Search billions of records on


Trails to the Past

My name is Marie Miller and as your Teton County Wyoming Administrator if you have any Obituaries, News clippings, Death, Marriage, Birth or any other information Feel free to email me with your contributions.

Teton County was organized in 1921 from Lincoln County with Jackson Hole being the county seat. Before Lincoln County was formed both Teton and Lincoln were part of Uinta County.  Teton County, Wyoming is one of the few counties in the United States to border its namesake in another state—in this case, Teton County, Idaho. Named for the Teton Mountains. Indians called them Tee-win-ot, three pinnacles. French trappers applied the name "Les Trois Tetons".

Towns are that of Jackson, with other census places being those of Alta, Hoback, Moose Wilson Road, Rafter J. Ranch, South Park, Teton Village, and Wilson.  Other places are Kelly, Moran, and Colter Bay.

On Line Data


Teton County Mail List on Rootsweb

Teton County Message Board on Rootsweb

Teton County Message Board on Genforum


Adjacent Counties





Bonneville, Idaho

Teton, Idaho

Fremont, Idaho

Gallatin, Idaho

This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

Saturday, 13-Aug-2011 15:21:10 MDT by Wyoming State Administrator