing about six
feet high, and weighing under 150 lbs., with hair of dark brown, whiskers and mustache
same color, eyes dark gray. He resides in a substantial, plain brick house on Main street,
northeast corner of Ninth, having an ample lawn in front and rear, as a play-ground for
the children, and seems to hold the conviction that Racine is about the best city in the
West, Wisconsin about the best State in the Union, and his neighbors about the best people
in the world. His oldest brother, Rev. Henry H. Northrop, a Presbyterian clergyman,
resides at Flint, Mich.; his second brother, Hon. George C. Northrop (an Attorney and
counselor-at-law, twice Mayor of Racine and Member of the State Assembly), died July 15, 1874;
two sisters, Mrs. Rebecca M. Vibbard, late of Medina, N. Y., and Mrs. Amelia A. Hoagland,
late of Elgin, Ill., are dead; the youngest sister, Mrs. Jennette H. Hulburd, formerly of
Rochester, Racine County, now resides at Placerville, Cal. The Northrop family is
of English descent, tracing back to the Northrops and Booths, of England. Their
father and mother were both born in Newtown, Fairfield Co., Conn., and removed upon their
marriage to Galway, Saratoga Co., N. Y., where the six children mentioned herein were born.
The subject of this brief article first came, with his mother, to Wisconsin in 1842, when
12 years of age, landing at Racine from a lighter off the shore, the harbor not permitting
large steamers to enter; he remained with his sisters, Mrs. Hurlburd and Mrs. Hoagland,
at Rochester, Racine County, for a year or more attending school, and after an absence of
years returned for a permanent residence in 1859, so that it would seem not improper to
class him as one of the old settlers of Racine County.
DANIEL A. OLIN. was born June 3, 1826, at Canton, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.; his father,
Joseph Olin, was a Captain in the war of 1812, and took part in the battle of Plattsburg;
Daniel A. was the youngest of ten children, and received his education at the public school of
his own town, and at Canton Academy; he remained with his father on the farm,
teaching school during the winter, until 1849, when he married Sarah S. Sweet, who
died in May, 1852, leaving one daughter; in June, 1854, he again married, Marietta Teall; had
one daughter. In 1851, he removed to Milwaukee, and entered immediately into the service
of the Milwaukee & Mississippi Railroad Co., in the capacity of foreman of the men employed
in the construction of the road; after the completion of the road to Eagle, in 1852,
he became conductor of a train, in which capacity he remained until 1860; he was
conductor of the first Passenger train that ran from Milwaukee to the Mississippi River;
in 1860, he was appointed Assistant Superintendent of the same road, and in 1865, was
made Assistant Superintendent of the Milwaukee & La Crosse Railroad; in 1866, he was
appointed Superintendent of the La Crosse Division of the Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad,
which place he held until July, 1869, when he was made Superintendent of the Western
Union Railroad, which position he now holds. He was a member of the Common Council of
Milwaukee for five years, and was President of the Board for three years of that time.
JACOB P. OUTSON, born in Denmark, Jan. 14, 1845; came to Racine, Wis., June 1, 1863; first
engaged as a farmer. He enlisted, Sept. 7, 1863, in Company E, 2d Wis. Cavalry; he was in
all of the battles of his regiment; was mustered out Dec. 15, 1865, at Austin, Tex; returned
to Racine, and was employed by the firm of Mitchell, Lewis & Co., as foreman of the
iron-working department. He married, May 14, 1868, Miss Henrietta Roberts, who was born in
Brooklyn, N. Y.; they have had four children- only two now living- Helen J., born May 30, 1869;
Henrietta M., April 1, 1871; Frank, July 4, 1874 (died when 1 month old); Maude,
born July 1, 1878 (died when 3 weeks of age). Mr. Outson is a member of the Masonic fraternity,
also a member of the Temple of Honor; his wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and
he attends the same. Mr. Outson has led a very active and industrious life.
DR. EDWIN A. C. PAGE, brother of the Dr. John L. Page, practiced some years in Racine,
and was well known and greatly esteemed by his vast number of acquaintances for his skill
in his profession as a physician, and his many qualities of head and heart; he died in
February, 1860. Both brothers stood high in the Masonic brotherhood.
DR. JOHN L. PAGE, physician, born March 16, 1815, in Deerfield, N. H.; his parents settled
in Newburyport, Essex Co., Mass., where the Doctor received a good academical education, and at
an early age commenced the study of medicine; abandoned it and began to study law in the office
of Robert Cross, a distinguished lawyer of that county he came West in 1838, to practise law;
afterward resumed the study of medicine, and in 1845 took the degree of M. D. from the
Medical Department of St. Louis University; in 1848 the Doctor returned to New York City,
and spent several months in attending lectures and clinics and in visiting the
hospitals; in the same year he returned West, and located in Racine, Wis.; in 1854,
Dr. Page rendered great services to the sufferers from cholera in Chicago, and his treatment of
the disease was widely discussed and highly commended; he was a member of the Cook County
Medical Society, Fellow of the Chicago Acadamy of Medical Sciences; a permanent member of the
American Medical Association; was appointed Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics in
the Iowa Medical College, and subsequently Surgeon of the 4th Regt. Wis. V. I.; Acting U. S.
Surgeon Artillery, at Camp Utley; Assistant Surgeon Mound City General Hospital; was a member
and President of Racine Medical Association; a member of the State Medical Society, which
ppointed him a delegate to the International Medical College to convene at Philadelphia,
Sept. 4, 1876; was appointed, Aug. 29, 1876, Surgeon of the National Home for D. V. S.,
near Milwaukee, and, later, Treasurer of Milwaukee Board of U. S. Examining Surgeons for
Pensions, which offices he held until 1879, when, very unfortunately, his health declining,
he was compelled to resign, and has since resided in Racine. Dr. Page married
Mrs. A. J. Barry, of Youngstown, Ohio, April 20, 1869. He was a Democrat till the
Greeley campaign, but changed at that time to the Republican side. Dr. J. L. Page is a member
of the Racine County Bar, but never practiced law except to assist lawyers in examining
medical witnesses in cases where questions of medical jurisprudence arose; he was highly
recommended for the mission to Ecuador, under the Administration of Buchanan; was in 1851
City and County Physician, and for several years was President of the City Board of Health;
he was brought up in the Episcopal Church, baptised in childhood, and confirmed in 1851,
by Bishop Kemper. His wife is also a member of that church, and has ever taken an active
interest in the affairs of St. Luke's Church, of this city.
L. F. PARKER, is a native of Richford, Franklin Co., Vt.; he came to Racine in the fall of
1841, and was engaged as Clerk of the Circuit Court for sixteen years - from the fall of 1848
to 1852 as Deputy; until 1862 as Clerk; from that time until 1864, as Deputy; he was engaged
in the manufacture of pumps from 1864 to 1870, and since then has been in the lumber business;
he was Alderman of the Fifth Ward three years, and a member of the School Board for the same
length of time.
W. W. PAUL, was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., Aug. 24, 1818; moved in 1844 to Ann Arbor, Mich.;
ten months after to Racine, Wis., in 1845; he was here employed in the Lathrop Elevator,
till it was destroyed by fire, in 1869; he then engaged with the Emerson Oil Works for about
four years; he is now working for Mitchell, Lewis & Co's. Wagon Factory. He married
Miss Sarah E. Haynes, Nov. 3, 1841; she was born in Sullivan Co., N. Y., Dec. 26, 1818; they
have had three children, two daughters and one son- Carrie L., who is still living;
Caroline Eugenie, died at the age of 6 weeks; Charles Alexandria, born 8th day of August, 1851
when quite young Charles was employed by Messrs. Tate & Thompson, iron merchants, in Racine;
was with that firm three years, serving them faithfull; he was highly esteemed by everybody
with whom he came in contact; he was afterward employed by the W. U. R. R.;
while performing his duties for that company he was killed by being blown from the platform
of a car by a gale of wind; his untimely death occurred on the 15th day of December, 1876.
