Search billions of records on

History of Fayette County, WV


Fayette County was formed by an Act of the General Assembly of Virginia, February 28, 1831 from Kanawha, Nicholas, Greenbrier and Logan Counties. It was named in honor of General Lafayette.

New Haven in Mountain Cove district was the first county seat, which was later moved to Vandalia, named for Abraham Vandal, in whose house court was held until a public building could be completed. Vandalia was renamed Fayetteville in 1837 and has remained the county seat to the present.

Political Districts: The county was divided into four districts prior to the Civil War: Fayetteville, Falls of Kanawha, Mountain Cove and Sewell Mountain. The county court divided the county into seven townships on March 5, 1870: Sewell Mountain, Mountain cove, Gauley, Falls, Kanawha, Fayetteville and Paint Creek. However, on May 16, 1870, this was repealed and five districts were formed: Kanawha, Falls, Fayetteville, Sewell Mountain and Mountain Cove. Quinnimont district was formed in 1887 from the Sewell Mountain district and Nuttall district was formed in 1896 from Mountain Cove district.

Clay County
Greenbrier County
Kanawha Countysee also
Kanawha County Commission
Nicholas County
Raleigh County
Summers County

Fayette County Marriages

Fayette County Records at the WV Archives (microfilm)

Pictorial History of Elkridge, WV - Tom Kinkaid


Copyright © 2001 Julie McGrew-Ayres

Julie McGrew-Ayres, County Coordinator
Les Shockey, West Virginia State Coordinator
Valerie Forren Crook, Asst. State Coordinator