Search billions of records on

Converse County

Wyoming Trails To The Past Logo


Trails To The Past Logo

Help Wanted

This County is available for adoption.
Join Trails To The Past Logo

Wyoming Trails has several counties and projects up for adoption. If you would be interested in adopting a county or project look at the Wyoming Trails. If you find one that you would like to adopt e-mail the State Administrator.

[ Being a County or State Administrator is fun and rewarding. If you have an interest in the history of Wyoming and the genealogy of it's residents please consider it. If you think "there is no way I can do this" there are many people ready, willing and able to help you. It's not near as difficult as you might think. ]


Converse County was established March 9, 1888. It was named after Amasa R. Converse, a Wyoming pioneer and Cheyenne banker. Converse County was carved from Albany and Laramie Counties. On May 18, 1888 Douglas was voted the county seat. In 1911 Niobrara County was carved out of Converse County. The first county officers were elected in 1888, right after Converse became a county. Malcolm Campbell was the Sheriff, C. M. Garver was the Clerk, Ed J. Wells was the Treasurer, F. H. Harvey was the Attorney; F. E. Wolcott, George H. Cross and E. T. David were Commissioners; W. R. Renwick was the Coroner, S. Slaymaker was the Assessor, and A. T. Seymour was the Surveyor.
Converse County Biographies


Converse County Mail List on Rootsweb
Converse County Message Board on Rootsweb
Converse County Message Board on Genforum
County Clerk
107 No. 5th St., Suite 114
Douglas, WY 82633-2448
(307) 358-2244
Court Clerk
PO Box 189
107 No. 5th
St, Ste. 228
Douglas, WY 82633-2448

Adjacent Counties

Campbell County | Weston County | Niobrara County | Platte County | Albany County
Carbon County | Natrona County | Johnson County
Last Updated, Tuesday, 25-Oct-2011 16:19:44 MDT
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

© 2017 by Converse County Administrator