CHARLES PECK, born in Bristol, Hartford Co., Conn. May 27, 1833; came to Racine, June 4, 1841,
and settled in Caledonia; married, Jan. 27, 1859, in Excelsior, Sauk Co., Wis.,
Catherine M. Weidman, a resident of Excelsior; enlisted in Co. G, 43d Wis., and went to
Nashville, Tenn.; was with his regiment in the battles of Johnsonville, Nashville and others,
until the close of the war; Mr. Peck commenced the building and contracting business in
1853, in this county, and has been engaged in the same business up to the present time, and
is now doing a general contracting business, and has the reputation of being a thoroughly
reliable man; they moved into the city of Racine in 1875, and now reside
here ; have four children- Mary Frances, Ida Estelle, Lillias A., and John C.;
are members of the Congregational Church.
ERASTUS C. PECK, County Clerk; was born in Bristol, Hartford Co., Conn., and came with
his parents to Caledonia Township in 1841; he was engaged in farming until the fall of 1872,
when he was elected County Clerk, in which office he is now serving his third term; Mr. Peck
has been Chairman of the Town Board of Supervisors, and was a member of the County Board
in 1871 and 1872; when out of office, he has been engaged in the Abstract Record business,
and is now proprietor of the same.
S. B. PECK, lumber merchant; was born near Little Falls, Herkimer Co., N. Y., and brought
up in Orleans Co.; he lived in Erie from 1832 to 1837, and then came to Michigan City, where
he lived until June, 1839, when he came to Racine; he was engaged in tailoring for eight years;
then in mercantile business; later, in brick-making, and finally, in 1857, in his present
business; he was Secretary of the first meeting of the Old Settlers' Association, organized
March 14, 1870, and has been Secretary of the society ever since; in an early day he was
appointed Justice of the Peace by the Governor of the Territory, and was also a Trustee of
Racine village, and School Commissioner; he married Mary A. Wells, in 1834, at Hamburg,
Erie Co., N. Y.; she died in 1838 two children survive, Harriet E., wife of James
Walker, Mt. Pleasant, Wis., and Mary W., wife of Charles S. Main, of Marblehead, Mass.; in 1840, he
married, in Racine, Sophronia L. Wells; there are two children by the second marriage-
Dr. Albert P. Peck, of Beloit, Wis., and Myra R., wife of Prof. A. R. Sprague, of Evansville, Wis.;
Deacon Peck and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, his wife being one of the
original members, but two or three of whom are now living here.
JOHN H. PEIL, mason; residence on Wisconsin street, between Thirteenth and Fourteenth streets;
was born in Germany, Nov. 5, 1837; came to Wisconsin with his parents in 1843; came to Racine
in 1850; married Mary Angelina Tetart, Jan. 11, 1860, at Racine; she was born at Chicago, Ill.,
Dec. 24, 1842; they have nine children living- George B., born Oct. 12, 1860, at Milwaukee;
Frances O., March 28, 1862, at Racine; John A.. Oct. 29, 1864, at Racine; James Charles,
Oct. 7, 1866, at Racine; Anna M. J., Aug, 21, 1868; Frederick W., Nov. 4, 1870, at Racine;
Josephine Angeline, in Sept., 1872, at Racine; Wm. H., in March, 1875, at Racine, and
Charles Lewis, March, 1877; lost one infant, Wm. Albert. Mr. and Mrs. Peil are members
of St. Mary's Catholic Church; Mr. Peil is Vice President of the St. Joseph Benevolent
Association, and a member of the Y. M. Catholic Association; he is a son of Christian Peil,
who was among the earlier settlers of the county, and died Aug. 11, 1873; he is well
remembered by the leading citizens of Racine.
LOUIS PEIL, mason; born Feb. 2, 1815, in Germany; came to America in 1843; stayed in
Milwaukee three months, and then came to Racine, where he has resided since; married
Miss Susan Soens, of Germany, Aug. 24, 1848, and has seven children- Rev. Wm. Peil, born
Oct. 31, 1849, ordained in 1871; Mary, born Feb. 11, 1852; Catherine, Feb. 1, 1854;
Mary J., Dec 9, 1856; Joseph, April 23, 1858; Agnes, Oct. 2, 1861; Michael, May 19, 1864.
Mr. Peil and his son Joseph are members of St. Joseph Benevolent Association; all the
family are members of St. Mary's Catholic Church. Mr. Peil has lately erected a handsome homestead
on College avenue, between Fourteenth and Fifteenth streets, where he intends to reside
for the remainder of his life.
CORNELIUS PERRETT was born in Wiltshire, England, in 1827; went to Brantford,
Canada, in 1832, and remained there till 1848, where he learned his trade of tailor with
John D. Montgomery then went to Erie Co., Penn., and worked at his trade and other occupations
till 1857, when he came to Racine, and has been here since; began with the Western
Union R. R., then in its infancy, as brakesman, for a short time, and then as watchman
at the depot in this city, and, in 1858, began on the road as baggageman for one year;
in 1859 was promoted to the position of regular passenger conductor, and held that position
till 1871, when he was appointed train-master at Racine, and held that position seven years,
and, in June, 1878, again returned to the position of passenger conductor, which he now holds;
married, Dec., 1862, in Freeport, Ill., to Helen M. Sample, of York, Penn. has three
children - Nellie, Rose, Esther and Hiram S.
JOHN PETERSON, boot and shoe dealer, of the firm of Elholm & Co.; was born in Sweden
in 1828 came to Wisconsin in 1866; married Mrs. Hendrickson, in 1869; she was born in
Norway, in 1832, and came to America in 1844; they are members of the Lutheran Church; Mr.
Peterson owns two dwelling-houses in Racine, and has a pleasant home.
REV. ARTHUR PIPER, Pastor of St. Luke's Church; born July 2, 1845, in London, Eng.;
his early education was received at Greenwich, Eng.; came to this country at the age of 12 years;
entered Racine College at the age of 15; thereafter associated with the late Rev. Dr. DeKoven
for a period of nineteen years; in 1867 he graduated from the college, and was ordained
in 1870, after a theological course of three years at Nashotah, Wis.; after
his ordination, asssisted Dishop Armitage for six months; he then returned to the
college, acting first as Head of Taylor Hall, then of Park Hall, until the present year;
in connection with his work at the college, he has also fulfilled the duties of Rector of
St. Luke's Church.
FREDERICK PLATZ, firm of F. Platz & Sons (tannery); came to Racine, October, 1855;
born in Germany, Jan. 5, 1810; served ten years' apprenticeship at tanning leather;
married, Oct. 5, 1837, in Berlin, Germany, Miss Minnea Kosnig, born in Berlin, March 14, 1817;
they have four children - Marion, born Nov. 13, 1838; Albert, July 19, 1840; William,
April 29, 1845; Max, June 1, 1850; commenced busincss in the tannery in 1860.
DR. F. J. POPE, physician and surgeon; was born in Birmingham, Pa.; when 2 years of age
his parents removed to Illinois, where he lived until he was 15; he then went to Oshkosh, Wis.,
where, later, he read medicine with Dr. J. C. Noyes; from 1873 to 1875 he was in Rush
Medical College; he married in September, 1877, to Eugenie Wolfhuegel, who was born in
France they have one child; Edgar C. The Doctor and his wife are members of the Lutheran Church.
SAMUEL R. PORTER, born in South Wilton, Conn., in 1812; went to Auburn, N. Y.,
and then to Aurora, Cayuga Co., N. Y.; from there to Racine, in July, 1845; he married,
July 26, 1837, in Auburn, N. Y., Sarah Jane Williams, a native of Westfield, Mass.,
where she was born, April 14, 1815; they have had four children- Maria Elizabeth,
born May 21, 1838; Gilbert Burgess, Oct. 21, 1842; Sarah Ann, July 21, 1846;
Gilbert Burgess, (2d), April 12, 1849; Sarah Ann, the second daughter, married, Nov. 7, 1872,
John Davenport, of Racine; Maria Elizabeth, eldest daughter, died Nov. 22, 1841;
Gilbert Burgess, April 22, 1844; Gilbert Burgess, (2d), July 21, 1853; Gilbert C. Burgess,
brother of Mrs. Porter, came to Racine in November, 1844, and died in Racine in 1869,
aged 66 years; his wife, Maria Williams, he married in Springfield, Mass., in 1827, and
she also died in Racine, in January, 1878, aged 76 years. Mrs. Porter, her daughter
and husband, are members of the Presbyterian Church.
