Search billions of records on

Welcome to Big Horn County!

Big Horn Canyon

Big Horn Canyon
From Bill McDavid on Flickr

Big Horn County was formed in 1897 from Johnson, Fremont, and Sheridan counties. Later parts of it were broken off to form Park, Hot Springs, and Washakie counties.

Basin is the county seat of Big Horn County. Other towns in Big Horn County are Burlington, Byron, Cowley, Deaver, Frannie, Greybull, Lovell, and Manderson. Communites in the area are Emblem, Hyatville, Otto, and Shell.

So What's New?

Big Horn County has a new coordinator! I am working on getting new information up on the site so please check back regularly. I am also the coordinator for Washakie County so you can contact me through that email address. If you would like to volunteer or have information to contribute, please share with us!

Stephanie Ashby, County Coordinator

Colleen Pustola, State Coordinator
Billie Walsh, Assistant State Coordinator

  • Copyright © 2015 Big Horn GenWeb
  • Updated: March 1, 2015
  • Website by Simple Aspen