N. P. RASMUSSEN, proprietor of Lake House, State and Erie streets; born in the village
of Sondersted, Denmark, Aug. 22, 1847; early education obtained there at public schools;
left his native home, May 4, 1866, for America; came to Racine, thence to Manistee, Mich.;
returned to Racine; married Anna M. Jensen, daughter of Lars Jensen, of McMinnville, Tenn.;
have four children- Rosmine H., Julian K. F., Petrine L. S., Sophia M., (all living);
religion, Lutheran; politics, liberal; commenced business at Racine, November, 1875.
HYLAND RAYMOND, hardware merchant, 137 Main street; was born in Racine Co. in 1839;
married Emily M. Foster, daughter of J. W. Foster; they have had five children- Hattie M.,
born Sept. 21, 1866; died Dec. 19, 1870; Ella F., born Feb. 14, 1868; William H., Dec. 19 1870; died
Dec. 19, 1878; Edward, born Sept. 14, 1873; fifth child was born March 1, 1879 not named. Mr.
Raymond was elected Alderman from the First Ward in 1862; also elected as Supervisor from the Second
Ward in 1862. His father is one of the oldest settlers in the county, and up to this
date is enjoying cornparatively good health.
SENECA RAYMOND, proprietor of Congress Hall; came to Racine June 20, 1836; born
in Madison Co., N. Y.; was some time in the lumber business; went on a farm of 640 acres, in the town
of Raymond, named after his father, Elisha Raymond; was in the commission business, as the firm of
Dutton & Raymond, for twelve years; owned and kept, from 1842 to 1857, the Exchange Hotel,
afterward burned. Mr. S. Raymond married Miss Susan Beatty, of Manlius, Onondaga Co., N. Y.;
they had four children- Elizabeth, born Aug., 1836; Eliza N., May 27, 1838; died May 4, 1850;
Frank, born May 18, 1848; Mattie, Aug. 31, 1851; Mrs. Susan Raymond died Sept. 11, 1875.
Mr. Raymond was elected Treasurer of the county while Kenosha was yet a part of it, and
held that office four years; elected Alderman several terms, also School Commissioner.
The family attend the Baptist Church; he is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
FRANK W. REDFIELD, hay press; came to Racine with his parents in 1846; born in Oregon, Ill.,
June 19, 1845; educated at Racine at the age of 15 years; worked for T. W. Secore,
his stepfather, at hay pressing by hand, till he was 21 years old, then became partner;
Mr. Secore died November, 1873; his son, T. W. Secore, Jr., succeeded his father;
Sept. 10, 1877, Mr. Redfield purchased his interest and adopted a steam press.
Married, June 24, 1867, Miss Nellie C. Lingsweiler, of Mount Pleasant, Racine Co.;
they have three children- Nellie I., born June 19, 1868; Myron P. L., Oct. 12, 1872;
Orren S., June 18, 1876; attend the Methodist Church.
JAMES M. REED, stone and monument manufacturer; came to Racine Dec. 18, 1877; was born
in Pittsburg, Pa., Dec. 10, 1846; son of Obadiah Reed, who had five children- two sons
and three daughters. He married, Oct. 6, 1868, Miss Agnes I. Mason, daughter of
J. J. Mason, of Pittsburg; they have had five children- Ella C., born 1870; died May, 1870;
William A., born July 2, 1871; David V., April 26, 1874; James M., July 26, 1876; Pearl,
July, 3O, 1878; attend the Presbyterian Church.
FREDRICK RENKAUF, proprietor of Wisconsin House; was born in Annapolis, Md.,
Feb. 18, 1849; came to Racine Aug. 16, 1849, with his parents; his early education was
obtained in the public schools at Racine; commenced business at the age of 19 years,
after learning the shoemaker's trade, which he began at the age of 13 years; went
into business for himself on State street; remained in that line seven years; was in the
flour and feed business on north Erie street about eight months, then opened
the Wisconsin Hotel. Married, Sept. 14, 1871, Emily L. Foertsch, daughter of
Frederick Foertsch, of Pittsburgh, Penn.; they have had four children- Mary S. L., born
July 17, 1872, died April 24, 1873; Fred. C. G., born Sept. 24, 1873; Frank C. O., Sept. 22,
1875; George C., Sept 5, 1877. Religious faith, Lutheran. Politics, Democrat.
He was appointed on city police force, July 15, 1878.
REV. JOSEPH ROBERTS, Pastor Welsh Congregational Church; born in 1842, in
North Wales, where he was educated for the ministry; in 1873, he was ordained in New York State;
came to Wisconsin in May, 1875, locating in Racine, and taking charge of his present Church.
In 1874, he married Miss Maggie Cadwallader, a native of Wales; they have two children,
DETHLOFF ROGGENBAU, dry-goods merchant; came to this State in 1852, locating
in Racine, where he opened a hotel, and conducted it for three years; afterward engaged
with Mr. Klein in the grocery and liquor business for six years; in 1861, Mr. Roggenbau
retired from the firm, formed a partnership with Mr. Fixen, in the dry-goods business.
In 1856, he married Miss Lena Rapps, a native of Bavaria; they have had eight children,
five boys and three girls, five still living. Members
of the German Lutheran Church. Mr. Roggenbau is a Democrat.
CORNELIUS ROUGHAN, farmer; came to Racine in the fall of 1841; purchased from the
Government Land Department 240 acres in Township 3, now Yorkville, Wis. Born in the town
Umarka, County Clare, Ireland, April 15, 1811; was the son of Cornelius and Catherine Roughan;
left home for America, on the sailing-vessel Limerick, Capt. McFadden, March, 1836;
landed at New York; remained there six years; thence to Racine. Married Miss Catherine Shea;
born in Ireland - they have had ten children, eight now living- Mary, born Sept. 10, 1844,
married Daniel E. Shea, Nov. 15, 1863; Ellen M., born Feb. 25, 1846; Catherine S., March 25, 1847;
Bella B., March 31, 1849, married George Brock, Oct. 7, 1871; Patrick J., born May 4, 1851;
Frances Jane, Aug. 8, 1853; Martha T. Oct. 13, 1856. died Nov. 22, 1864; Edward D.,
born April 10, 1859; Cornelius, Jr., July 19, 1861, died Nov. 22, 1864; Martha E., born May 20, 1865.
The family are members of St. Patrick's Church.
JOHN ROWLAND, monumental works, corner of Campbell and Tenth streets; came from
Chicago to Racine in April, 1878; was born Feb. 19, 1833, at Holyhead, North Wales; came to
Chicago in 1869; was a trusted employee of Lunger & Talcott, of that city, for seven years.
His wife's name before marriage was Jane Hughes; she was born in Conway, North Wales, Oct. 11, 1832.
Mr. Rowland and wife are members of the Welsh Presbyterian Church, and the parents of five boys and
FRED ROWLEY, of the firm of Rowley & Bro., butchers; was born in England, July 6, 1847;
came to Racine in 1865. Married Miss Elizabeth Buffton, Dec. 23, 1868; she was born July 1, 1849,
in Radnor, England; they have three children- Randall, aged 10 years; Mark, 8 years; and
Lillie, 2 years. Members of the Episcopal Church.
MARK ROWLEY, of the firm of Rowley & Bro., butchers; was born in England, in the
year 1842; came to Wisconsin in 1860, and to Racine in 1865. Married Miss Clara E. Tomlinson in
December, 1867; she was born in Racine in 1849; they have three children- Lena, aged 11 years;
Etta Norton, 9 years; and Mollie, 3 years. Members of the Episcopal Church.
SIDNEY A. SAGE, (deceased), was a native of Colebrook, Litchfield Co., Conn.; came to Racine in May,
1836; he was for a time engaged in the mercantile business, and built a steam and grist
mill on the west side of the river in 1843 or 1844; later, he was occupied in looking
after his real estate; he was a Director of the Lake Shore Railroad at its organization;
was Alderman, and in many ways prominently identified with the interests of the city.
He died in March, 1869.
STEPHEN H. SAGE, insurance agent; is a native of Sandisfield, Berkshire Co., Mass.;
his father, Joel Sage, who died in September, 1840, located a claim on the west side of
the river, what is now the Fifth Ward in Racine, in May or June, 1835, and Stephen
came to this place in 1836; he was in the mercantile business one year, and for
several years engaged in grain and wool buying, and packing pork; for the last ten years he
has been special agent for this county for the Washington Life Insurance
Company; he was City Treasurer from 1869 to 1875; for several years a member of the County Board
of Supervisors. He married Helen M. Carpenter, Feb. 27, 1855; she was born in Cortland Co., N. Y.;
there are two daughters- Emma M. and Fanny B. Mr. and Mrs. Sage are members of the First
COL. THOMAS ST. GEORGE, was born at Little Falls, N. Y., in June, 1843, and went from
there to Fultonville, and thence to Racine, in 1852; was educated in the High School
in Racine, and in 1860, on first call for troops for the army, he enlisted in
Company F, 2d Wis. V. I; was with his regiment in several engagements- Bull Run, and several
others; was severely wounded in the head at the battle of Gainesville, in 1862, where
he laid on the battle-field five days without food; he lost his power of speech from
the effects of his wound, and did not regain it for over a year; while on leave of absence,
he returned to Racine, and was honorably discharged in 1863, on account of being disabled;
he was then commissioned as Captain, but did not accept on account of disability.
He married, in Racine, October, 1868, Mattie S. Barrie, a resident of Ashtabula, Ohio.
Mr. St. George engaged with J. I. Case & Co. in 1875, and is at present in their employ;
in 1876, he was commissioned by Gov. Ludington as Colonel on his staff.
A. C. SANDFORD, editor of the Racine Advocate; was born in the County of Kent, England,
at a place near Dover, Nov. 7, 1824; his parents removed to this country in the spring
of 1830, bringing him with them, and located near the town of Vernon, Oneida Co., N. Y.,
and there engaged in agricultural pursuits; A. C. remained in that occupation until the
fall of 1839, when he went to New York City, and attended school two years, after which
time he returned to his father's and remained on the farm; in April, 1841, he went into
the Observer office at Utica, as an apprentice to the printing business, and was
there until June, 1841; he then was employed in a job printing office in Utica until
the spring of 1845; after a vacation of some months, he took a position as compositor
in a book printing office in New York City; in January, 1846, he went to Boston, and
engaged for a short time in stereotyping work for the New England Type Foundry; in
March, 1846, he published his first paper, the Madison County Democrat, at
Chittenango, N. Y.; it was continued for two years; in the fall of 1848, Mr. Sandford
went to Canandaigua, N. Y., and there published the Ontario Messenger, his connection
therewith boginning Jan. 1, 1849; Jan. 1, 1850, he sold out his business, and went
to Rome, N. Y., there purchasing a half-interest in the Roman Citizen; he remained
in Rome until October, 1854, associated with his brother, although he did the editorial
work himself; In November, 1854, he came to Racine, bought the Advocate, and has
ever since been connected therewith. Mr. Sandford has always been identified with the
anti-slavery party, but has never sought after or held a political office. April 16, 1849,
he married Miss Eunice A. Whipple, who was born near the town of Cazenovia, Madison Co., N. Y.
GEORGE W. SCANLAN. agent of the Goodrich line of steamers; born in Massachusetts in 1840;
came to this State in 1849; located at Racine; was engaged with Mr. Ed. McEnry for ten years;
in 1869 he was appointed agent for the Goodrich line of steamers, which position he still holds;
in 1861 he married Miss Mary E. Dunning, a native of New York; they have had four children,
two sons and two daughters; members of the Episcopal Church; Republican.
FRANK SCHNEIDER, saloon; born in 1835, in Germany; emigrated to New York, August, 1847;
remained there two years; removed to Racine in 1849; in 1864 was elected Sheriff for
two years; in 1867-68 he served as Deputy Sheriff, and in 1868 was re-elected Sheriff for
two years; 1872, went into the insurance business; continued three years; June, 1876, he
opened a billiard-hall and sample-room on Main street; Jan. 22, 1859, he married
Miss Elizabeth Klein, a native of France; they have two children- one boy and one girl;
Mr. Schneider formed a company of the 26th Wis. Reg. during the late rebellion.
A. SCHOUBOE, baker; was born in Denmark in 1835; came to Ametica in 1870; he
first located at Chicago, and removed thence to Wisconsin in 1877; married
Miss Fliss in 1876; she was born in Denmark in 1842; they are members of the Lutheran Church.
WILLIAM SCHULZE, dispensing chemist; was born in Hanover, Germany, Aug. 10, 1849;
came to America, December, 1871; was three years at St. Louis, Mo., after which
at Springfield, Ill.; came to Racine in 1878; he graduated with honors at Gottingen, Hanover,
after six years of hard study; is unmarried; belongs to the Lutheran Church.
WILLIAM SCOTT, foreman of foundry of works of J. I. Case & Co.; born in Berlin, Prussia;
went thence to North of England, and worked at his trade: he came to this country in 1862;
located in Milwaukee, and came to Racine in 1866; he enlisted in the 20th Wis., while
in Milwaukee in 1862, and was with his regiment in all engagements until mustered out
in 1865; married in November, 1864, in Milwaukee, Ellen E. Maxfield, a native of Massachusetts.
ANDREW SMITH, stone-cutter, Michigan street; came to Racine, May 20, 1876; born in
Scotland in October, 1845; served his time at his trade; came to America in 1872;
landed at Montreal, Canada; formed a copartnership with Mr. James Reed, for the manufacture
of building stone and monumental work.
CHARLES W. SMITH, came to Racine, April 20, 1867; born in the town of Somers, Kenosha Co.,
Feb. 15, 1847; enlisted in Co. H, 33d W. V. I., Jan. 8, 1864; he was through the
Red River campaign with Gen. A. J. Smith; first battle was at Fort De Russey, and
all other battles up to Shreveport; then on to Memphis; thence to Duvall's Bluff, Ark.,
following Gen. Price through Arkansas and Missouri; in front of Mobile, Ala., his
gun was shot out of his hand and destroyed by an enemy's shot, while taking aim;
was discharged September 4, 1865; he married, Nov. 11, 1868, Miss Mary C. Halenbake,
born in Racine, July 17, 1851; she was a music teacher; the daughter of B. Halenbake;
they had one child, Fred W. Smith, born Nov. 21, 1870; the family attend the Presbyterian Church.
CAPT. J. S. SMITH, Master of schooner George Murray; came to Racine in the spring of 1855;
born in Dundee, Scotland, April 23, 1831; married in the spring of 1858, Miss Mary A. Higgie,
born in Newberry, Scotland, daughter of Francis B. and Mary Higgie; they have had nine children,
seven living- Alixa M., born May 14, 1860; Maggie J., Aug. 7, 1861; Melissa E., Oct. 4, 1863; George
M., July 20, 1865; Francis E. Oct. 8, 1866; Minnie S., April 28, 1875; Mattie W., Sept. 18, 1876;
Capt. Smith is a Knight Templar the family attend the Congregational Church.
R. W. SMITH, railroad contractor; came to Racine in April, 1852; born in Dexter, Maine,
Jan. 3, 1818; commenced business at Racine in the drug trade; assisted in building
the Racine & Mississippi R. R., now the Western Union; after it was built was appointed
Superintendent of Construction from Freeport to Rock Island; G. A. Thompson was President;
Mr. Smith secured the franchise of the new road - Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul; in 1870,
was stricken with paralysis of the whole of the right side, which very materially affected
his speech; has been unable to attend to any business since; he sold his charter to
Alexander Mitchell. He married, Jan. 30, 1841, Susan A. Bigelow, born in Adrian, Mich.,
March 21, 1822; they have two children- Clarence A., born June 24, 1842; Randall W., Jr.,
Aug. 30, 1847. Mrs. Smith died, and Mr. Smith married the second time, Sept. 26, 1860,
Miss Mary E. Moore, of Manlius, N. Y., born Aug. 6, 1832; they have three children-
Kate L., born Sept. 25, 1861; Alice M., June 8, 1863; George H., 2d March, 1867. Mr. Smith
is a member of the Masonic Order; member of St. Luke's Episcopal Church.
SAMUEL SMITH, florist and proprietor of nursery; came from Buffalo to this county in fall
of 1841; in business in Racine from 1841 to 1876; was born in Wilton, Fairfield Co., Conn, in 1820.
Married Emily A. Campbell, from vicinity of Springfield, Mass., born about 1830; have one daughter,
born 17th March, 1873; they were married in Racine County, August 1855. Mrs. Smith is a member of
Presbyterian Church. Were among the first settlers. There were no streets graded when he came.
SETH E. SMITH, tutor of natural sciences and grammar school; born in New York State, 1848;
graduated at Trinity College, Hartford, Conn., in 1875; came to Racine College the same year
Married Miss J. Draper, who is a descendant of one of the oldest and most respected
families of Connecticut, in 1877; have one daughter- Minnie Draper, born May 14, 1877.
WILLIAM SILLOWAY, engineer; born Feb. 3, 1815. in Plainfield, Sullivan Co., N. H.;
was educated and learned his business there; moved to Racine, Wis., in 1850. Married
Miss Esther R. Chase, of Cornish, N. H., May 18, 1843; they have two children-
Lucy L., born March 17, 1845; Mary C., Jan. 29, 1852. Mr. and Mrs. Silloway are
members of the Congregational Church.
HANS T. SOLBERG, Master of the schooner "Belle" came to Racine April 1, 1866;
bought a fifth of the schooner "Belle," and was made Master of her; he was born in
Norway, Dec. 10, 1823; the son of Tollif and Anna Solberg; left Norway for
Rotterdam, Holland, thence to America, Aug. 1, 1844; landed in Philadelphia, Penn.,
Oct. 1. Married, Oct. 31, 1859, Anna Johnson, of Norway; they have had five children-
Thomas L., born in Texas, Dec., 11, 1860; Peter, in Texas, Feb. 11, 1862; Caroline M.,
at Racine, Sept. 22, 1866; Harry A., Sept. 11, 1868; Lizzie, March 15, 1872.
Member of the Methodist Church.
AUGUST H. STANGE, with H. W. Wright, sash, door and blind manufacturer; was born Oct. 10, 1853,
in Germany; came to Watertown, Jefferson Co., Wis., in May, 1854, where he was educated;
settled in Racine in 1871. Married Miss Emelia Mueler, of Racine, Feb. 15, 1873, and
has three children- Hattie K., born Dec., 1874; Charles J., Jan., 1877; Adelie F., Feb., 1878.
Mr. and Mrs. Stange are members of St. John's Lutheran Church.
JOHN C. STEGE, meat market, corner Eleventh street and Washington avenue; was born in
St. Louis, Mo., in 1855, where he lived until Sept. 1878, when he removed to Racine
and went into business at his present location.
HORACE STONE, dispensing chemist and druggist; was born in Litchfield, Conn., Feb. 10, 1814;
left there at the age of 14 years. Married Miss Emily Gordon, daughter of James Gordon,
of Batavia, N. Y.; they have had five children- Helen, Walter L., Adelia, Horace G., and Clara-
two now living. He came to Green Bay, Wis., in the year 1836; from there to Sheboygan;
he assisted in building the first house at that place, afterward called the Sheboygan House,
and used as a hotel; the town at that time was a wilderness; he remained there three years;
came to Racine in 1842; went into the cabinet and chair business. In the fall of
1851 he sold out and went to California; was there three years in business; returned to
Racine and bought out the drug business; in the fall of 1856 went to California on a visit,
and remained there eighteen months; returned to Racine, where he has been since. His son,
Walter L., enlisted in the 2d Wis., or Iron Brigade, in 1861, and participated in most all
the battles in the Army of the Potomac from the first Bull Run; was appointed Aide-de-Camp
to the Commander-in-Chief, with rank of Colonel, to date from Jan. 11, 1864; was mustered
out at Madison, Wis.; he went to the Black Hills, and carried the first mill into that
country, which place he now calls his home.
H. P. SWINSON, born in Denmark, April 1, 1841; he came to Racine, May 12, 1867;
is a wagon maker; on his arrival here he was immediately employed by Mitchell, Lewis & Co.,
wagon manufacturers; he now has charge of the body wood-working department. He married,
Sept. 21, 1872, Miss Conradine Nelsin; she was born in Denmark in April, 1842; they have
had three children; two died in infancy; one living, Rudolph, born July 15, 1877.
Mr. Swinson and his wife are members of the Scandinavian Lutheran Church.
ROBERT TAIT, born in Chestertown, N. Y., in 1832; came from there to Racine in June, 1846.
He married, in April, 1856, Rosalie M. McNeil, daughter of William McNeil, Esq., of Pleasant
Prairie Kenosha Co., and one of the oldest settlers of that county; they have eight
children- Olive, George William, Jane S., Gilbert, Addie, Walter, Ellen, and Jessie, the
youngest 5 and the eldest 21 years. Mr. Tait has worked over five years for J. I. Case & Co.;
is a cooper by trade, and worked in Chicago and also in Racine before working for Case & Co.
Mr. and Mrs. Tait are members of the First Presbyterian Church. George Tait, father of Robert
Tait, came to Racine in 1845 with his wife, Jane C. Tait, formerly Miss Cairns, of Scotland;
they had eleven children- Gilbert, Ellen, Nancy, Jane, Mary, John, George, Walter, Thomas,
James and Robert; the father, Mr. George Tait, died on the eve of the 4th of July, 1856, and
his wife died in 1854; Gilbert died in 1864, Ellen in 1846, Walter in 1846, Nancy in 1850;
and Thomas in 1860; all are buried in Mound Cemetery, Racine Co., except Ellen, who was
buried by her husband in Green Co.
MATHIAS R. TEEGARDEN, physician and surgeon; was born in Salem, Columbia Co., Ohio,
and is a graduate of Eclectic College, in Cincinnati; he came to Racine in June, 1845;
during, the war, he was Examining Surgeon for this district, and went to Southern
battlefields at his own expense, with supplies of medicines for the sick and wounded,
neither expecting nor receiving any reimbursement from the Government at one time he
had charge of a hospital at Pittsburg Landing; he married, on the 1st of Sept., 1846,
Amelia Wickham, who is a native of Utica, N. Y.
NICHOLAS THEIN, blacksmith, Washington avenue, between Eighth and Ninth streets; residence,
same; born in Ettlebrick, Germany, 1818; married Miss Elizabeth Klein in 1847; she died
in Germany shortly after; Mr. Thein came to America in 1847; stopped first in Wisconsin;
went to Chicago in 1848, and lived there twenty-two years; three weeks before the fire, he
went to Germany with his aged mother, who died since in her native land; the Chicago
fire consumed Mr. T 's shop, house, and all he had; upon his return, he sold his lot, corner
Clark street and Chicago avenue, and, with the sale-money, bought in Kenosha, where he
still owns; his second wife, Anna Klein, is the mother of his children - Henry, in New
York State; John and Mathias, now in Chicago.
MAJ. MARTIN THROUP, proprietor of livery stable and omnibus line; came to Racine in
July, 1846, and has since been prominently connected with the business interests
of the city; he was agent for the Round Lake line of steamers for ten or twelve years,
until the Michigan Central and Southern roads were completed to Chicago; he was also
agent for the Toronto and Collinwood line of steamers for two years; he has been
engaged continuously in his present business for twenty-six years; was also
proprietor of the Delmonico Hotel three years.
JAMES P. TOSTEVIN, manufacturer of fanning mills; came to Racine, July, 1854;
born on the Island of Guernsey, British Channel, Feb. 7, 1825; married, in Aug., 1858,
Julia Burgess, daughter of Thomas Burgess, of Guernsey; had five children, three deceased-
Eddie A., born at Racine, Sept. 22, 1864; Walter J., Sept. 16, 1867; member of the Methodist Church.
RICHARD TRIST, station agent C. & N. W. R. R.; born April 27, 1849, in Devonshire, England;
came to America in 1853 with his parents, who located in Waukesha Co., Wis. he moved to
Milwaukee Co., Wis., in 1856, where he was educated; enlisted in the 1st Wis. Art., and
served with them to the close of the war; in June, 1866, he met with a severe accident,
which resulted in the loss of his left arm; came to Racine, May 4, 1868, as telegraph operator,
and was appointed station agent, Aug. 24, 1871, which position he now holds;
married Miss Lizzie Greene, of Decatur Co., Iowa, Oct. 21, 1873; they have one child-
Grace, born Feb. 21, 1875.
COL. WILLIAM L. UTLEY is a native of Monson, Mass., where he was born, July 10, 1814;
when 4 years of age, his parents removed to Ohio, which was then an almost unbroken wilderness;
when he was 21 years of age, feeling the necessity for better educational opportunities,
he went to New York State, where he struggled hard, with little means, to gain the end he
had in view; he lived a nomadic sort of life, and, in 1844, he found himself in Racine
set up as a portrait painter and musician; in 1848 he became politically roused, and
united with the Free Soil or Republican movement, and, upon that issue, was elected the
first Marshal Racine ever had; in 1850, was elected to the Legislature, and re-elected in
1851; in 1852, he was appointed Adjutant General of the State, and, in 1860, was elected
to the State Senate; in 1861, he was again, appointed Adjutant General of the State, and,
though there was hardly a soldier in the State when he entered upon his duties, within
six months he placed 30,000 men in the field, and was complimented for his brave and
energetic action, in a private letter from President Lincoln; upon the accession of
Gov. Harvey, he again entered the Senate, and soon after his return home, at the close
of the session, he received a colonel's commission, with orders to raise a regiment in
ten days; at the expiration of that time, he reported at Madison with men enough for
two regiments, one of which, the 22d. was assigned to him, and with them he went to
the front; he was at one time confined for several months in Libby Prison, and, withal,
had a most stirring military experience; in July, 1864, he was obliged to resign his
commission, on account of impaired health; after being, in a measure, restored, he,
in company with his son, purchased the Racine Journal, which he conducted for nine
years; in 1869, he was appointed Postmaster, and was re-appointed in 1873;
he has given special attention to the raising of blooded horses, for nearly thirty years,
and has raised many which have become celebrated; Col. Utley has been twice married: first,
on July 11, 18--, to Louisa Wing, who died April 10, 1864; they had three children,
only one of whom, a son, is living; he again married, on the 22d of February, 1866,
Miss Sarah J. Wooster, by whom he has one son.
CAPT. WILLIAM B. VANCE, born in Dublin, Ireland, Nov. 22, 1833; when twelve years
of age, went on board of a vessel to become a sailor; came to Racine, December, 1848;
he is now Captain on the lakes; he married, April, 1862; has one son, born October, 1866;
Capt. Vance is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
WH. W. VAUGHAN was born in Montgomeryshire, North Wales, in 1813; came to Racine in 1842;
was engaged in the lumber and flouring business, at Berlin, Wis., for ten years; married,
in November, 1840, Elizabeth Williams; is a member of the Welsh Presbyterian Church;
Republican in politics; has held the offices of Supervisor, School Commissioner; Alderman,
for ten years; Mayor of the city in 1852; County Treasurer in the years of 1856 and 1857;
was one of the Republican Presidential Electors in 1860, casting his vote for Lincoln and
Hamlin; is engaged in the flour milling business; is a member of the dry goods and
grocery firm of Vaughan, Jones & Roberts; is one of the solid men of Racine, and
one of the oldest business men of the city (See page 325 for address of Mr. Whiteley,
delivered at Old Settlers' Society Re-union in 1879).
HENRV V. VAN PELT, attorney; was born in Racine, Jan. 25, 1854. He was educated
at Beloit College, and graduated from that institution, July, 1875. He read law
with Hon. E. O. Hand, and was admitted to the bar in March, 1876. He has been
engaged in practice here since that time. He is now Circuit Court Commissioner.
CLINTON A. WEED, contractor; born in Berkshire Co., Mass., 1837; went to Cleveland, Ohio;
thence to Racine, Nov. 1, 1854. Is a carpenter by trade; began to work for J. I. Case & Co.,
in 1855 and, with the exception of a few visits away from Racine, has been in the same
employment since; is now foreman. Married, in New Lisbon, Wis., June 5, 1865, Chloe McKinstry,
a native of Westfield, N. J. They have one child- Alfred McKinstry, aged 8 years; are
members of the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. W. was Alderman from the Second Ward
during 1875 and 1876.
JOSEPH WELFL, of the firm of Welfl & Kraynik, dealer in boots and shoes, 104 Main street;
was born in Bohemia, March 19, 1842; came to Racine, Nov. 1, 1854; engaged at farming, with
his father, until he was 19 years of age; then went, as an apprentice, to Wm. Smithers, a
shoemaker, with whom he learned his trade. In 1870, he started in business, and the firm
was known as Welfl, Thompson & Co. He next started with Mr. Kraynik, with whom he is still
in partnership. Married Miss Louisa Hayek. She was born in Bohemia, in 1848. Members of
the Catholic Church.
MRS. H. H. WELLS, born in Luzerne, Warren Co., N. Y., June 9, 1817; moved to
Washington Co., N. Y., Nov. 2, 1837. Her maiden name was Carbine. She married H. H. Wells, of Luzerne
Co., Penn. She was born Dec. 31, 1807. They came from Washington Co., N. Y., direct to Racine,
Wis. ; arrived here Sept. 5, 1845. Mr. Wells immediately engaged as a farmer, which occupation
he followed for eight years, till 1853. He then returned to the city of Racine;
was a dealer in real estate up to the time of his death- Jan. 22, 1864. He and his wife were
members of the Presbyterian Church. They have had two daughters- Angie W., born Jan. 14, 1839;
Myra E., June 14, 1846- died April 15, 1854. Angie W. married, Jan. 20, 1859, Dr. Jas. M.
Tillapaugh. He was born in Oswego, Fulton Co., N. Y., June 21, 1827; graduated at the
New York University in May, 1854; removed directly to Racine, where he became a successful
physician and surgeon. In the fall of 1861, he received from President Lincoln the
appointment of Brigade Commissary, and was assigned to the Third Pennsylvania
Brigade. He was a member of Gen. Ord's staff, and afterward of Gen. Seymour's. He was engaged
in the seven days' battle before Richmond, not only attending to his own duties, but dressing
the wounds and relieving the suffering of the wounded and dying soldiers. Upon reaching
Harrison's Landing, he found himself very ill; thought it only fatigue. He was taken to
Washington, D. C., where his wife awaited him. As soon as he was able to travel, obtained
a furlough, and they came to their home in Racine. Here he remained one month then, being
unable to go again into the field, he secured an appointment as Surgeon, and was assigned
to one of the hospitals in Washington, D. C., where he remained for a time; but, finding
his health did not return, was obliged to resign and return to his home. Resumed his
practice in Racine, which he continued up to the time of his death- May 17, 1876. His wife
survived him; also, two daughters- C. Louise Tillapaugh, who was born in Racine, Aug. 3, 1863,
and Jennie C., born in Racine, May 28, 1865. Many friends and acquaintances mourn the doctor's loss.
HON. JOHN T. WENTWORTH, Judge of the First Judicial Circuit of Wisconsin; was born in
Greenfield, Saratoga Co., N. Y. He graduated from Union College, in 1846, in the class with
John T. Hoffman and other leading men. He was admitted to the bar in 1849, and has been
engaged in practice since 1851. He came to Chicago in 1852, and to Geneva Lake, Wis., in 1856. He
was District Attorney from 1858 to 1862. He was Circuit Clerk in 1870, and was re-elected
in 1872 and 1874, but resigned the office in 1875, and was re-elected in 1877. He married,
on the 4th of October, 1852, Frances McDonald, a native of Saratoga Springs. They have
four children- John T., Jr., of the present Senior Class of Yale College; Thomas McDonald,
of the Freshman Class of Yale; Mary Frances, and Jennie.
H. WERNER, Market Square; born in Germany, March, 1834; came to New York, June 2, 1866;
to Racine, Nov. 10, 1875. Has been engaged in, and worked up, a prosperous tailoring business.
Married Martha Suelflow, March 2, 1867. Have had six children; four are living. Belongs to
the Temple of Honor, Sons of Temperance. Mr. Werner is a member of the Catholic Church,
and his wife of the Lutheran Society. Mr. Werner has a good trade, and employs twenty-one
men in his business.
GEORGE R. WEST, machinist; came to Racine, Oct. 21, 1850; born in Scotland, town of Forfarshire,
Jan. 18, 1821; served an apprenticeship of seven years at the engineer's trade; commenced
at the age of 16 years; was the son of John R. West. Married Miss Margaret McRitchie.
SIMEON WHITELEY, born March 18, 1831, at Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England; entered
the preparatory department of Huddersfield College in his 9th year and the college
proper six months later, carrying off the honors of his "form" three successive years.
The financial crash in the woolen manufacturing district, which made the winter of 1841-42
memorable, having swept away what fortune his father had acquired, he came to America
with his parents, arriving at New York August 4, and at Racine August 29, 1842;
the rest of his minority was divided between farm life in the town of Dover, Racine County,
and Dear St. Charles, Ill.; work in the woolen factory, at Elgin (where it was intended
that he should thoroughly learn the business of his father), and the printing business,
serving an apprenticeship of nearly four years, at Geneva, Ill. From the fall of 1850
to June, 1852, he worked as a journeyman printer at Racine, principally in the office
of the Commercial Advertiser; his first newspaper editorial was upon the death
of Henry Clay, for the Watertown (Wis.) Chronicle, of which paper he had temporary
charge soon after his 21st birthday, as he had later of the Old Oaken Bucket at
Madison; the last-named paper suspended, when he responded to a call to start a new
paper at Aurora, Ill., the first number of which appeared on the afternoon of the day
on which Franklin Pierce was elected President; the paper- the Aurora Guardian -
was to be Democratic in politics, as there was already a well established Whig paper in
the place, whose editor was Postmaster; the first editorial written for the Guardian was
upon the then recent death of Daniel Webster; for two years he met with decided success,
the paper being devoted very largely to local interests, which pleased the people better
than the kind of politics then in vogue. However, in 1854, he criticised very severely
the position taken by John Wentworth, then in Congress and dispenser of post offices
for that District, for his course upon the "Wilmot Proviso." This greatly exasperated
many of his influential friends, whom he still further affronted by signing and publishing
the first call for a county convention of all persons opposed to the extension of slavery,
but, most of all, for supporting in his paper the legislative ticket of the Anti-slavery men.
When remonstrated with, he told the gentlemen to take the printing-office off his hands
if they desired, (it was good property), but, so long as he edited the paper, it would
oppose the spread of slavery in every possible way. The ticket was elected by a scratch,
and the next winter Judge Trumbull was elected to the United States Senate over Gen.
Shields, after a long contest, by a very close vote of the members of the Legislature.
The triumph, however, was a very costly one, for he had alienated his most valued friends.
For two years he struggled with poverty, but, in 1856, friends and prosperity returned,
and Aurora, out of 999 votes, gave but nineteen votes for Fillmore and 156 for Buchanan;
from this time on his success was seemingly assured, but, in 1858, when just about to
grasp financial independence, his health gave way, and he was obliged to retire from
business at a sacrifice of all he had made. Early in 1859, he again took up his residence
at Racine, but spent a large portion of the summer in Chicago, where he was induced
to join a political club, composed largely of Pennsylvanians, whose meetings were private
but by no means secret; it was called the Cameron and Lincoln Club, and its watchword-
a quotation from a speech of Gen. N. P. Banks- was: "Republican success in 1860 is Duty."
It was argued that, as Pennsylvania and Illinois must be carried by the Republicans to
elect a President the following year so the candidates must be the two most popular men
in those two States. Once a member, he was soon elected Corresponding Secretary, upon
which duty he entered with earnestness, and at once put the Club in communication with the
rural press. Before the close of the year a very large number of the Republican country
papers of both States placed the ticket at the head of their columns, those of Illinois
with Lincoln's name first, those of Pennsylvania with the order reversed. In the recent
newspaper discussion in regard to how Mr. Lincoln came to be nominated, at the Wigwam at
Chicago, in 1860, the quiet, active work of this Club has not once been mentioned; but
Gen. Cameron has more than once declared that the association of his name with that of Lincoln
by the Republicans of Illinois was the means of the sixty votes of the Keystone State being
cast solid for Honest Old Abe. In December, 1859, Mr. Whiteley went to Washington as the
correspondent of the Springfield Journal (Mr. Lincoln's home organ). As he passed
through Ohio, bells were being tolled for the death of John Brown, and, arriving
at Baltimore, the hotels were full of militia who had assisted at the execution. Amid the
threats of the secessionists and the wild excitement at the capital, the watchword of the
Club- "Success in 1860 is Duty," were more and more impressed upon his mind, and his letters
to the Journal were largely devoted to the Cameron and Lincoln or Lincoln and Cameron
movement. After the Convention, be edited a campaign paper at Chicago, aptly called
The Rail Splitter, which reached a circulation of over 30,000 copies. In
1861, the day after Gen. Cameron was sworn in as Secretary of War, Mr. Whiteley was immediately
assigned to duty in the Secretary's office. When Sumter was fired upon, he enrolled as a
private soldier in the battalion formed for the immediate defense of Washington, under the
command of the "gallant Cassius M. Clay," and performed military duty after office-hours,
frequently patrolling the city all night, or sleeping on arms at Willard's Hall. When, after
much discussion, the Cabinet decided to take possession of the telegraph wires, which were
being used freely by the rebels to promote their plans, Mr. Whiteley
was detailed as Superintendent in charge of the Washington office; under instructions, he
was obliged to know that no important news was sent South, and was often obliged to
suppress dispatches to the Northern press, but he was successful, nevertheless, in avoiding
any serious complications with the newspaper reporters. During the time Mr. Cameron was
Secretary of War, Mr. Whiteley was compelled, on account of
continued ill-health, to decline two very honorable positions, and when the General, on
retiring from the War Office, was appointed Minister to St. Petersburg the only obstacle
to Mr. Whiteley's accompanying him as Secretary of Legation was his lack of proficiency in
the French language- one of the essential qualifications for the position. After the battle
of Bull Run, a Wisconsin Soldiers' Relief Association was formed, and Mr. Whiteley was
made Chairman of the Executive Committee. During the remainder of his stay in Washington,
he devoted a large share of his time to looking after the welfare of the boys
in the different hospitals. During the second Bull Run battle, he was granted leave of
absence from the office that he might go to the front; on this occasion he was for the
first time under fire, while assisting in removing the wounded out of range of the enemy's
guns, but escaped unharmed. In 1862, he was urged by Gov. Evans, of Colorado, Senator
Doolittle, and others, to go to Colorado, and accept some position which might be arrange
for him; the argument used was: that when the North had whipped the South, or the South
had conquered the North, nothing would be settled, and the whole Contest would be fought
over again in Congress; it was hoped by the President and his immediate advisers,
that Nebraska, Colorado and Nevada, though sparsely populated, might be induced to
assume the burdens and responsibility of Statehood for the sake of strengthening the
North in the Senate of the United States; this accomplished, the blood shed in defense
of the Union would not have been in vain. No further argument was needed; it appealed
at once to his pride and patriotism with equal force, and he accepted the Agency to the
Grand River Ute Indians. Arriving at Denver in early in 1863, and being unable to reach
the Indians on account of the snows on the mountains, which shut them out of the settlements
nine months in the year, he set about the work of organizing the "Union League" throughout
the Territory, having been duly commissioned as the Deputy of the Grand Councilor of
Illinois for that purpose. In the fall he purchased the Commonwealth, the oldest
daily paper in Colorado, which he edited until the great flood of 1864 swept away the only
other paper in Denver, when he relinquished control. Aside from his duties as Indian Agent
(which, owing to the Indian war which rebel emissaries had inaugurated on the plains, were
at times arduous and exacting), he devoted every energy to assisting the State movement.
Finally, one State Constitution was formed, submitted to the people and defeated by an
emphatic vote; but the contest, under the leadership of Gov. Evans, was renewed, and in
1865 success crowned the effort so far as the people of Colorado was concerned -
the Constitution was adopted by a large vote, the State Legislature convened, and two
United States Senators sent to Washington, only to be refused their seats by the veto of
President Johnson! All that could be done had been accomplished, and Mr. Whiteley
returned home to Racine, which he had been anxious to do for some months, to assume his
present partnership with Mr. Knight. Ardent as Mr. Whiteley has been in politics, he never
consented to the use of his name for an elective office, and the only appointment he ever
made any personal effort to obtain, that of American Consul to some city near his birth-place,
he has not been able to obtain when so situated as to make the place desirable. In 1853,
he married Jane, the eldest daughter of Albert G. Knight. To them seven children have
been born, only two of whom are living - Bessie, born July 4, 1867, and Lillian, Jan. 29, 1878.
One sister, Mrs. A. P. Dutton, lives in Racine; another resides at Youngstown, Ohio,
while his oldest brother lives in Middlesex Co., Mass. His father died at Youngstown, Ohio,
in January, 1869, and his mother is still in the enjoyment of good health and a fair degree
of strength, being in the 80th year of her age; she resides with his brother, in
Massachusetts. Mr. Whiteley has charge of the insurance department in the business of the
firm of Knight & Whiteley. He is an enthusiastic member of the Racine County Old Settlers'
Society, and has three times been elected Chairman of its Executive Committee, which position
he now holds.
FREDERICK WILD was born in Kinderhook, Columbia Co., N. Y., Dec. 22, 1831, and his parents
were Nathan and Sarah Wild; his father was a cotton manufacturer, and purposed his son
to follow the same calling; accordingly, after having graduated at College Hill, Poughkeepsie,
when 18 years of age, he spent about three years in the mill, working under instruction;
but he became infected with the Western fever, and, in 1852, came to Kenosha, where
he worked in a general hardware store as clerk for a year and a half; from there he went
to Freeport, Ill., and remained in the same occupation for two years; in 1856, he began
his career as a railroad man, by being appointed to the position of General Western Freight
Solicitor, by the agent of the New York & Erie R. R. Co., which post he filled two
years; since then he has been engaged on several other railways, in different positions,
namely : on the D. &. M. R. R.; the Milwaukee and LaCrosse; the Ohio & Mississippi, and
also on the Western Union, where he first engaged in the year 1869, as General Freight
and Ticket Agent. Mr. Wild married, Jan. 1, 1854, Eliza M. Ames, and has five children,
three sons and two daughters.
MICHAEL WILTON, saloon; born in Quebec, Canada, in 1853; came to Wisconsin in 1863,
locating at Racine, where he worked at the manufacture of ropes for one year; he had the
misfortune to have his left hand cut off by a sticking machine, while in the employ of
Miner & Co., sash, door and blind manufacturers; he started in business for himself,
June, 1876. Democrat.
JOHN B. WINSLOW, attorney; came to Racine in 1855; he graduated from Racine College in 1871,
and afterward entered the State University at Madison, graduating from the Law School in 1875,
since which time he has been engaged in practice; was elected City Attorney, May, 1879.
FRANK F. WORMLEY, agent of the American and United States Express Cos.; was born in 1857,
in Marshall, Mich; came to Wisconsin in 1879; the greater part of his life has been spent
in the express business. October, 1878, he married Miss Ella Lightheart, a native of Freeport, Ill.
Members of the Episcopal Church. Republican.
FRANK WRIGHT, of the firm of Fuller & Wright, livery; was born in Vesper, Onondaga Co., N. Y.,
and came to Wisconsin in 1842, living in Rock Co., as a farmer, until he came to Racine, in 1862;
both Fuller and Wright were conductors on the W. U. R. R. for ten years; Wright went on the
road as brakeman, and was on the same train eighteen years.
HENRY W. WRIGHT Postmaster, and proprietor of planing-mills and sash and blind
manufactory; was born in Racine, March 10, 1846; in 1862, he enlisted in Co. K, 7th Mo.
Cavalry, and was in that regiment two and one-half years, serving the balance of the time
as 2d Lieutenant of Co. H, 1st Mo. Cavalry; he was mustered out in June, 1865; he has been
engaged in his present business since 1874. In 1871, he was Alderman from the Third Ward,
and in 1874 and 1875; was Supervisor in the Fifth Ward; in the latter year he was
Secretary of the Building Committee, and it was largely through his exertions that the
Court House was built. He was appointed Postmaster in April, 1877.
LEVI H. YANCE, was born in Caledonia Township, Racine Co., Wis., July 5, 1845; his occupation
was that of a farmer up to 1873; he then engaged in the meat business, in Racine, until 1876,
then as Sexton of Mound Cemetery, which position be now holds. He, married, June 22, 1874,
Mrs. Nellie Jennings, of Racine, she had one son, named George Jennings, born in 1870; by
this marriage they have two children- Harry L., born Aug. 2, 1875, and Jennie J., Sept. 24, 1877.
Mr. Yance enlisted on the 8th of Sept, 1861, in Company I, 9th Iowa Regiment; he was in
every battle of his regiment; was wounded at the battle of Pea Ridge, Ark., March 7, 1862; the
second time wounded, May 22, 1863, when they charged, at Vicksburg; mustered out, August 4, 1865.
He is a member in good standing of the Masonic fraternity; his wife is a member of the
Episcopal Church, and he is an attendant of the same.
SIMEON C. YOUT, insurance, real estate and loan agent, was born in Hoosick, Rensselaer Co., N. Y.,
and was educated at the Genesee Wesleyan University; he came to Racine, June, 1844, and
was engaged in teaching in the public schools, and in a private school for four or five years;
he was in the mercantile business about the same length of time; he was one of the first
Board of Aldermen of the city; in 1860, he was City Treasurer, in which office he
continued until 1869, with an interim of one year; he commenced his present business in 1869.
In 1873, he was City Assessor, having served six years in that office, previously. He
was married, Sept. 19, 1843, at Clifton Springs, N. Y., to Mary Phillips, who was born in
Ashfield. Mass; they have had six children, four of whom are living- Ada A., now
Mrs. James H. Pettit, of Waseca, Minn; Amelia, now Mrs. Wm. C. D. Gillespie, of Englewood, Ill.;
Nellie R., now, Mrs. Henry T. Wright, of Racine, and Louis; one daughter, Stella, died,
July 11, 1864, aged nearly 10 years; a son, George W. Yout, was killed at the battle of
Resaca, Ga., May 15, 1864, after having entered the fort; he was born in Racine, May 4, 1845,
and enlisted in the summer of 1862, in Co. A., 22d Wis. V. I. Mr. and Mrs. Yout are members of
the M. E. Church.